SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7328 (Fall Handbags)

6 more reviews
Viewed 529 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/08 8:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
I had some problems uploading photos for this review, but I believe I fixed everything.
4/30/08 8:53 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Nancy, Hobo bags are my favorite--simple and elegant. This is a beautiful bag and certainly does look like the original Kate Spade. Your work is so professional looking. Was that 'suede' handle hard to turn with the fasturn? I love the way you include links to all your sources along the way. Thanks for your thorough review! Carla
5/1/08 10:23 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you Carla for your generous comments. It was pretty easy to turn the Ultrasuede tube with the Fastturn. I cut a 2.25" wide strip that was about 35" inches long, stitched it with a .25" seam allowance, and used the next to the largest tube to turn it. It was a little harder to insert the Peltex strip. First I inserted the Fastturn into the fabric tube and then snaked the Peltex inside. It would have been easier if I'd used a shorter length of strap. But I wanted to double the strap back on itself so I could have an invisible union between the O-ring and the strap. Anyway, the toughest part of this project was uploading the photos. Late last night, photobucket mysteriously and shrank all my good photos to the size of a postage stamp and I had to reshoot some quick and dirty ones. But this morning I finally figured out how to restore them to their original size, and Peggy has kindly allowed me to replace them.
5/1/08 12:16 PM
wvsher said...
Very nice and professional looking bag! Thanks for the review.
5/1/08 4:42 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks for the update and education on the Fastturn, Nancy! You are persistent with those photos. Looks super! Carla
5/1/08 9:54 PM
KathleenS said...
Nice job.
5/2/08 6:37 AM
Athene said...
Beautifully made bag - definitely looks like the Kate Spade bag but better. Thanks for the great photos of all the details.
5/6/08 7:15 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. The Ultrasuede fabric gives it a very professional look. Congrats on your bag. (Amazing it was easy to turn the ultrasuede tube; glad I have a fastturn now.) Love the color you chose.
5/8/08 7:31 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is an adorable bag!!!
1/4/09 6:29 PM
Natalie D. said...
I've made shopping bags but never handbags. After reading about yours, maybe I'll give it a try some time. Well done, Nancy, and a very handy review too.
4/17/09 11:07 AM
JDpenelope said...
Sensational -- Both the bag and the review. This is the kind of info about ultrasuede that I've been wanting these last few days. Your photos and descriptions are so appreciated. I understand most everything -- except how to install those feet, and possibly how to get the interfacing INSIDE the straps, using the Fasturn set (which I have). Did you have to pound the feet in, I wonder, and do you have to buy special hardware to do it? Will think about the fasturn descriptions; this could come to me. Thanks again. I've printed your review.
6/16/09 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Contest Mini wardrobe Challenge

photo
by: House of P...

Review