Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3538 (Project Runway Inspired Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1541 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/08 0:02 AM
Last Updated:1/2/10 7:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GollyGolly said...
Wonderful jacket and review. Love the signature on the lining. That just makes it for me- simply too too cute !
4/21/08 0:11 AM
Gelbean said...
Great jacket. Thanks for the review.
4/21/08 0:34 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very classy casual, Belinda! Great details!
4/21/08 1:39 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review Belinda. A nice change in style for a denim jacket too.
4/21/08 3:29 AM
rivergum said...
Great jacket, Belinda. I'd kill for your expertise with top stitching! The jacket looks terrific on you.
4/21/08 5:17 AM
Cody7 said...
Belinda, you have done a fantastic job. I love the fabric, style and workmanship!
4/21/08 5:55 AM
lynda828 said...
Thanks for the great review, your jacket looks fantastic and exactly what I've been looking for.
4/21/08 6:05 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great review and adorable jacket. I, too, worked on a jacket this weekend but have to get the kinks worked out. Your topstitching is such we should all aspire to it. Wow!
4/21/08 6:11 AM
Margie T said...
Thanks for a great review. Love your jacket.
4/21/08 6:22 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, Belinda. Your signature on the lining is such a nice touch.
4/21/08 7:11 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wonderful jacket and beautifully sewn! I just purchased this pattern and your review is just the inspiration needed to get started on it. Thank you & great job!
4/21/08 7:30 AM
Dei said...
What wonderful detail! Lovely jacket, well done.
4/21/08 7:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great jacket. Good decision to add the hem and shoulder pads. The structure looks high-end.
4/21/08 7:50 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic review and an even better jacket! Excellent construction as usual, Belinda! Such cute fabric and your personal embellished "signature" is so fun.
4/21/08 7:52 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Oh my goodness this is to die for ! I picked this one up at a pattern sale for single adult daughter at a recent .99 sale. After seeing yours,I am in total awe and glad it is festering in the pattern stash for future use.
4/21/08 7:58 AM
Elke said...
Adorable jacket, great attention to detail!
4/21/08 8:00 AM
nellc said...
This is a beautifully made jacket and I love the embroidered initial on the lining. I have this pattern and was finding it difficult deciding which combination of options to use so it is nice to see some of them made up, thanks for such a helpful review.
4/21/08 8:02 AM
annie11 said...
That is so, so cute! Great review- thanks for the tips!
4/21/08 9:05 AM
Nancy K said...
Great jacket Belinda. This looks great even though you didn't do an fba. Certainly saves time
4/21/08 9:46 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for an extremely thoughtful review pointing out the very real advantages to a newbie while also mentioning how a more advanced sewist might want to adjust. And, of course, kudos to your always impeccable workmanship. Very cute jacket.
4/21/08 11:56 AM
Sew Shy said...
This jacket is too cute! I overlooked the pattern because I don't like the sleeves and length, but your interpretation of it is something I would wear. Will grab it at the next sale. Thanks for the great review.
4/21/08 12:47 PM
Aixoise said...
Impeccable! Thanks for the thoughtful review.
4/21/08 1:08 PM
Peggy L said...
Great marriage of fabric and pattern. It looks wonderful!
4/21/08 3:15 PM
born2bead said...
Great jacket and your topstitching looks really nice. I have this pattern on my list so it's nice to see it done up so well!
4/21/08 5:04 PM
Mrs Lucas said...
Fantastic job. I am in awe!
4/21/08 6:07 PM
Judy Williment said...
Great jacket Belinda. Love the initial on the lining too!
4/21/08 6:12 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful jacket Belinda. It looks fantastic on you!
4/21/08 7:01 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful jacket and a wonderful fit. Thanks for the review and providing suggestions.
4/21/08 8:22 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very cute jacket.
4/22/08 5:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Terrific! So much better than plain, old RTW jackets :) .
4/22/08 6:34 AM
DivaQ said...
Great jacket! Thanks for all the info in your review.
4/22/08 9:44 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Beautiful Jacket, I love the fabric and the detail is great!
4/22/08 10:10 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great jacket and very helpful review.
4/22/08 1:09 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking casual jacket. Beautifully done.
4/22/08 7:14 PM
Athene said...
Great review and great jacket - love the special embroidery touches and top stitching. Thanks for the tip about the large amount of ease.
4/23/08 4:49 AM
MareeAlison said...
Thanks for the very good review Belinda. I like your jacket very much.
4/25/08 3:45 AM
Fredyjean said...
The jacket you made in the denim material from the pattern ROCKS! I love the Project Runway patterns.
6/27/08 5:34 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love the colour of your second version, Belinda. Beautifully sewn as always!
1/2/10 7:37 PM
Robin Denning said...
oh that is one (oops, 2!) cute jackets!
1/2/10 8:27 PM
EveS said...
Love both versions and I bow humbly to your topstitching. You are a goddess! ;) (Oh, btw, love your "B," too!)
1/2/10 8:50 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
You ARE the top stitching goddess of PR! the green jacket detailing is just impeccable... I am awed! Any tips for us mere mortals?
1/3/10 9:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's M5433
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 3/16/08
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2010-102
photo
Review by MissCelie on 11/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7084 Pattern
Burda 7084 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6244 Pattern
New Look 6244 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us