SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-117 (blouse)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1478 times 
Reviewed by:lilyofthevalley
photo

 
 
About lilyofthevalleystarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/9/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/08 5:01 PM
Last Updated:4/27/08 10:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 56 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
84 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SarahSM said...
That's so elegant! The two pieces go perfectly together!
4/26/08 5:14 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! You did an excellent job!!!!
4/26/08 5:22 PM
Kris O said...
Very nice outfit and review. Thanks for all the details and photos.
4/26/08 5:49 PM
Winifred said...
You have made this outfit beautifully and put in a great deal of work. Whilst I fully understand your dislike of sleeves riding up too high when lifting your arm, I do think the sleeve looks too long, perhaps a little untidy when hanging down. Would there be a halfway house somewhere?
4/26/08 6:12 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is the first time that I've seen this blouse and thought "OHMYGOSH" Its A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! What a great interpretation! Love the skirt too.
4/26/08 6:14 PM
sew2little said...
You are an artist! This ensemble is truly elegant as well as being beautifully conceived and contstructed.
4/26/08 6:15 PM
Aixoise said...
Your idea about the skirt pleat detail and length was inspired. The outfit is very becoming. Beautiful work, and thanks for the informative, entertaining review.
4/26/08 6:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow -- I wish I could coax fabric as well as you can. As for the skirt length, I was admiring your chosen length before I read the part where you said it was experimental. You ensemble is amazing as is your detailed review.
4/26/08 6:24 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. Lovely silk ensemble is right. You did an amazing job with this and it's a beautiful look on you. I hope you get enough spring to wear it soon.
4/26/08 6:26 PM
Bonnie O said...
What a fabulous adaptation of this pattern! I always love your creations and this one is certainly no exception! I made this in a simple white stretch cotton and love it. Seeing your elegant version makes me think of trying another one.
4/26/08 6:30 PM
HeyJane said...
Beautiful ! You are surely ready for a garden party. Informative review...I like your blouse button change...why put buttons where they won't be used ! and the top looks so much 'cleaner'. Very pretty ensemble.
4/26/08 6:32 PM
JenniferBee said...
Fabulous outfit, love everything about it especially your skirt treatment. Thank you for such a comprehensive review.
4/26/08 6:34 PM
cabinbaby said...
I've been waiting for another fantastic lilyofthevalley review and here it is. This outfit was worth the wait too! Perfect!
4/26/08 6:54 PM
Barbara V said...
I am totally impressed with your beautiful outfit and review and enjoyed reading all the details of design and construction. How nice that your nephew thought to get this gorgeous fabric for you. You are very inspiring!
4/26/08 6:58 PM
TrixieD said...
You've created a stunning outfit, and the detail is so helpful. I plan on making the blouse soon and will return to your review for tips.
4/26/08 7:01 PM
AnneM said...
Wonderful, elegant outfit. What a fun blouse. I really like the skirt details. The pattern piece picture is very useful, I think. Great review as well as a great outfit.
4/26/08 7:10 PM
papago said...
Lily- You are so very talented. Your silk ensemble is breathtaking. I always enjoy your very thorough reviews and comments to others. Your fabric is so well suited to your finished product. I also love your shoes, even if Evil Sister took your preferred shoes. Laura
4/26/08 7:14 PM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful blouse!
4/26/08 7:25 PM
Kay Y said...
Simply gorgeous! You and your primordial hair! (others are envious...)
4/26/08 7:53 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful. The only thing I was thinking when looking at all those great photos is....she needs nicer shoes for this ensemble...but you answered that..lol!
4/26/08 8:06 PM
bluenines said...
WOW !! Beautiful outfit, I love the color , thanks for all of the photos and the detailed review
4/26/08 8:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful blouse in a gorgeous silk which is so flattering on you. The collar sits beautifully. Great photos of you too and I love your hair down like this! It looks like a good hair day to me and makes you look younger. Is that enough to convince you? :-) Good luck with the contest.
