Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5586 (Embellished Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1259 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 412 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/08 0:26 AM
Last Updated:4/24/08 8:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Gorgeous shirt. You look fabulous! I have a similar pattern but haven't wanted to sew it yet because I'm a little intimidated by the hand sewing part. Perhaps I need to just go for it. Thanks for the review.
4/24/08 0:44 AM
CynthiaSue said...
the embellishments are perfect, they really raise the caliber of this boutique shirt.
4/24/08 1:03 AM
LauraLo said...
Beautiful top! Looks great with the wooden embellishment!
4/24/08 3:11 AM
BillieJean said...
Really cute top Erica. My only issue would be bra straps. Do you have to wear a strapless bra with this?
4/24/08 6:10 AM
coolobreeze said...
Erica, I really like everything about this top. It looks splendid on you. What brand of coverstitcher do you use and/or recommend?
4/24/08 6:43 AM
MissCelie said...
Soooo, I haven't told you yet, but I l-o-v-e the bangs. this might also be the first embellishment treatment that I don't hate. I in fact like it. It's so much more classy and looks like it won't be dated in a few years. Neat-o! Great work (as always).
4/24/08 7:26 AM
Nancy K said...
The top looks great. I have been looking for embellishment for top of my own and the prices at MJ even with the sale are ridiculous. I don't have a hobbyland, but I will head over to AC Moore and see if I can find something cheaper.
4/24/08 7:51 AM
Gold said...
Youl ook great in this top!The color and the embellishment you used is fabulous!I like it with belt too.
4/24/08 7:53 AM
KrystalL said...
Chic top! I really like the embellishment along the neckline.
4/24/08 8:27 AM
Lori V said...
Great shirt and the embellishment is just right.
4/24/08 8:28 AM
Dei said...
Love it! You embellished it just right. I just bought the pattern and now I'm even more excited to make a few tops. Looking good, as always.
4/24/08 8:32 AM
Erica B. said...
@ BillieJean: I decided to just go strapless and not worry about bra straps. @ Coolobreeze: I use a Brother 2340CV.
4/24/08 9:38 AM
Karen6790 said...
Great job with the embellishment - that's what always hangs me up. Love the top on you, and love the bangs!
4/24/08 10:47 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Great call on the embellishment! I couldn't think of the right ones for this pattern, but you even tied in the safari trend. And by the way, those new bangs are so sassy! :)
4/24/08 11:17 AM
jfddrsn said...
I almost bought this pattern but passed because of the embellishments - Now I have to go back and get it! Love the belt with it. Thanks - great job, so cute.
4/24/08 12:11 PM
loohoo44 said...
Fabulous top Erica, very tastefully done embellishment.
4/24/08 12:22 PM
Leora said...
I wish they would change the pattern envelope from crafty to boutique (or something!) and add your pic. Great review!
4/24/08 1:34 PM
Kisha said...
Absolutely gorgeous. How did you secure the embellishments? Hand tack or glue?
4/24/08 1:34 PM
Annette1 said...
Classy! The fabric has a beautiful drape to it.
4/24/08 2:43 PM
kim*brown said...
Love the neckline!
4/24/08 3:25 PM
solosmocker said...
Lovely top and classy embellishment!
4/24/08 10:16 PM
cmarie12 said...
The embellishment really makes this top sing and elevates it above the norm! Great job!
4/25/08 11:01 AM
homejewel said...
Just now saw this review. I LOVE your top. It looks wonderful on you. Great choice on embellishments, too.
6/3/09 11:53 AM
TJSEWS said...
The top looks great on you. I like your idea of using the skinny belt.
3/11/10 9:39 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful work, as always. Love it!
6/28/10 2:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 6404
photo
Review by DD1104 on 1/5/14
Read Review

Butterick 5371 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5371 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4142
photo
Review by sewnaomi on 7/5/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us