SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> 000001 (My favorite t-shirt)

Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC Canada
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/09 7:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
Superbe madame ! Your fine tuning sessions worked wnderfully ! Hope summer was nice in Québec city.
8/24/09 1:14 PM
Barbara V said...
I love your top. Nice job creating it from RTW. You encourage to do same to a RTW top that I really like and know will wear out soon. Thanks!
8/4/09 11:51 PM
Catbird said...
I love both of these! That unusual 'V' design adds so much style and gives these a truly high-end look. I am so impressed with what you've done and with your determination to keep going until you'd achieved what you wanted. Wow, did that ever pay off! And by the way, I'm kind of glad the gathers didn't work out because this design is so sleek and beautiful. Do you have a photo of yourself in the original T-shirt? I'd be curious to see what the gathers looked like. Thank you for an inspiring review -- it's going into my favorites file!
7/30/09 9:36 AM
beth5646 said...
Wow--what a great review. I too am going to book mark this page--Thanks for all the info.
7/29/09 8:10 PM
MHW said...
Excellent review - thanks! I have a top I'd like to try to copy so I think I'll keep your notes on hand for inspiration.
7/29/09 6:09 PM
grey ann said...
Looks great. Persistence pays off! Thanks for the tip on self lining cap sleeves. I hate messy narrow hems - nothing screams 'home-made' more than sloppy hem/topstitching.
7/29/09 10:54 AM
Christas said...
What very classy looking t-shirts. You have done an excellent job of replicating your top. Both versions look wonderful! Dixie is very pretty!
7/29/09 9:56 AM
Elke said...
Great looking top, especially the V-neck and cap sleeves. Thanks for the tips and photos!
7/29/09 9:51 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Thank you for this review. The tips and technique are so helpful!
7/29/09 7:21 AM
Karla Kizer said...
That really is The Perfect Tee. That neckline finish is great and I'm going to have to try copying it. Congratulations on producing great shirts. The review is excellent, too.
7/29/09 6:54 AM
donna mel said...
wonderful review. thanks!
7/29/09 6:35 AM
SpinningJenny said...
These t-shirts look wonderful on you - so simple but so stylish. I agree that the cap sleeves really make for a flattering silhouette. Thank you for this great review.
7/29/09 6:22 AM
Twinset said...
To Shellia and those who might be interested: Dixie the dog is a 7 months old Polish Shepherd (Berger polonais in french)
7/29/09 3:01 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute tshirts and cute dog!
7/29/09 2:41 AM
Vellela said...
Thank you for an amazing review. I have always been a little frightened of trying to rip off RTW but I might just give it a go. The T-shirts are fabulous you should be very proud. Ps love the puppy:)
7/29/09 0:16 AM
doctorsirena said...
Thanks for your very helpful review with lots of photos. I like the lined cap sleeves, unique V-neck treatment and decorative stitching - should be fairly easy to use with basic T-shirt patterns. I have also been considering copying my favorite RTW T-shirt. Very nice tops!
7/28/09 11:34 PM
Raye Ann said...
these are beautiful! no, you certainly do not need to buy any more RTW designer t-shirts! thank you for so much detail. i want to make YOUR shirt!! (your dog is adorable, too!!)
7/28/09 11:17 PM
Shellia said...
Lovely tee and beautiful dog! Is that a Great Pyrenees?
7/28/09 10:44 PM
Deepika said...
That V neck is amazing. I've never seen anything like it. Now I want YOUR pattern :) Seriously. Thanks for sharing.
7/28/09 10:35 PM
angie.a said...
Great review, and fabulous tee.
7/28/09 10:21 PM
carolynw said...
Way to go - this is so nice - love the tee and love your dog!!
7/28/09 10:02 PM
RMJ said...
Nice detailed review, and great looking dog!
7/28/09 8:53 PM
JudiBee2 said...
That's really nice. I can see why you would want to copy it rather than try to find one that fits. Funny how you said that you made self lined sleeves, as I was just thinking that I ought to do that with capped sleeves. As you added so much information, I am going to bookmark this so I can come back to study it. Thanks for taking the time to present this to this site.
7/28/09 8:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 5789

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review

Pattern

Simplicity 1799

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

More Info
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

More Info