SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5586 (Embellished Tunic)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1261 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 417 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/08 0:26 AM
Last Updated:4/24/08 8:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful work, as always. Love it!
6/28/10 2:27 PM
TJSEWS said...
The top looks great on you. I like your idea of using the skinny belt.
3/11/10 9:39 PM
homejewel said...
Just now saw this review. I LOVE your top. It looks wonderful on you. Great choice on embellishments, too.
6/3/09 11:53 AM
cmarie12 said...
The embellishment really makes this top sing and elevates it above the norm! Great job!
4/25/08 11:01 AM
solosmocker said...
Lovely top and classy embellishment!
4/24/08 10:16 PM
kim*brown said...
Love the neckline!
4/24/08 3:25 PM
Annette1 said...
Classy! The fabric has a beautiful drape to it.
4/24/08 2:43 PM
Kisha said...
Absolutely gorgeous. How did you secure the embellishments? Hand tack or glue?
4/24/08 1:34 PM
Leora said...
I wish they would change the pattern envelope from crafty to boutique (or something!) and add your pic. Great review!
4/24/08 1:34 PM
loohoo44 said...
Fabulous top Erica, very tastefully done embellishment.
4/24/08 12:22 PM
jfddrsn said...
I almost bought this pattern but passed because of the embellishments - Now I have to go back and get it! Love the belt with it. Thanks - great job, so cute.
4/24/08 12:11 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Great call on the embellishment! I couldn't think of the right ones for this pattern, but you even tied in the safari trend. And by the way, those new bangs are so sassy! :)
4/24/08 11:17 AM
Karen6790 said...
Great job with the embellishment - that's what always hangs me up. Love the top on you, and love the bangs!
4/24/08 10:47 AM
Erica B. said...
@ BillieJean: I decided to just go strapless and not worry about bra straps. @ Coolobreeze: I use a Brother 2340CV.
4/24/08 9:38 AM
Dei said...
Love it! You embellished it just right. I just bought the pattern and now I'm even more excited to make a few tops. Looking good, as always.
4/24/08 8:32 AM
Lori V said...
Great shirt and the embellishment is just right.
4/24/08 8:28 AM
KrystalL said...
Chic top! I really like the embellishment along the neckline.
4/24/08 8:27 AM
Gold said...
Youl ook great in this top!The color and the embellishment you used is fabulous!I like it with belt too.
4/24/08 7:53 AM
Nancy K said...
The top looks great. I have been looking for embellishment for top of my own and the prices at MJ even with the sale are ridiculous. I don't have a hobbyland, but I will head over to AC Moore and see if I can find something cheaper.
4/24/08 7:51 AM
MissCelie said...
Soooo, I haven't told you yet, but I l-o-v-e the bangs. this might also be the first embellishment treatment that I don't hate. I in fact like it. It's so much more classy and looks like it won't be dated in a few years. Neat-o! Great work (as always).
4/24/08 7:26 AM
coolobreeze said...
Erica, I really like everything about this top. It looks splendid on you. What brand of coverstitcher do you use and/or recommend?
4/24/08 6:43 AM
BillieJean said...
Really cute top Erica. My only issue would be bra straps. Do you have to wear a strapless bra with this?
4/24/08 6:10 AM
LauraLo said...
Beautiful top! Looks great with the wooden embellishment!
4/24/08 3:11 AM
CynthiaSue said...
the embellishments are perfect, they really raise the caliber of this boutique shirt.
4/24/08 1:03 AM
Gelbean said...
Gorgeous shirt. You look fabulous! I have a similar pattern but haven't wanted to sew it yet because I'm a little intimidated by the hand sewing part. Perhaps I need to just go for it. Thanks for the review.
4/24/08 0:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

No Pattern Used 2012-11-css

photo
by: Margaret

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

More Info
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Downloadable Sarah Hat

photo
by: olgarosita

Review