SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3538 (Project Runway Inspired Jacket)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1544 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/08 0:02 AM
Last Updated:1/2/10 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 38 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
You ARE the top stitching goddess of PR! the green jacket detailing is just impeccable... I am awed! Any tips for us mere mortals?
1/3/10 9:40 AM
EveS said...
Love both versions and I bow humbly to your topstitching. You are a goddess! ;) (Oh, btw, love your "B," too!)
1/2/10 8:50 PM
Robin Denning said...
oh that is one (oops, 2!) cute jackets!
1/2/10 8:27 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love the colour of your second version, Belinda. Beautifully sewn as always!
1/2/10 7:37 PM
Fredyjean said...
The jacket you made in the denim material from the pattern ROCKS! I love the Project Runway patterns.
6/27/08 5:34 PM
MareeAlison said...
Thanks for the very good review Belinda. I like your jacket very much.
4/25/08 3:45 AM
Athene said...
Great review and great jacket - love the special embroidery touches and top stitching. Thanks for the tip about the large amount of ease.
4/23/08 4:49 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking casual jacket. Beautifully done.
4/22/08 7:14 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great jacket and very helpful review.
4/22/08 1:09 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Beautiful Jacket, I love the fabric and the detail is great!
4/22/08 10:10 AM
DivaQ said...
Great jacket! Thanks for all the info in your review.
4/22/08 9:44 AM
ryan's mom said...
Terrific! So much better than plain, old RTW jackets :) .
4/22/08 6:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very cute jacket.
4/22/08 5:31 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful jacket and a wonderful fit. Thanks for the review and providing suggestions.
4/21/08 8:22 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful jacket Belinda. It looks fantastic on you!
4/21/08 7:01 PM
Judy Williment said...
Great jacket Belinda. Love the initial on the lining too!
4/21/08 6:12 PM
Mrs Lucas said...
Fantastic job. I am in awe!
4/21/08 6:07 PM
born2bead said...
Great jacket and your topstitching looks really nice. I have this pattern on my list so it's nice to see it done up so well!
4/21/08 5:04 PM
Peggy L said...
Great marriage of fabric and pattern. It looks wonderful!
4/21/08 3:15 PM
Aixoise said...
Impeccable! Thanks for the thoughtful review.
4/21/08 1:08 PM
Sew Shy said...
This jacket is too cute! I overlooked the pattern because I don't like the sleeves and length, but your interpretation of it is something I would wear. Will grab it at the next sale. Thanks for the great review.
4/21/08 12:47 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for an extremely thoughtful review pointing out the very real advantages to a newbie while also mentioning how a more advanced sewist might want to adjust. And, of course, kudos to your always impeccable workmanship. Very cute jacket.
4/21/08 11:56 AM
Nancy K said...
Great jacket Belinda. This looks great even though you didn't do an fba. Certainly saves time
4/21/08 9:46 AM
annie11 said...
That is so, so cute! Great review- thanks for the tips!
4/21/08 9:05 AM
nellc said...
This is a beautifully made jacket and I love the embroidered initial on the lining. I have this pattern and was finding it difficult deciding which combination of options to use so it is nice to see some of them made up, thanks for such a helpful review.
4/21/08 8:02 AM
Elke said...
Adorable jacket, great attention to detail!
4/21/08 8:00 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Oh my goodness this is to die for ! I picked this one up at a pattern sale for single adult daughter at a recent .99 sale. After seeing yours,I am in total awe and glad it is festering in the pattern stash for future use.
4/21/08 7:58 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic review and an even better jacket! Excellent construction as usual, Belinda! Such cute fabric and your personal embellished "signature" is so fun.
4/21/08 7:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great jacket. Good decision to add the hem and shoulder pads. The structure looks high-end.
4/21/08 7:50 AM
Dei said...
What wonderful detail! Lovely jacket, well done.
4/21/08 7:46 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wonderful jacket and beautifully sewn! I just purchased this pattern and your review is just the inspiration needed to get started on it. Thank you & great job!
4/21/08 7:30 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, Belinda. Your signature on the lining is such a nice touch.
4/21/08 7:11 AM
Margie T said...
Thanks for a great review. Love your jacket.
4/21/08 6:22 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great review and adorable jacket. I, too, worked on a jacket this weekend but have to get the kinks worked out. Your topstitching is such we should all aspire to it. Wow!
4/21/08 6:11 AM
lynda828 said...
Thanks for the great review, your jacket looks fantastic and exactly what I've been looking for.
4/21/08 6:05 AM
Cody7 said...
Belinda, you have done a fantastic job. I love the fabric, style and workmanship!
4/21/08 5:55 AM
rivergum said...
Great jacket, Belinda. I'd kill for your expertise with top stitching! The jacket looks terrific on you.
4/21/08 5:17 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review Belinda. A nice change in style for a denim jacket too.
4/21/08 3:29 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very classy casual, Belinda! Great details!
4/21/08 1:39 AM
Gelbean said...
Great jacket. Thanks for the review.
4/21/08 0:34 AM
GollyGolly said...
Wonderful jacket and review. Love the signature on the lining. That just makes it for me- simply too too cute !
4/21/08 0:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Simplicity 4712

photo
by: Ms. Monica...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now