SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8497 (Marcy Tilton tops)

29 more reviews
Viewed 1291 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/08 12:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Your tops look great--I especially like the red one--really looks flattering on you.
4/23/08 1:21 PM
Nancy K said...
I bought this pattern too because it was an non boring t. It looks great on you and I wondered if I could make this in my rayon jersey, thinking as you that it is perhaps too drapey. Thanks for the great review
4/23/08 2:34 PM
MelC said...
Thank you for bringing this pattern to my attention. I really like the View C on the pattern envelope. Your T's turned out great!
4/23/08 2:43 PM
sideseams said...
Love your tops. I will indeed be buying this pattern soon.
4/23/08 3:41 PM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful results. Thanks for sharing.
4/23/08 4:07 PM
Peggy L said...
Carolyn - I like both of your tops. I like the neckband method you used. I'll try it on my next one. After making View B, I can't imagine using a very drapey fabric on these. BTW, if you made an 8 you are a teeny, tiny little thing!
4/23/08 6:49 PM
blue mooney said...
You are right, these are interesting Ts! Thanks for the close-up on the neck treatment. That's a nifty design feature.
4/23/08 7:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I wish I could throw on a pair of jeans and a T-shirt and look as nice as you do! The details on these tops are "just enough" to add a little pizzaz. I love them!
4/23/08 7:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking tops.
4/24/08 9:21 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Those tee's look marvelous! I think I need to get this pattern. Everybody who has reviewed has raved. I too need some summer tee's that are not boring, this certainly fits the bill.
4/24/08 11:59 AM
Karine said...
Love the tops. It's fun to see something a bit out of the ordinary. You certainly wear red well!
4/24/08 5:09 PM
carolynw said...
Nice looking tops - so glad to see reviews of this before I cut mine out. Good to know it fits well and look good
4/25/08 9:57 AM
Noile said...
Ohhh . . . beautiful! Everything mine wasn't, though I notice that neckband is still an issue, one way or another. Your shirts are just perfect!
4/26/08 1:12 AM
2BSewing said...
Great looking t-shirts. Thanks for providing the details on the sizing and tips/suggestions.
4/26/08 7:56 AM
cecelia said...
I love both of these shirts on you, particularly the red one--it looks to be a good pattern.
4/26/08 11:45 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Carolyn, these tops are so flattering on you that it's difficult to choose a favorite. I think the 'cafe au lait' has a slight edge for me. You have the perfect body type to showcase the assymetrical seaming, and you look just lovely in both of them. -Lily
4/28/08 11:47 AM
tenaya said...
Looks fabulous! I must try this pattern, thanks for the great review!
7/20/08 12:59 PM
myrooks said...
I just received this pattern and wanted to ask what topstitching treatment did you use and did you topstitch on your regular sewing machine? I really love the way your shirts turned out!
10/24/08 8:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
Myrooks -- On the tan top, I used the suggested topstitching technique in the pattern: wide zigzag alternating with straight stitch. I used thread a shade or two lighter to make it stand out more; I was very pleased with the result. On the red top, I topstitched with a long straight stitch.
10/25/08 6:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Tuffet by Myra

photo
by: Quilt2Quil...

Review