SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> 000001 (My favorite t-shirt)

Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC Canada
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 129 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/09 7:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JudiBee2 said...
That's really nice. I can see why you would want to copy it rather than try to find one that fits. Funny how you said that you made self lined sleeves, as I was just thinking that I ought to do that with capped sleeves. As you added so much information, I am going to bookmark this so I can come back to study it. Thanks for taking the time to present this to this site.
7/28/09 8:24 PM
RMJ said...
Nice detailed review, and great looking dog!
7/28/09 8:53 PM
carolynw said...
Way to go - this is so nice - love the tee and love your dog!!
7/28/09 10:02 PM
angie.a said...
Great review, and fabulous tee.
7/28/09 10:21 PM
Deepika said...
That V neck is amazing. I've never seen anything like it. Now I want YOUR pattern :) Seriously. Thanks for sharing.
7/28/09 10:35 PM
Shellia said...
Lovely tee and beautiful dog! Is that a Great Pyrenees?
7/28/09 10:44 PM
Raye Ann said...
these are beautiful! no, you certainly do not need to buy any more RTW designer t-shirts! thank you for so much detail. i want to make YOUR shirt!! (your dog is adorable, too!!)
7/28/09 11:17 PM
doctorsirena said...
Thanks for your very helpful review with lots of photos. I like the lined cap sleeves, unique V-neck treatment and decorative stitching - should be fairly easy to use with basic T-shirt patterns. I have also been considering copying my favorite RTW T-shirt. Very nice tops!
7/28/09 11:34 PM
Vellela said...
Thank you for an amazing review. I have always been a little frightened of trying to rip off RTW but I might just give it a go. The T-shirts are fabulous you should be very proud. Ps love the puppy:)
7/29/09 0:16 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute tshirts and cute dog!
7/29/09 2:41 AM
Twinset said...
To Shellia and those who might be interested: Dixie the dog is a 7 months old Polish Shepherd (Berger polonais in french)
7/29/09 3:01 AM
SpinningJenny said...
These t-shirts look wonderful on you - so simple but so stylish. I agree that the cap sleeves really make for a flattering silhouette. Thank you for this great review.
7/29/09 6:22 AM
donna mel said...
wonderful review. thanks!
7/29/09 6:35 AM
Karla Kizer said...
That really is The Perfect Tee. That neckline finish is great and I'm going to have to try copying it. Congratulations on producing great shirts. The review is excellent, too.
7/29/09 6:54 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Thank you for this review. The tips and technique are so helpful!
7/29/09 7:21 AM
Elke said...
Great looking top, especially the V-neck and cap sleeves. Thanks for the tips and photos!
7/29/09 9:51 AM
Christas said...
What very classy looking t-shirts. You have done an excellent job of replicating your top. Both versions look wonderful! Dixie is very pretty!
7/29/09 9:56 AM
grey ann said...
Looks great. Persistence pays off! Thanks for the tip on self lining cap sleeves. I hate messy narrow hems - nothing screams 'home-made' more than sloppy hem/topstitching.
7/29/09 10:54 AM
MHW said...
Excellent review - thanks! I have a top I'd like to try to copy so I think I'll keep your notes on hand for inspiration.
7/29/09 6:09 PM
beth5646 said...
Wow--what a great review. I too am going to book mark this page--Thanks for all the info.
7/29/09 8:10 PM
Catbird said...
I love both of these! That unusual 'V' design adds so much style and gives these a truly high-end look. I am so impressed with what you've done and with your determination to keep going until you'd achieved what you wanted. Wow, did that ever pay off! And by the way, I'm kind of glad the gathers didn't work out because this design is so sleek and beautiful. Do you have a photo of yourself in the original T-shirt? I'd be curious to see what the gathers looked like. Thank you for an inspiring review -- it's going into my favorites file!
7/30/09 9:36 AM
Barbara V said...
I love your top. Nice job creating it from RTW. You encourage to do same to a RTW top that I really like and know will wear out soon. Thanks!
8/4/09 11:51 PM
Mahler said...
Superbe madame ! Your fine tuning sessions worked wnderfully ! Hope summer was nice in Québec city.
8/24/09 1:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick 5679

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review

Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now