Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4399 (Men's Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 512 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/08 4:41 PM
Last Updated:4/22/08 4:41 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Really nice shirt. Looks very good on David. I like the fabric pattern and how you placed the vertical lines a lot. I usually use a TNT Burda for my DH but I might have to add this McCall's pattern to my list - I like it very much. Thank you for the good review.
4/22/08 5:35 PM
Joey in Katy said...
Thanks for the link on altering the pattern -- will have to give that a try!
4/22/08 6:34 PM
ChristineBR said...
Looks great. If David is anything like my guy, he will be telling everyone that you made it. All for the glory!
4/22/08 6:48 PM
Michelle T said...
Thank you for a great review. Shirts for my dh are on my sewing list this spring. He loves Hawaiian shirts and this looks like it will fit the bill.
4/22/08 7:09 PM
Leora said...
Hey Michelle, this shirt looks great! I'm not so clear on the alteration. Do you pick one or the other, or do both? How I wish I could have some of that fabric!!! Awesome job.
4/22/08 7:27 PM
michellep74 said...
Leora, I just did the first adjustment shown (slash up and out) because that one was the easiest to wrap my head around (as far as adding length and width vs. the diagonal slash).
4/22/08 7:32 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Great shirt! If I didn't know better, I'd swear this was RTW.
4/22/08 7:51 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Michelle, this is a great looking shirt and you've gotten a very fine fit for David's tall and large frame. I too think this fabric is just perfect, stylish yet quite masculine. Tell David he has a great eye for fabric and that we appreciate his modeling the fit and style for us. Very handsome, Lily
4/22/08 10:56 PM
chemmom said...
Like the fabric and the pattern. Looks like a high quality RTW shirt and with a very stylish color and pattern. Definitely make more.
4/22/08 11:30 PM
HeyJane said...
He looks 'in style'!...this sounds like an excellent pattern. Thanks for the alterations links. Wonderful job on the shirt.
4/22/08 11:36 PM
SewLil said...
That's a great looking shirt!
4/23/08 0:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Very nice shirt - great fabric.
4/23/08 0:35 AM
cindyann said...
You achived such an excellent fit for your boyfriend! I'm sure he is very pleased.
4/23/08 8:39 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fab and groovy shirt! It's also fun to sew for the men in our lives! David is a cutie pie!
4/23/08 6:19 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Congratulations on getting a TNT pattern for DBF. It looks wonderful on him. Lucky him to have such a talented lady.
4/23/08 10:02 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Really fabulous shirt for a fabulous guy! And yes, men sometimes need their equivalent of fbas too, with the same happy results :-). I've found this method for jackets which is very good: http://www.desmerrionbespoketailor.com/folders/weblog/20060913-2/
4/24/08 2:01 AM
billorama said...
I've made this shirt a lot of times now, and like the pattern too, the pieces fit nicely, the instructions are easy to follow. Thanks for the alteration tips link, I have a similar fit problem. What I desperately need help is to figure out how to adjust the neck size because basically, I don't have one. My skull is 23 inches around, my neck is 21 inches around. If I have to wear a tie, I look like I"m wearing a circus tent for a shirt, because guys with 21" necks are apparently supposed to be 7 feet tall and about 60" around the waist and I'm a petite 5'8 and a mere 48. :-)
7/17/08 7:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 4095
photo
Review by merrypatte... on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6035 MISSES' SHIRTS
photo
Review by relliotts on 11/8/11
Read Review

Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas
Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us