Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3529 (Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 928 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/08 1:57 PM
Last Updated:4/30/08 3:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
This looks great on you!! Pretty color for you. Love the scenic background too.
4/30/08 2:09 PM
dbsewer said...
Good to know that KS is doing quality work. The jacket is very cute. Thanks for a great and detailed review.
4/30/08 2:21 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful color for you - the fit is fantastic!
4/30/08 2:39 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Gorgeous jacket! Now I really want to try a Kwik Sew pattern. And I'm going to have to get my hands on some silk matka...
4/30/08 2:47 PM
Kellie R. said...
The workmanship on your jacket is great Cindy! It's so pretty and stylish! Thanks for the great review!
4/30/08 3:10 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Wow, your jacket's beautiful, lapel looks perfectly pressed, and perfect ease, I really feel like trying Kwik sew and raw silk now.
4/30/08 3:44 PM
mahalosu said...
I am going to buy this pattern! What size did you make?
4/30/08 4:00 PM
Athene said...
A very attractive and well made jacket and definitely your color. You look very pretty.
4/30/08 4:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Interesting reading about the armhole and sleeve cap fit with this Kwik Sew pattern. I will keep that info in mind. You did a great job. The jacket is a cute style and your choice of fabric and color is perfect. Thanks for the review.
4/30/08 4:07 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Mahalosu, I made a small on top tapering to a medium for the bottom half of jacket.
4/30/08 4:07 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket looks so stylish and well-fitted. I'm intrigued by this pattern.
4/30/08 4:33 PM
AnneM said...
Kwik Sew patterns so often sew up nicer than the pattern pics indicate. Your jacket is very nice. I like your tear rating system. :) Your jacket looks great, and you picked a nice fabric / pattern match. The back has such nice details as well. Yours is the 1st review of this pattern; I suspect it will increase the sales of it!
4/30/08 4:36 PM
ALY said...
Great jacket, and the color really looks good on you. Silk matka is a favorite fabric for spring and summer jackets. Nice colors, interesting texture and easy to work with.
4/30/08 4:36 PM
loohoo44 said...
YAY!! Cindy this turned out sooo fabulous!! This was definitely the color for you, and the style looks even better than the kwik sew photos. Thank you so much for the incredibly helpful info about the matka, I still haven't gotten into mine yet!
4/30/08 4:52 PM
mochalover said...
Very impressive jacket and great review. You have made me want to try another Kwik Sew pattern.
4/30/08 5:55 PM
sew2little said...
I too love Kwik Sew--despite the dowdy illustrations and pictures. Your jacket looks great!
4/30/08 6:01 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute jacket and thanks for the review. Kwik Sew patterns are so helpful. and well-drafted, I need to take a look at them again.
4/30/08 7:16 PM
CShelley said...
How cute are you in that jacket! Yours looks so much better than the pattern photo. I wouldn't have looked twice at it but now I have to have it. Thanks!
4/30/08 7:47 PM
Dee2 said...
Beautiful jacket--you look wonderful in this color!
4/30/08 8:47 PM
MissCelie said...
Cindy, what a charming and insightful review! And a very very cute little jacket.
4/30/08 8:51 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous, flattering jacket! You sound so happy with it and you should be. It's beautiful!
4/30/08 9:24 PM
mastdenman said...
Cute jacket. It looks great on you.
4/30/08 10:04 PM
Dei said...
Love that cheery color on you. Love the jacket and now I am forced to go out and buy yet another pattern. Well done, including the smile.
4/30/08 11:37 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Beautiful jacket, beautiful setting, beautiful woman--THOROUGH review! Great tips about this pattern and especially appreciate the info on the raw silk---THANK YOU dvmcindy for this excellent review. this goes on my wish list--I want to experience this sleeve! Carla
5/1/08 0:22 AM
jlg said...
Very cute. I hadn't seen this pattern. Must buy it now.
5/1/08 5:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review and I think KS is becoming more fashion forward. After determining my best fit with KS, I have good success. It looks like you did as well. Cute jacket.
5/1/08 6:56 AM
ITAdmin said...
Good job on a beautiful jacket. And the "other" pattern companies do have styles that are worth a look.
5/1/08 7:25 AM
JMarie1962 said...
WAY cute jacket and I'm so glad you've written a review. I spotted this pattern and thought "Hm looks cute!" And you're right, Kwik Sew is coming out with some more fashionable patterns these days. Thanks for sharing!
5/1/08 12:15 PM
KathleenS said...
So true about Kwiksew. Their instructions are always "no tears". Even when you have your doubts about whether it will work, if you go ahead it turns out beautifully. I think it would be a great new rating system. Cute jacket.
5/2/08 7:59 AM
AquariJenn said...
I have also rediscovered the joy of Kwik Sew patterns. Definitely no tears! Your jacket is beautiful and well made. Enjoy it!
5/2/08 2:40 PM
Marji said...
Your enthusiasm for this project really comes through your review. I'm so happy for you that this silk jacket has proven to be such a positive experience. And, you've got a great looking jacket! Good to know too, about the sleeve.
5/2/08 10:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
First of all, Cindy, stunning photo! And whoever chose the color for you are geniuses; it's stunning. I love raw silk and your jacket is the perfect foil for its beauty. It's elegant and chic. You've done beautiful work here, and I hope you'll make another; it's so flattering to you. Very lovely, Lily
5/4/08 6:54 PM
Debra H said...
I have this on my list and was hoping someone would do a good review. Yours is so helpful. Love your jacket. I also wonder why they cut that back piece on bias.
5/5/08 0:08 AM
EveS said...
What a great jacket...and a GORGEOUS color on you!!! Just love the whole thing. Thanks for the really insightful review, too! :)
5/9/08 9:44 PM
marvajean said...
I bought this pattern because it was the most similiar to a jacket I saw at Jcpenney by Bijou Bijou... I agree with the back being cut on straight of grain...I also agree that the lapel is quite different from any other I have seen instructions for...I usually stay away from lapels because I just can't get htem professional looking. Can't wait to get started
1/23/09 5:00 PM
Deepika said...
Thank god someone reviewed a KS jacket. And I like your "no tear" rating. I see what you mean by it. I too like Kwik Sew but lately it seems nobody is sewing them. Thanks for reviving it. I love the color you chose for your jacket. Spring is here. Almost....
1/23/09 7:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3659
photo
Review by KWNightwin... on 7/3/12
Read Review

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)
Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4877
photo
Review by Sweetiebop on 4/23/08
Read Review

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6808 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6808 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us