SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8497 (Marcy Tilton tops)

29 more reviews
Viewed 1292 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/08 12:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Your tops look great--I especially like the red one--really looks flattering on you.
4/23/08 1:21 PM
Nancy K said...
I bought this pattern too because it was an non boring t. It looks great on you and I wondered if I could make this in my rayon jersey, thinking as you that it is perhaps too drapey. Thanks for the great review
4/23/08 2:34 PM
MelC said...
Thank you for bringing this pattern to my attention. I really like the View C on the pattern envelope. Your T's turned out great!
4/23/08 2:43 PM
sideseams said...
Love your tops. I will indeed be buying this pattern soon.
4/23/08 3:41 PM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful results. Thanks for sharing.
4/23/08 4:07 PM
Peggy L said...
Carolyn - I like both of your tops. I like the neckband method you used. I'll try it on my next one. After making View B, I can't imagine using a very drapey fabric on these. BTW, if you made an 8 you are a teeny, tiny little thing!
4/23/08 6:49 PM
blue mooney said...
You are right, these are interesting Ts! Thanks for the close-up on the neck treatment. That's a nifty design feature.
4/23/08 7:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I wish I could throw on a pair of jeans and a T-shirt and look as nice as you do! The details on these tops are "just enough" to add a little pizzaz. I love them!
4/23/08 7:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking tops.
4/24/08 9:21 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Those tee's look marvelous! I think I need to get this pattern. Everybody who has reviewed has raved. I too need some summer tee's that are not boring, this certainly fits the bill.
4/24/08 11:59 AM
Karine said...
Love the tops. It's fun to see something a bit out of the ordinary. You certainly wear red well!
4/24/08 5:09 PM
carolynw said...
Nice looking tops - so glad to see reviews of this before I cut mine out. Good to know it fits well and look good
4/25/08 9:57 AM
Noile said...
Ohhh . . . beautiful! Everything mine wasn't, though I notice that neckband is still an issue, one way or another. Your shirts are just perfect!
4/26/08 1:12 AM
2BSewing said...
Great looking t-shirts. Thanks for providing the details on the sizing and tips/suggestions.
4/26/08 7:56 AM
cecelia said...
I love both of these shirts on you, particularly the red one--it looks to be a good pattern.
4/26/08 11:45 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Carolyn, these tops are so flattering on you that it's difficult to choose a favorite. I think the 'cafe au lait' has a slight edge for me. You have the perfect body type to showcase the assymetrical seaming, and you look just lovely in both of them. -Lily
4/28/08 11:47 AM
tenaya said...
Looks fabulous! I must try this pattern, thanks for the great review!
7/20/08 12:59 PM
myrooks said...
I just received this pattern and wanted to ask what topstitching treatment did you use and did you topstitch on your regular sewing machine? I really love the way your shirts turned out!
10/24/08 8:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
Myrooks -- On the tan top, I used the suggested topstitching technique in the pattern: wide zigzag alternating with straight stitch. I used thread a shade or two lighter to make it stand out more; I was very pleased with the result. On the red top, I topstitched with a long straight stitch.
10/25/08 6:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 5685

photo
by: Manalto

Review
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now