Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1944 (Vera Wang) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 914 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Fine Fabrics
photo
About Fine Fabricsstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/15/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/08 2:43 PM
Last Updated:5/2/08 3:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marji said...
The dress looks fabulous. I don't know that I would have thought to use this pattern like this - great interpretation. (Don't forget to change this review from a WIP to a finished review so that it's eligible in the contest.)
4/27/08 3:02 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress. I've always liked this style. Your fabric is fantastic, and your print placement works very well. Love your technique using the muslin to create a one-piece with darts dress. Very informative and creative. (Nice flowers in your picture, also.)
4/27/08 3:37 PM
Kellie R. said...
I love the elegance of this dress. The fabric is very feminine and works perfectly with the design. I can see this being a very versatile dress that you'll get a lot of use of.
4/27/08 11:45 PM
Georgene said...
I would love to see a photo fo the other one you made with the Soltiss lace.
4/28/08 1:19 AM
wvsher said...
Beautiful dress; looks great on you! Thanks for the review & inspiration to try different things with patterns than what is shown on the envelope.
4/28/08 2:31 PM
Athene said...
A simple but oh so elegant look - you look beautiful and I love the print.
4/29/08 1:11 AM
Re Becca said...
What a great, versatile way to use this pattern and this print. I love you way of using the muslin as a pattern sso that you don't break the design of the fabric.
4/29/08 3:12 PM
KathleenS said...
I like this pattern and it's had universally good reviews (which is a good sign - this could go very wrong with the low back if badly drafted). I must get it. Yours is beautifully made and fitted - you make it look easy (I always think it's so unfair that the better you do something difficult the easier it looks!) Can we see the other dress you made from this pattern? It sounds stunning.
5/2/08 7:39 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your stunning dress is both elegant and chic, and the black and white silk pique enhances its sleek lines. It's truly lovely and like everyone else, I'd love to see your initial version. Exquisite, Lily
5/4/08 7:22 PM
MagpieJen said...
I remember flipping through the Vogue pattern book and always stopping to look at this one - it's eyecatching and classic. I love your fun take on this design, and your method to control the print is brilliant! Thanks for this review!
5/31/08 12:32 PM
melaniejade31 said...
You did such a beautiful job! This dress looks stunning on you!
2/25/10 5:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-132 Girls tunic
photo
Review by sandramary on 4/11/14
Read Review

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 7500
photo
Review by AlexaNJ on 5/12/07
Read Review

Butterick 5209 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5209 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2250 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2250 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us