Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5191 (MISSES' JACKET, TOP, SASH, SKI) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 455 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/08 8:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Larger size was definitely better. In fact, I wouldn't even call it a muslin. It looks great.
4/28/08 9:39 PM
Peggy L said...
I wouldn't call that a muslin either. It looks great. Its really a nice style for you.
4/28/08 9:45 PM
Athene said...
You look lovely. I love this pattern - I bought it unfortunately in the wrong size, and now have to wait till the next Butterick sale to get it in the larger size.
4/28/08 10:37 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely top and I agree the bigger size is more flattering. Great job! I hope some spectacular fabric jumps out at your soon.
4/29/08 0:03 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beautiful little top and like everyone else, I like the slightly larger size for fit. The style is most flattering on you, and hope you'll make many more. Lovely, Lily
4/29/08 2:15 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great top. I so envy your talent and your sewing productivity. You have an eye for picking patterns and fabric that compliment each other, as you did here.
4/29/08 7:08 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Really cute - love those polka dots, and I agree, not a muslin at all. The pleats really add an oomph to the design, a great detail.
4/29/08 11:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
I love your top! I've been meaning to make a Simplicity pattern similar to this but it's (literally) just hanging out on the side of my fridge with a metal clip. It's even already altered. Do you have a special way to tie the sash? I couldn't tie a nice bow or knot if my life depended on it.
5/4/08 1:57 PM
2BSewing said...
Hi Kat...I believe in simplicity when tying a sash. I may do a "single tie" and let the ends drape over each other. Or I'll do a knot and re-arrange the knot so it looks square. Sometimes, I'll re-work the "knot" and loosen it to get the shape of the knot I like and then tighten slightly. I've been practicing on "Susie-Q"...thank goodness for dressforms. Sounds like a good tutorial for me to create on my blog. :)
5/4/08 9:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by paolag on 3/23/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3762
photo
Review by MCBurbage on 11/1/09
Read Review

New Look 6070 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6070 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2290 Pattern( Size XS )
Simplicity 2290 Pattern( Size XS )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us