SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 129027-1001 (from Sex in the City movie)

Viewed 569 times 
Reviewed by:anetJay
photo

 
 
About anetJaystar
IL USA
Member since: 3/13/08
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/08 3:05 PM
Last Updated:4/26/08 6:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in NZ said...
Beautiful purse. I would love to see more pictures and a close up of your flowers. Well Done!!
4/24/08 4:01 PM
lauraborealis said...
I am floored... you did a beautiful job.
4/24/08 4:37 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
You are so clever with the fishing bobber roses!! The whole finished product is just beautiful!
4/24/08 4:54 PM
Sic said...
Wow! What a fabulous looking knock-off! Also, using the fishing bobbers was brilliant!
4/24/08 5:03 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
Wow - can I say that I am so impressed and inspired. I love red...and I really love your purse. Great job.
4/24/08 10:02 PM
mommietothree0 said...
Just gorgeous! Any chance you would share your formula for making the pattern? I have a piece of red leather that would be great in this style.
4/24/08 11:17 PM
anetJay said...
mommietothree, the bag body was a rectangle, about 10x16 (2x) a base 10x6 (1x) 2 handles 2x15 piping was about 32"x 1.75 and then trimmed (1x) inner tabs about 1x3 (4x) the lining piece are 7x16 (2x) the base 10x6 (1x) and the pockest were maybe...5x4 or so... ( cut 4x {2 for each pocket}) i used 2 magnetic snaps and the roses ...3 - 1 " fishing bobbers and a hot glue gun !!! hope this helps :)
4/25/08 4:46 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I love it...and I will NOT be sending the link to this review to my DD, as I know what I would be doing next weekend. Congratulations on a wonderful project.
4/25/08 6:53 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic. Great knockoff!
4/25/08 7:55 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done.
4/25/08 10:55 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wonderful bag. And you didn't even use a pattern.
4/25/08 7:00 PM
grouchy smurf said...
I'm very new -- and so impressed and inspired by all of you. How in the WORLD do you know how to make a purse from a picture? That's AMAZING! I want to be able to do that one day!
4/25/08 11:01 PM
mommietothree0 said...
Thanks for the dimensions. Only two more questions before I whip out the leather. What shape did you use for the petals? (oval?) Did you free form the pleats /tucks on the back and front? So incredibly genius about the bobbers. I showed by DH!
4/25/08 11:43 PM
anetJay said...
thankyou for all of your kind comments :*) i guess we all have our gifts...like tasting something and knowing how to duplicate the recipe. (which i cant do at all, my family laughs at my pitiful attempts at cooking )
4/26/08 5:18 AM
anetJay said...
mommietothree, i am going to edit the pattern review to include the cutting dimensions but the roses were really "hit or miss" . i actually used scrap cotton fabric to shape around and then cut out as a pattern. see edit above :)
4/26/08 5:21 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Cute, cute, cute. And you drafted it yourself. I am very impressed!
4/26/08 5:52 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful bag! Love the look of red suede, your daughter is lucky one as usual!
4/26/08 7:27 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, I LOVE this! I think it's safe to say I would have NEVER thought of covering bobbers. :o) Just beautiful!
4/26/08 11:32 PM
ClaireC said...
Now I want one!!! Cute, cute, cute...and very beautifully executed. Thank you for sharing your pattern. I might just be making one of these babies.
4/27/08 8:47 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Superb review for your fabulous red suede bag with roses. Whew! It takes my breath away, I'm so envious. And your rose making idea was ingenious. (If you cut and sewed this entirely in April, why aren't you entering it in the Handbag Contest? You have two more days to do so, and I think you should.) Lovely, Lily
4/28/08 12:48 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great duplication of a cool bag! It's also nice that you kept and shared so many of the details.
4/28/08 4:49 PM
So So said...
Agree with the others- a great knockoff, thanks for the detailed reveiw.
4/30/08 6:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 6540

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now