4/26/08 8:43 PM
Ingiepops said...
WOW!! I really enjoyed reading your review and am amazed by your fantastic sewing prowess! I never have to do a FBA but still found it really useful reading what you did; I'd have had no idea!!! The whole outfit is stunning and I love the skirt you made as well. Great detailed review, I might even be inspired to sew this blouse after reading your review.
4/26/08 8:59 PM
Mufffet said...
Absolutely beautiful. Excellently done as usual. Your skirt design is so lovely. Everything about this ensemble is perfect.
4/26/08 9:15 PM
Mahler said...
Lily, superbe is sufficient to describe the outfit. Absolutely made for is my comment for the look, and excellent review for the rest. Bravo !
4/26/08 9:36 PM
solosmocker said...
Excellent review. Your outfit is stunning, very flattering too! You dealt with the size F FBA very nicely. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!
4/26/08 9:55 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks for taking the time to write such an informative review. Absolutely beautiful blouse and skirt. Its very flattering.
4/26/08 9:56 PM
pterion said...
A very lovely ensemble. The review is wonderful and I appreciate all the extra views. Especially interesting to see the pattern pieces (I like that you drew a diagram of the finished skirt on it - that's smart).
4/26/08 10:11 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lilly, your ensemble is outstanding. It is beautifully made and looks great on you. Thank you for the excellent review on your fabulous creation.
4/26/08 10:36 PM
carolynw said...
Really am stumped for words - astonishingly beautiful, wonderful and just simply over the top - think I sound like Bruno from Dancing with the Stars but you will get the drift!! Bravo!!
4/26/08 10:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, Lily, what a stunning ensemble. The fit is PERFECT, as expected, and that fabric is SOOOOOOO pretty. I particularly admire your ability to figure out a full-bust adjustment for that pattern! I'd still be sitting there scratching my head. And speaking of heads, you hair is beautiful, up OR down! :o)
4/26/08 10:45 PM
gotpeace91 said...
Hi Lily! What a treat to see another review from you! I love this beautiful outfit. You did such an excellent job. The color is so pretty and I love the buttons you chose. I wish I could add a little of your F to my A hee hee. I think your idea of the pleats on the skirt was great. They do balance your lovely figure. Too bad about the shoes but I think the ones you used are gorgeous. I think your hair is real pretty. I love the color of it. You are so talented. I think you must really love to sew! I hope you win!
4/26/08 10:48 PM
Mermie said...
Just gorgeous. Very good review.
4/26/08 11:07 PM
Riordan said...
Truly gorgeous--you and the lovely garments!! Exquisite work!
4/26/08 11:12 PM
GollyGolly said...
Oh Lily, it is really just so beautiful. Your nephew purchased perfect fabric for you and this seems to be the perfect pattern to go with the perfect fabric and it makes such a perfect ensemble for you, which leads us right back where we started from. Oh Lily, it is really just so beautiful!!!! Gail
4/26/08 11:56 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fabulous outfit, I love that blouse pattern and it's great to see it in a more formal gorgeous silk fabric. The skirt design goes with it perfectly. Thank you for the very detailed review.
4/27/08 0:11 AM
ajax said...
Beautiful outfit and you look lovely - including the hair! I look forward to your detailed reviews and the stunning creations you come up with every time.
4/27/08 1:24 AM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous ensemble Lily! I love it!
4/27/08 1:49 AM
pelli78500 said...
Gorgeous! The skirt is perfect for the blouse! Your review of the entire process was a virtual booklet! Thanks!
4/27/08 2:08 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful ensemble, the silk is perfect for the style.Fantastic reference review, so detailed !!. And BTW you hair is lovely.
4/27/08 2:48 AM
rivergum said...
Wow, that looks fabulous on you Lily. Very very classy! I love your choice of fabrics.
4/27/08 3:02 AM
lynda828 said...
