Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 129027-1001 (from Sex in the City movie) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 567 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:anetJay
photo
About anetJaystar
IL USA
Member since: 3/13/08
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/08 3:05 PM
Last Updated:4/26/08 6:14 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in NZ said...
Beautiful purse. I would love to see more pictures and a close up of your flowers. Well Done!!
4/24/08 4:01 PM
lauraborealis said...
I am floored... you did a beautiful job.
4/24/08 4:37 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
You are so clever with the fishing bobber roses!! The whole finished product is just beautiful!
4/24/08 4:54 PM
Sic said...
Wow! What a fabulous looking knock-off! Also, using the fishing bobbers was brilliant!
4/24/08 5:03 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
Wow - can I say that I am so impressed and inspired. I love red...and I really love your purse. Great job.
4/24/08 10:02 PM
mommietothree0 said...
Just gorgeous! Any chance you would share your formula for making the pattern? I have a piece of red leather that would be great in this style.
4/24/08 11:17 PM
anetJay said...
mommietothree, the bag body was a rectangle, about 10x16 (2x) a base 10x6 (1x) 2 handles 2x15 piping was about 32"x 1.75 and then trimmed (1x) inner tabs about 1x3 (4x) the lining piece are 7x16 (2x) the base 10x6 (1x) and the pockest were maybe...5x4 or so... ( cut 4x {2 for each pocket}) i used 2 magnetic snaps and the roses ...3 - 1 " fishing bobbers and a hot glue gun !!! hope this helps :)
4/25/08 4:46 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I love it...and I will NOT be sending the link to this review to my DD, as I know what I would be doing next weekend. Congratulations on a wonderful project.
4/25/08 6:53 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic. Great knockoff!
4/25/08 7:55 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done.
4/25/08 10:55 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wonderful bag. And you didn't even use a pattern.
4/25/08 7:00 PM
grouchy smurf said...
I'm very new -- and so impressed and inspired by all of you. How in the WORLD do you know how to make a purse from a picture? That's AMAZING! I want to be able to do that one day!
4/25/08 11:01 PM
mommietothree0 said...
Thanks for the dimensions. Only two more questions before I whip out the leather. What shape did you use for the petals? (oval?) Did you free form the pleats /tucks on the back and front? So incredibly genius about the bobbers. I showed by DH!
4/25/08 11:43 PM
anetJay said...
thankyou for all of your kind comments :*) i guess we all have our gifts...like tasting something and knowing how to duplicate the recipe. (which i cant do at all, my family laughs at my pitiful attempts at cooking )
4/26/08 5:18 AM
anetJay said...
mommietothree, i am going to edit the pattern review to include the cutting dimensions but the roses were really "hit or miss" . i actually used scrap cotton fabric to shape around and then cut out as a pattern. see edit above :)
4/26/08 5:21 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Cute, cute, cute. And you drafted it yourself. I am very impressed!
4/26/08 5:52 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful bag! Love the look of red suede, your daughter is lucky one as usual!
4/26/08 7:27 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, I LOVE this! I think it's safe to say I would have NEVER thought of covering bobbers. :o) Just beautiful!
4/26/08 11:32 PM
ClaireC said...
Now I want one!!! Cute, cute, cute...and very beautifully executed. Thank you for sharing your pattern. I might just be making one of these babies.
4/27/08 8:47 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Superb review for your fabulous red suede bag with roses. Whew! It takes my breath away, I'm so envious. And your rose making idea was ingenious. (If you cut and sewed this entirely in April, why aren't you entering it in the Handbag Contest? You have two more days to do so, and I think you should.) Lovely, Lily
4/28/08 12:48 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great duplication of a cool bag! It's also nice that you kept and shared so many of the details.
4/28/08 4:49 PM
So So said...
Agree with the others- a great knockoff, thanks for the detailed reveiw.
4/30/08 6:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 5081
photo
Review by Denny1600 on 4/17/07
Read Review

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hailey Ruffled Up Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hailey Ruffled Up Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by born2bead on 7/31/08
Read Review

Vogue 1378 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1378 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4020 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4020 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us