SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1004 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/08 10:42 PM
Last Updated:4/25/08 10:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Hey, Lisa--that's one pretty dress! You look as though you feel good in it, too. Your note about the darted facing is interesting; I wasn't aware of that feature.
4/25/08 11:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
way to pull off a very chic look!
4/26/08 1:11 AM
Athene said...
This is a sleek and sexy look. I love it.
4/26/08 1:55 AM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful dress!
4/26/08 8:04 AM
Peggy L said...
Lisa - that style looks really nice on you. Nice printed slinky which is hard to find.
4/26/08 8:22 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great look for you. Very interesting description of the darted facing.
4/26/08 9:03 AM
Michelle T said...
Love that fabric. Looks great.
4/26/08 11:47 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Another winner for you Lisa! Looks great! You have also smashed the myth (were you aware of this?--it has been discussed on the boards several times) that this dress should not be made with slinky because of the difficulty of sewing the dart forming the neckline--did you have any trouble with this one? I love this dress pattern also...now need to make it with the slinky. Thanks again. Carla
4/26/08 3:49 PM
pterion said...
Lovely dress, Lisa. It's very flattering and the fabric is to die for.
4/26/08 10:30 PM
Lisa Laree said...
No, I missed the 'don't sew it w/slinky' discussion! Guess that's good...LOL...anyway, this is not *quite* as stretchy as regular slinky; I think the print stabilizes it a bit. But I sewed the dart by starting in the middle and sewing out to the point, then turning the work and repeating on the other side, and I used a narrow zig-zag for construction. Maybe that helped?
4/26/08 11:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, you look like a million bucks in this dress!! Very SLINKY -- ha! :o)
4/26/08 11:45 PM
Annika said...
Oo-la-la! :) Beautiful dress!
4/27/08 9:45 AM
PhyllisC said...
Lisa you look great! I've been orbiting this pattern for years; I think I really need it.
4/27/08 11:15 AM
Jodi B. said...
Beautiful dress, Lisa. I've got to pull this pattern from my stash and take a go at it.
4/27/08 8:09 PM
Doris Stewart said...
Love your dress. Must might push me to finally buy this pattern . . .
4/28/08 12:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just beautiful, in your lovely sparkly slinky. The dress has a wonderful shape and speaking of shapes, enhances your shape. You look very sophisticated and ready for a Dinner Date. Lovely, Lily
4/28/08 1:23 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sorry, double post.
4/28/08 1:23 PM
SewTwin said...
WOW!You & the dress really look slim!You did all the correct things for the pose..
5/1/08 0:53 AM
selvage said...
This dress looks fabulous on you. Beautiful job.
5/23/09 10:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Jean Hardy 630

photo
by: MaryDB

Review
Butterick B4789

photo
by: atymonw

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now