Thank you for such an informative review I never would have guessed your bra size LOL you look so slim and gorgeous your outfit is divine I love the shirt I've gotta get that Burda mag - every pattern has real flair. Oh and I like your hair with mine would grow!!
4/27/08 3:18 AM
Athene said...
Lily you look absolutely beautiful. The blouse and skirt are gorgeous. I'm sure your nephew will be thrilled to see the wonderful outfit you made with the fabric he so wisely chose for you.
4/27/08 3:38 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful blouse and skirt.
4/27/08 4:28 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Your whole outfit is THE sophistication, all alternations which aren't obvious to onlookers but they are the key to the great fit, and beautiful collars and neat pattern pieces ( I will never show mine )! Thanks for mentioning interfacing, choosing right interfacing can be confusing sometimes ( to me ) and good to know what and how people use it, oh, and you have a lovely generous and considerate nephew, everyone should have someone like that!
4/27/08 5:20 AM
Karen8320 said...
Lily, everything about this oozes class and sophistication. This truly is a magnificent piece of work and it's obvious we are all impressed. The fabric is just stunning and I love the skirt. It's a perfect match for the blouse. Your review is terrific as well - sufficiently detailed with advice and all of your extra photos give us such a thorough insight into your sewing journey. Good luck with the contest!
4/27/08 5:36 AM
Beek said...
Hilarious and informative. What fun it is to read your posts, Lily. And what a gorgeous ensemble.
4/27/08 6:21 AM
ITAdmin said...
Another beautiful outfit. I like the blouse pattern, but I truly love your skirt.
4/27/08 7:35 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lily, both skirt and blouse are gorgeous!!! What I really love is how you took this top and altered it for your "FBA". Very interesting how the traditional FBA doesn't work as well for you. It's amazing that I didn't notice you were full busted until you mentioned it and that is the beauty of your sewing and fitting skills--everything looks perfectly proportioned. Your self-drafted skirt is divine!
4/27/08 7:42 AM
blue mooney said...
Wow.
4/27/08 7:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely ensemble! Love the fabric.
4/27/08 7:50 AM
ClaireC said...
OMG!!! You just keep amazing me with your talent. Your outfit is stunning and elegant and you look fabulous, as usual.
4/27/08 8:31 AM
ClaireC said...
Deleting duplicate comment
4/27/08 8:32 AM
ClaireC said...
OMG!!! You just keep amazing me with your talent. Your outfit is stunning and elegant and you look fabulous, as usual.
4/27/08 8:33 AM
crisford said...
Oh my, this looks absolutely gorgeous. You are so inspiring--thanks for the great designer review!
4/27/08 8:47 AM
annie11 said...
Wow! What a beautiful ensemble! You achieved a perfect fit and the fabric is absolutely stunning. Thank you for the tips on adjusting the bust for this pattern.
4/27/08 9:43 AM
Leora said...
Absolutely perfect ensemble!
4/27/08 9:55 AM
DivaQ said...
This is so beautiful! I love it! You look great!!!
4/27/08 10:05 AM
Trenessa said...
This is a fabulous outfit! I just took a look at all the patterns you've reviewed and they are all awesome! You are so talented and I want to be just like you when I grow up :0)
4/27/08 10:38 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lily, I always enjoy looking at your work and reading your reviews. This dress is beautiful and outstanding in every way!
4/27/08 10:45 AM
MissCelie said...
Awesome job, terrificly detailed and funny review. You are a sewing and designing superstar!
4/27/08 10:58 AM
Stitchcakes said...
People have often asked me if I mind being an only child, but I always know where all my shoes are. :-)
4/27/08 11:20 AM
Nancy K said...
Wow this is wonderful, elegant ensemble and the review is just as good! Am I correct in assuming that you used the outer button band so that you could attach the ties, and then added a facing? In other words, you cut the button band at cf and added a sas? I envy you your drafting skills. Just great.
