SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5191 (MISSES' JACKET, TOP, SASH, SKI)

3 more reviews
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/08 8:31 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2BSewing said...
Hi Kat...I believe in simplicity when tying a sash. I may do a "single tie" and let the ends drape over each other. Or I'll do a knot and re-arrange the knot so it looks square. Sometimes, I'll re-work the "knot" and loosen it to get the shape of the knot I like and then tighten slightly. I've been practicing on "Susie-Q"...thank goodness for dressforms. Sounds like a good tutorial for me to create on my blog. :)
5/4/08 9:19 PM
ryan's mom said...
I love your top! I've been meaning to make a Simplicity pattern similar to this but it's (literally) just hanging out on the side of my fridge with a metal clip. It's even already altered. Do you have a special way to tie the sash? I couldn't tie a nice bow or knot if my life depended on it.
5/4/08 1:57 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Really cute - love those polka dots, and I agree, not a muslin at all. The pleats really add an oomph to the design, a great detail.
4/29/08 11:32 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great top. I so envy your talent and your sewing productivity. You have an eye for picking patterns and fabric that compliment each other, as you did here.
4/29/08 7:08 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beautiful little top and like everyone else, I like the slightly larger size for fit. The style is most flattering on you, and hope you'll make many more. Lovely, Lily
4/29/08 2:15 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely top and I agree the bigger size is more flattering. Great job! I hope some spectacular fabric jumps out at your soon.
4/29/08 0:03 AM
Athene said...
You look lovely. I love this pattern - I bought it unfortunately in the wrong size, and now have to wait till the next Butterick sale to get it in the larger size.
4/28/08 10:37 PM
Peggy L said...
I wouldn't call that a muslin either. It looks great. Its really a nice style for you.
4/28/08 9:45 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Larger size was definitely better. In fact, I wouldn't even call it a muslin. It looks great.
4/28/08 9:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

More Info
Other 131

photo
by: Sew Nanny

Review