Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7328 (Fall Handbags) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 528 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 130 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/08 8:25 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
I had some problems uploading photos for this review, but I believe I fixed everything.
4/30/08 8:53 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Nancy, Hobo bags are my favorite--simple and elegant. This is a beautiful bag and certainly does look like the original Kate Spade. Your work is so professional looking. Was that 'suede' handle hard to turn with the fasturn? I love the way you include links to all your sources along the way. Thanks for your thorough review! Carla
5/1/08 10:23 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you Carla for your generous comments. It was pretty easy to turn the Ultrasuede tube with the Fastturn. I cut a 2.25" wide strip that was about 35" inches long, stitched it with a .25" seam allowance, and used the next to the largest tube to turn it. It was a little harder to insert the Peltex strip. First I inserted the Fastturn into the fabric tube and then snaked the Peltex inside. It would have been easier if I'd used a shorter length of strap. But I wanted to double the strap back on itself so I could have an invisible union between the O-ring and the strap. Anyway, the toughest part of this project was uploading the photos. Late last night, photobucket mysteriously and shrank all my good photos to the size of a postage stamp and I had to reshoot some quick and dirty ones. But this morning I finally figured out how to restore them to their original size, and Peggy has kindly allowed me to replace them.
5/1/08 12:16 PM
wvsher said...
Very nice and professional looking bag! Thanks for the review.
5/1/08 4:42 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks for the update and education on the Fastturn, Nancy! You are persistent with those photos. Looks super! Carla
5/1/08 9:54 PM
KathleenS said...
Nice job.
5/2/08 6:37 AM
Athene said...
Beautifully made bag - definitely looks like the Kate Spade bag but better. Thanks for the great photos of all the details.
5/6/08 7:15 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. The Ultrasuede fabric gives it a very professional look. Congrats on your bag. (Amazing it was easy to turn the ultrasuede tube; glad I have a fastturn now.) Love the color you chose.
5/8/08 7:31 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is an adorable bag!!!
1/4/09 6:29 PM
Natalie D. said...
I've made shopping bags but never handbags. After reading about yours, maybe I'll give it a try some time. Well done, Nancy, and a very handy review too.
4/17/09 11:07 AM
JDpenelope said...
Sensational -- Both the bag and the review. This is the kind of info about ultrasuede that I've been wanting these last few days. Your photos and descriptions are so appreciated. I understand most everything -- except how to install those feet, and possibly how to get the interfacing INSIDE the straps, using the Fasturn set (which I have). Did you have to pound the feet in, I wonder, and do you have to buy special hardware to do it? Will think about the fasturn descriptions; this could come to me. Thanks again. I've printed your review.
6/16/09 10:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by edupraz on 2/26/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8767 Vintage Vogue
photo
Review by calypso on 10/17/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us