4/27/08 11:24 AM
Heatherrique said...
Lily, ooh la la, tres belle! I totally agree with everyone on the wonderful adjectives to describe your sewing and creations! What is amazing is that your reviews and creations reveal more than your exceptional talents: your uplifting, engaging, encouraging, and alluring persona!
4/27/08 11:51 AM
Dei said...
Lovely! It suits your sparkle and sewing skills. Well done.
4/27/08 12:50 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Another stunning ensemble from you Lily. You're a vision in this lovely blouse and skirt. Wonderful... WOW!!
4/27/08 1:00 PM
stitcheroo said...
You've created quite a stir here on PR, with good reason. This ensemble has so many fine details and is such a sophisticated duo. Your craftsmanship is impeccable. Great, great job, as always. I so look forward to your reviews.
4/27/08 2:17 PM
meli88a said...
this is beautiful. The skirt is a wonderful design, too, that would look great in other fabrics. Thank you for sharing this outfit!
4/27/08 4:22 PM
SewFar said...

4/27/08 4:32 PM
SewFar said...
Breathtakingly beautiful, Lily.
4/27/08 4:35 PM
SewLil said...
Lily, you make the most beautiful things and your reviews are always fantastic. This one is no exception. Congratulations on another fabulous outfit!
4/27/08 9:34 PM
utz said...
Oh Lilly this is so beautiful and an inspiration. Your work is exquisite and reflects a keen mind. I learn so much from your reviews - thanks again for your generous review. Beautiful, beautiful!
4/27/08 11:15 PM
Kbenco said...
I very much enjoy reading your reviews and comments. Your outfit is gorgeous and wonderfully crafted and fitted, thank you for taking so much care to write another interesting and extremely helpful review.
4/27/08 11:54 PM
anetJay said...
Lily, i LOVE your reading your reviews...they are truly my favorites. Your suit is so beautiful. :) Great job !!! janet
4/28/08 4:59 AM
Gelbean said...
Lily, your reviews are always so helpful and your creations are gorgeous. You are so talented with incredible vision. I can't wait to see what you will create next.
4/28/08 5:20 AM
3kids1036 said...
I love your reviews and this one is no exception! FANTASTIC blouse! I love it.
4/28/08 7:22 AM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulously Stunning!
4/28/08 3:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is lovely. your auburn mane is quite gorgeous. Wear it proudly!
4/28/08 8:50 PM
Big Dog said...
Awesome, stunning, outstanding are just a few words that come to mind when I saw the pictures of this fantastic outfit. Your skills are remarkable and the way you pair fabric and pattern is perfection. And that gorgeous hair, love it styled that way.
4/29/08 7:43 PM
Marji said...
As always, you've created an exquisite ensemble. Your fabric is just gorgeous, your review style entertaining as well as informative, and your styling is fun. Keep 'em coming!
5/2/08 11:47 PM
patrica said...
Stunning is the word. I just love to read your reviews. I also made this one or should I say attempted to, my fabric was not stretch. I really should have gone up a size as you did, but I thought I read a review some where that stated this blouse ran a bit big. Anyhow it just didn't fit. What a dissapointment. But having seen how lovely yours is I will try again.
5/3/08 8:14 PM
Sew Confused said...
Lily, I love your beautifu ensemble; the fabric is too yummy and you look fabulous. Thanks for another great review.
5/4/08 12:00 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Thanks for another very helpful, detailed review. I love your outfit.
5/6/08 9:31 AM
EveS said...
You certainly did right by your nephew's gift! Absolutely lovely outfit, Lily. The fit is just perfect and your creative vision is incredible! As for BWOF's "instructional conclusions" - you have totally captured the essence of their so-called instructions...I will be remembering (and using...with due credit given, of course) that phrase in the future, you can bet! Hilarious.
5/9/08 10:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
No Pattern Used N/A

photo
by: Joey in Ka...

Review
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now