Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9891 (Costumes - LOTR inspired) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 247 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Roxxygrl
photo
Friend of PR
About Roxxygrlstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/1/04
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/08 6:13 AM
Last Updated:4/22/08 6:13 AM
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
I have this pattern and would love to see a photo of your finished project.
4/22/08 11:51 AM
svetlana said...
I/ we (my sewing partner and I)have made 4 of these on the same view. We used them for the drum majors for the field show this year. The theme was Medusa and the drum majors were Sirens. We felt that the sleeves looked sort of like wings. The girls loved them. We used a polyester satin for 2 of them and a satiny spandex for the other 2. We used filmy chiffon for the sleeves and neck finishes. They were pretty easy to assemble and nothing funky about the instructions. We used a fake french seam on the sleeve using the serger, or I guess more properly a serged french seam. When I finally get my pictures developed, I will post them. One word of warning, the shoulder/neckline is pretty broad and between the weight of the sleeves and all the arm movement of directing, we ended up sewing in a ribbon to tie them up in the back. It also didn't help that the head drum major lost 20 pounds from the time we took all the measurementsthe end of July and the final performance at the end of October. We were having to alter it every other week during marching season.
4/22/08 10:39 PM
Roxxygrl said...
Svetlana, I would love to see the photo's of the dresses, they sound devine. Maybe I can take a shot of mine on a coat hanger and upload. I will see.
4/23/08 5:31 AM
wvsher said...
Thanks for the review -- it looks like a fun pattern to sew up. I'm impressed you were able to make it when you were still a beginner.
4/24/08 11:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Other Accessory Wardrobe 2010
photo
Review by christinas... on 9/30/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5677
photo
Review by nicegirl on 12/20/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us