SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4399 (Men's Shirts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 516 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/08 4:41 PM
Last Updated:4/22/08 4:41 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
billorama said...
I've made this shirt a lot of times now, and like the pattern too, the pieces fit nicely, the instructions are easy to follow. Thanks for the alteration tips link, I have a similar fit problem. What I desperately need help is to figure out how to adjust the neck size because basically, I don't have one. My skull is 23 inches around, my neck is 21 inches around. If I have to wear a tie, I look like I"m wearing a circus tent for a shirt, because guys with 21" necks are apparently supposed to be 7 feet tall and about 60" around the waist and I'm a petite 5'8 and a mere 48. :-)
7/17/08 7:19 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Really fabulous shirt for a fabulous guy! And yes, men sometimes need their equivalent of fbas too, with the same happy results :-). I've found this method for jackets which is very good: http://www.desmerrionbespoketailor.com/folders/weblog/20060913-2/
4/24/08 2:01 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Congratulations on getting a TNT pattern for DBF. It looks wonderful on him. Lucky him to have such a talented lady.
4/23/08 10:02 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fab and groovy shirt! It's also fun to sew for the men in our lives! David is a cutie pie!
4/23/08 6:19 PM
cindyann said...
You achived such an excellent fit for your boyfriend! I'm sure he is very pleased.
4/23/08 8:39 AM
Peggy L said...
Very nice shirt - great fabric.
4/23/08 0:35 AM
SewLil said...
That's a great looking shirt!
4/23/08 0:24 AM
HeyJane said...
He looks 'in style'!...this sounds like an excellent pattern. Thanks for the alterations links. Wonderful job on the shirt.
4/22/08 11:36 PM
chemmom said...
Like the fabric and the pattern. Looks like a high quality RTW shirt and with a very stylish color and pattern. Definitely make more.
4/22/08 11:30 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Michelle, this is a great looking shirt and you've gotten a very fine fit for David's tall and large frame. I too think this fabric is just perfect, stylish yet quite masculine. Tell David he has a great eye for fabric and that we appreciate his modeling the fit and style for us. Very handsome, Lily
4/22/08 10:56 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Great shirt! If I didn't know better, I'd swear this was RTW.
4/22/08 7:51 PM
michellep74 said...
Leora, I just did the first adjustment shown (slash up and out) because that one was the easiest to wrap my head around (as far as adding length and width vs. the diagonal slash).
4/22/08 7:32 PM
Leora said...
Hey Michelle, this shirt looks great! I'm not so clear on the alteration. Do you pick one or the other, or do both? How I wish I could have some of that fabric!!! Awesome job.
4/22/08 7:27 PM
Michelle T said...
Thank you for a great review. Shirts for my dh are on my sewing list this spring. He loves Hawaiian shirts and this looks like it will fit the bill.
4/22/08 7:09 PM
ChristineBR said...
Looks great. If David is anything like my guy, he will be telling everyone that you made it. All for the glory!
4/22/08 6:48 PM
Joey in Katy said...
Thanks for the link on altering the pattern -- will have to give that a try!
4/22/08 6:34 PM
Athene said...
Really nice shirt. Looks very good on David. I like the fabric pattern and how you placed the vertical lines a lot. I usually use a TNT Burda for my DH but I might have to add this McCall's pattern to my list - I like it very much. Thank you for the good review.
4/22/08 5:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

More Info
Neue Mode 23051

photo
by: HRigg

Review