Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8497 (Marcy Tilton tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1288 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/08 12:51 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Your tops look great--I especially like the red one--really looks flattering on you.
4/23/08 1:21 PM
Nancy K said...
I bought this pattern too because it was an non boring t. It looks great on you and I wondered if I could make this in my rayon jersey, thinking as you that it is perhaps too drapey. Thanks for the great review
4/23/08 2:34 PM
MelC said...
Thank you for bringing this pattern to my attention. I really like the View C on the pattern envelope. Your T's turned out great!
4/23/08 2:43 PM
sideseams said...
Love your tops. I will indeed be buying this pattern soon.
4/23/08 3:41 PM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful results. Thanks for sharing.
4/23/08 4:07 PM
Peggy L said...
Carolyn - I like both of your tops. I like the neckband method you used. I'll try it on my next one. After making View B, I can't imagine using a very drapey fabric on these. BTW, if you made an 8 you are a teeny, tiny little thing!
4/23/08 6:49 PM
blue mooney said...
You are right, these are interesting Ts! Thanks for the close-up on the neck treatment. That's a nifty design feature.
4/23/08 7:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I wish I could throw on a pair of jeans and a T-shirt and look as nice as you do! The details on these tops are "just enough" to add a little pizzaz. I love them!
4/23/08 7:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking tops.
4/24/08 9:21 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Those tee's look marvelous! I think I need to get this pattern. Everybody who has reviewed has raved. I too need some summer tee's that are not boring, this certainly fits the bill.
4/24/08 11:59 AM
Karine said...
Love the tops. It's fun to see something a bit out of the ordinary. You certainly wear red well!
4/24/08 5:09 PM
carolynw said...
Nice looking tops - so glad to see reviews of this before I cut mine out. Good to know it fits well and look good
4/25/08 9:57 AM
Noile said...
Ohhh . . . beautiful! Everything mine wasn't, though I notice that neckband is still an issue, one way or another. Your shirts are just perfect!
4/26/08 1:12 AM
2BSewing said...
Great looking t-shirts. Thanks for providing the details on the sizing and tips/suggestions.
4/26/08 7:56 AM
cecelia said...
I love both of these shirts on you, particularly the red one--it looks to be a good pattern.
4/26/08 11:45 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Carolyn, these tops are so flattering on you that it's difficult to choose a favorite. I think the 'cafe au lait' has a slight edge for me. You have the perfect body type to showcase the assymetrical seaming, and you look just lovely in both of them. -Lily
4/28/08 11:47 AM
tenaya said...
Looks fabulous! I must try this pattern, thanks for the great review!
7/20/08 12:59 PM
myrooks said...
I just received this pattern and wanted to ask what topstitching treatment did you use and did you topstitch on your regular sewing machine? I really love the way your shirts turned out!
10/24/08 8:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
Myrooks -- On the tan top, I used the suggested topstitching technique in the pattern: wide zigzag alternating with straight stitch. I used thread a shade or two lighter to make it stand out more; I was very pleased with the result. On the red top, I topstitched with a long straight stitch.
10/25/08 6:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1313
photo
Review by Kay Y on 6/5/07
Read Review

Vogue 8633 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8633 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9462 Pattern
Burda 9462 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Children's Corner 48
photo
Review by 3girlsmama on 2/24/10
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us