Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3690 (easy chic) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 348 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:lynda828
photo
About lynda828
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/08 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/23/08 8:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
geeklite said...
Congratulations on your first review! I think the top is cute and you have a great attitude about your skills improving the next time around.
4/23/08 10:54 PM
Athene said...
The top looks very nice and thank you for the review. Look forward to reading more of your reviews in the future.
4/23/08 11:10 PM
Gelbean said...
Great shirt. I love the sleeves. It looks very comfortable.
4/24/08 3:25 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Gorgeous! I gotta buy that pattern!
4/24/08 4:33 AM
ITAdmin said...
Very nice shirt. I think the style looks good on you.
4/24/08 7:42 AM
BeeBeeSew said...
I think you did a lovely job on the top and it's a very flattering style. GREAT job on the pintucks! I disagree with your "better suited to smaller people", I think it just looks too big. Can you take in the princess seams and the side seams a little more? Even the shoulders look a little wide and the sleeve band a bit big. Maybe it's the photo angle, but it even looks long. If you pull in the side/princess seams some at the waist you'll loose ten pounds visually. I suspect you would have gotten a better fit by going down a size (or maybe 2?). I have this pattern, and am taking notes, LOL. Maybe that's why all the pattern pics have the vest over it? Please don't take this negatively, what I mean is it ISN'T you, it's the pattern. Your work is very nice and the style does suit you, it just isn't an easy fitting pattern. If you really do like it, you might want to treat this as a true muslin and mark/cut it up more to make it fit you better for a drop 'em dead dinner blouse.
4/24/08 8:04 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Nice to know my help worked! I think this blouse came out great, although I do agree w/ BeeBee that it's a tad long and the shoulders could be narrowed a bit. Your workmanship is exquisite - I could never do those pintucks as well as you! They look totally awesome and make this blouse very RTW. Oh, almost forgot - congrats on your first review! and it's a really helpful one too.
4/24/08 11:50 AM
cecelia said...
Congratulations on your 1st review, and nice job on your blouse. Like "Lucky" and "Bee" I think it's just a little too long, and you could narrow the shoulders. Your next one should be perfect. Enjoy this comfortable shirt!
4/26/08 11:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4568
photo
Review by Lori V on 3/2/06
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354
photo
Review by Gelbean on 6/3/10
Read Review

McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )
McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us