SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-115 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 989 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/08 0:35 AM
Last Updated:4/27/08 0:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
this is lovely. If black shoes, they have to be high and strappy. Brown would work but needs to be a dark, dark brown. Gun metal shoes would be a knockout.
4/27/08 0:42 AM
rosannec said...
I have the same fabric and I love it as this dress! You've done a marvelous job! When I pulled out this fabric, I immediately thought strappy silver heels would be perfect; it needs a delicate shoe IMHOP. Either way, your version is lovely!
4/27/08 0:52 AM
touran said...
That's so pretty. Thanks for reminding us of it.
4/27/08 1:05 AM
SarahSM said...
Wow! What a pretty dress. Thanks for the heads up about the hip fit... The black shoes work better than the brown, but I've seen some great gray shoes lately that would be fantastic, too.
4/27/08 2:01 AM
Twinset said...
Cabinbaby, you just look fantastic in your dress! This is so feminine, so romantic, + the color with your eyes, wow! Silver or gunmetal sandals would look gorgeous with it!
4/27/08 2:02 AM
KathleenS said...
I've added this pattern to my wishlist! I love your fabric too. As for the shoes, out of your choice I'd go with black, but ideally silver grey. You'd get more use out of them than you might think - they're good with a lot of blues for instance. Blue shoes are hard to find and you'd be able to wear them less.
4/27/08 2:32 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
This dress is so beautiful, perfect fit and colour for your pretty blue eyes !. I second gun metal grey , silver or blue shoes, strappy and narow heel.
4/27/08 2:56 AM
lynda828 said...
You look absolutely stunning what a beautiful dress and you've got the perfect figure for it. I love your choice of fabric It could also look nice as a top maybe for my body LOL Great job I love it.
4/27/08 3:24 AM
lynda828 said...
You look absolutely stunning what a beautiful dress and you've got the perfect figure for it. I love your choice of fabric It could also look nice as a top maybe for my body LOL Great job I love it.
4/27/08 3:25 AM
lynda828 said...
oops :)
4/27/08 3:25 AM
mylittleelephant said...
First thing I noticed was that as you say this dress goes with your eye colour perfectly, that's lovely! I like this pattern and you have made great version of it, your choice of fabric seems to show more details than small florals like the photo in the magazine and I love it, thank you for the review!
4/27/08 4:49 AM
Athene said...
Your look sexy and absolutely beautiful in this dress. The first thing I noticed in the photo before I even read the review was how the blue of the dress brought out your blue eyes. This is my favorite pattern out of that issue of BWOF. You did a fantastic job of this dress. A very classy look.
4/27/08 5:00 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is absolutekly gorgeous, love the print and the fit is amazing. I must make this, but thank you for the tight butt alert! I would vote for silver shoes, you can get some quite casual ones if you don't want to be too dressy.
4/27/08 6:10 AM
blue mooney said...
Really nice fabric/pattern match! Those colors really do play up your eyes. My shoe vote - grey or nude-ish color.
4/27/08 7:54 AM
Elke said...
This looks fantastic on you! I vote for silver or gunmetal sandals.
4/27/08 8:13 AM
MissCelie said...
So stinking pretty! Thanks for the heads up on the hips.
4/27/08 8:34 AM
Peggy L said...
Fantastic dress! It looks great on you - gorgeous color for you.
4/27/08 8:51 AM
mochalover said...
Gorgeous dress! Very impressive.
4/27/08 9:47 AM
annie11 said...
Beautiful dress and it flatters your figure perfectly! Now I must make this dress!
4/27/08 9:48 AM
carolynw said...
I hardly ever comment on BWOF reviews only because I do not have a frame of reference for them so this is an exception but I just had to tell you your dress is just beautiful. IMHO not a black shoe dress unless they are very strappy - silver - probably any metallic - but I feel they should be as light and airy to do this beautiful dress justice.
4/27/08 9:50 AM
Alexruthe said...
I've been watching your progress on your blog. Great job, it looks amazing!
4/27/08 10:07 AM
CShelley said...
BEEEAUTIFUL! I love that the shaping comes from the darts and pleats. Very different and bravo to you for doing it in silk. I think black shoes are too dark for this...I agree with everyone else -go for grey or silver .
4/27/08 10:14 AM
gotpeace91 said...
Wow! Absolutely gorgeous on you! Very flattering to your figure and the color really brings out your eyes. I love the pleats at the neck they are so pretty. You did a fantastic job! I vote for silver or gunmetal. I have a pair that I wear all the time, they really do go with alot of things.
4/27/08 10:24 AM
Lori V said...
This dress is gorgeous on you, so flattering to your figure and your eyes.
4/27/08 10:30 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Oh, darn. Now you have to shoes shopping! Great dress and it makes your eyes stand out. My son had those blue eyes, too. Great review, also.
4/27/08 11:11 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Exquisite workmanship. Another vote for grey shoes - neutral so they might go with other items in your wardrobe, and definitely better than black or brown.
