SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1004 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/08 10:42 PM
Last Updated:4/25/08 10:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Hey, Lisa--that's one pretty dress! You look as though you feel good in it, too. Your note about the darted facing is interesting; I wasn't aware of that feature.
4/25/08 11:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
way to pull off a very chic look!
4/26/08 1:11 AM
Athene said...
This is a sleek and sexy look. I love it.
4/26/08 1:55 AM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful dress!
4/26/08 8:04 AM
Peggy L said...
Lisa - that style looks really nice on you. Nice printed slinky which is hard to find.
4/26/08 8:22 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great look for you. Very interesting description of the darted facing.
4/26/08 9:03 AM
Michelle T said...
Love that fabric. Looks great.
4/26/08 11:47 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Another winner for you Lisa! Looks great! You have also smashed the myth (were you aware of this?--it has been discussed on the boards several times) that this dress should not be made with slinky because of the difficulty of sewing the dart forming the neckline--did you have any trouble with this one? I love this dress pattern also...now need to make it with the slinky. Thanks again. Carla
4/26/08 3:49 PM
pterion said...
Lovely dress, Lisa. It's very flattering and the fabric is to die for.
4/26/08 10:30 PM
Lisa Laree said...
No, I missed the 'don't sew it w/slinky' discussion! Guess that's good...LOL...anyway, this is not *quite* as stretchy as regular slinky; I think the print stabilizes it a bit. But I sewed the dart by starting in the middle and sewing out to the point, then turning the work and repeating on the other side, and I used a narrow zig-zag for construction. Maybe that helped?
4/26/08 11:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, you look like a million bucks in this dress!! Very SLINKY -- ha! :o)
4/26/08 11:45 PM
Annika said...
Oo-la-la! :) Beautiful dress!
4/27/08 9:45 AM
PhyllisC said...
Lisa you look great! I've been orbiting this pattern for years; I think I really need it.
4/27/08 11:15 AM
Jodi B. said...
Beautiful dress, Lisa. I've got to pull this pattern from my stash and take a go at it.
4/27/08 8:09 PM
Doris Stewart said...
Love your dress. Must might push me to finally buy this pattern . . .
4/28/08 12:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just beautiful, in your lovely sparkly slinky. The dress has a wonderful shape and speaking of shapes, enhances your shape. You look very sophisticated and ready for a Dinner Date. Lovely, Lily
4/28/08 1:23 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sorry, double post.
4/28/08 1:23 PM
SewTwin said...
WOW!You & the dress really look slim!You did all the correct things for the pose..
5/1/08 0:53 AM
selvage said...
This dress looks fabulous on you. Beautiful job.
5/23/09 10:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5474

photo
by: ukmuminusa

Review