Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5302 (City Dress) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3656 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:mudcat
photo
Friend of PR
About mudcatstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/17/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/03 2:11 AM
Last Updated:3/18/04 8:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
I love the City Dress pattern! I haven't tried the v-neck version, though...but you've inspired me to at least try it as a top! I'll make sure to check the hem on the sleeve before I cut it out....
6/9/03 10:56 AM
PhyllisC said...
The whimsical fabric is just perfect. Nice job mudcat!
6/9/03 2:24 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Very nice job! I love the fabric. I'll have to try the City Dress/Top too.
6/9/03 4:04 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I was thinking about drop waist dresses yesterday, and here is a great review! Thanks, glad to see they are still out there, I really like this look! Think I'll pick this one up!
6/10/03 3:27 PM
Ann C said...
I think your adaptation of this dress pattern to a sleeveless top is clever. And you have an attractive result.
6/30/03 1:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really like this pattern but haven't gotten it yet because I'm a little put off by all the reviews that say it is hard to get over the head, especially when made with wovens. Would it work to add a CB seam and a zipper when using wovens with sleeves? I love the dress but I don't think I would like struggling to pull it over my head.
9/1/03 6:23 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Isn't this just the most versatile pattern? I think I have about four tops from view B and plans for more. The sleeveless version is soooo simple! And I LOVE your cross-dye top! I trimmed the neckline out a bit (5/8" all around, if I remember right) the first time I made the dress and have just used that -- no problems getting the dress/tops on, but the neckline isn't quite as it looks on the envelope. Thanks for sharing the tip about the bias tape, too.
9/1/03 7:48 AM
AnneM said...
Come sempre, molto bella. Mi piacce il sue stoffe, ed un uso creativo del modello. (In theory, I just said: As always, very pretty. I like your fabrics, and it is a creative use of the pattern. I had to rely heavily on my dictionary for this, but since you had mentioned studying Italian I figured I would get fancy.)
9/1/03 4:34 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Wow Alice you are on a roll! Loving all these clothes you are making for the contest. My fave is the pink linen!
3/18/04 9:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-119
photo
Review by rabitgrl on 2/20/13
Read Review

Butterick 5322 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5322 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3146 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3146 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1426
photo
Review by KWNightwin... on 4/21/14
Read Review

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us