4/27/08 12:02 PM
Mahler said...
You look lovely with this. It as fresh as a spring breeze. The color is amazing for you. Bravo ! For the color of shoes, I agree with little jazz bird. If you don't feel like spending, I prefer the black ones. If silver of gunmetal are not your color or difficult to find, black sandals would be less massive and less severe. I don't know for you but dressy blue shoes have been difficult to find for years... at least in Montreal.
4/27/08 12:35 PM
zigzaggers said...
Wow, this is gorgeous. It's a really lovely piece of work, and suits you so well.
4/27/08 1:11 PM
ALY said...
I used the same fabric to make a blouse for a SWAP with gray, teal, and caribbean blue garments. Shoes were black, grey or silver mettalic. It was interesting to see the fabric used in your lovely dress.
4/27/08 1:51 PM
Jill Giard said...
Beautiful dress! I vote for pewter or silver shoes.
4/27/08 2:19 PM
stitcheroo said...
I didn't know this pattern could look so good. The print is drop-dead gorgeous. Yes, silver shoes, to throw in my 2 cents.
4/27/08 2:31 PM
sewbehind said...
Great dress, Cabinbaby. It looks wonderful on you, flattering to your form, all of those good things. I noticed the eye colour right away. Perhaps you have eyes that appear to change with different garments... Or you hit it spot on?
4/27/08 3:03 PM
meli88a said...
Great dress - it fits you so perfectly. I can't believe you got such a pretty fabric at Joann's! It looks so nice on you.
4/27/08 4:24 PM
svenskaflicka said...
I'm also stunned you found this fabric at Joann's. Looks like a Marimekko print. Gorgeous! Much nicer than the pattern photo. Colors are great on you. And I'd go with a silver shoe, or for a less dressy look, grey nubuck.
4/27/08 5:14 PM
Heatherbelle said...
Fabulous those colours look great on you. Another vote for silver/pewter/gunmetal shoes, flat delicate strappy ones or wedges for casual and heels for dressy Such a great dress.
4/27/08 9:25 PM
SewLil said...
This is BE.U.TI.FUL!! OMG. It looks fantastic on you! I vote for silver shoes because I think it's a versatile color.
4/27/08 9:39 PM
Miz Lolly said...
Fabulous! Thanks for the heads up on the tight fit in the hips -- this dress is on my "to sew" list for sure. I vote for silver shoes, or if black something very strappy and not heavy looking. P.S. congratulations on being a mother of three young children and not having a lumpy backside ;)
4/27/08 10:05 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a darling dress. Congrats on a job well done.
4/27/08 10:29 PM
ajax said...
This dress looks lovely on you, and the match with your eyes is stunning. I vote for grey or silver shoes as well - but I think very strappy black sandals would work also.
4/28/08 0:20 AM
pelli78500 said...
Beautiful! Well done! I enjoyed being able to see so much with so many pictures! Thanks! (Especially for the 'Tush Tip'....)
4/28/08 0:30 AM
anetJay said...
soooo pretty !!!! great job :)
4/28/08 4:50 AM
Lisa Laree said...
What a sweet dress! Very nice.
4/28/08 8:06 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, the first thing I noticed was how the fabric make your eyes look mysteriously so-blue, the second thing was the fit-to-perfection with all those intriguing darts. I don't think it matters what shoes you wear, b/c no one is going to be able to take their eyes off your stunning dress. It's a masterpiece! -Lily
4/28/08 10:32 AM
crisford said...
Oooh this dress is gorgeous on you! The satin fabric looks so yummy and magic with your eyes.
4/28/08 11:04 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I love this!! You must purchase pewter shoes, preferably sandals, immediately.
4/28/08 2:18 PM
Karen6790 said...
Darn, you beat me to it! I just posted my review now. I love this dress. I think I'd love this dress in any fabric, I love this dress so much. Consider this one more vote for silver shoes - I think your fabric deserves them!
4/28/08 8:12 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
I don't think I have ever seen a more flattering dress. You should wear blue all the time. I agree, gunmetal or gray shoes would be fantastic or for a more casual look, I would wear slides in a nude tone. Beautiful! Beautiful! Beautiful! It is definitely "date night" or "looking for a date night" material!!
4/29/08 10:05 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
WOW! This is one fabulous dress!! That fabric was made for you. You *need* new shoes - gunmetal would really be ideal!
4/29/08 10:49 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful dress - you're just getting BWOF down pat girl, keep up the awesome work!! :-)
5/2/08 0:04 AM
French.Seam said...
Another hit. Very flattering. i will now buy this pattern!
6/7/08 6:30 AM
SewPie said...
This looks much better than in the magazine! I am very small busted and dismissed this because the front slit looked too low. Thanks to your tip, I will try it where it is. Do you always do a muslin! That's really impressive! Well done, it looks so pretty on you!!!!
1/10/09 8:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1002

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now