SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2064 (Donna Karan Wrap Top)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1756 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/08 11:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great review. Both versions are very flattering.
5/2/08 12:13 PM
frame said...
"amortizing pattern cost" - LOL. Great review. I like your idea for the neckline elastic. Both garments look very nice.
5/2/08 12:29 PM
fuzzygalore said...
How could you have fashion gravitas when you're older if you don't start practicing when you're young :-)? You're doing better than that here, I really really love it! But you're scaring the hell out of me with the one hook and eye though - can't you add a button, velcro, something?? You have better luck than me if you've worn this and stayed dressed all day.
5/2/08 12:44 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I bought this pattern way before I should have been buying patterns like this, but I might be ready to make it up now. Thanks for the very detailed review. It looks great on you!
5/2/08 12:46 PM
DorothyK said...
Both pieces are fantastic. You have inspired me to make this pattern, and when I do, I'll keep your review right in front of me for reference. Thanks for a great review.
5/2/08 1:14 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is lovely, I think I will get this pattern, I usually feel cold until summer so this top would work fine for me, or it may take ages to make for me anyway it could be autumn when I finish it:) I love the look of blue top and black denim, thanks for the review.
5/2/08 1:48 PM
Leora said...
You nicely turned this pattern into a dress. I'm pondering your hook and eye comment. Hummm. I like both versions very much!
5/2/08 2:34 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review, providing lots of guidance. Both your top and dress (great idea to extend for a dress) are stylish with just the right touch of attitude. You always design your pieces with panache and your fashion future is assured. Lovely, Lily
5/2/08 3:22 PM
Karen6790 said...
Great dress, thanks for all the detail in the review. I'd be worried about that one hook, too, because thatís definitely the luck I have. I'm a big fan of the two-looks-from-one-pattern theory myself, and I love both of these, though I have a soft spot for the peacock feathers.
5/2/08 3:32 PM
ggexpansive said...
hi, i am so happy to see your dress! what a great idea. i just made this pattern and am a newbe to sewing so i wish i had seen your review before i started sewing arrr so i could have tried the elastic with twin needle. i also love your fabric.
5/2/08 3:57 PM
MissCelie said...
Yep. If I recall, I named this the 'sheet dress'. Yes, yes, yes, it's very cute. I especially like the print. Nice work.
5/2/08 4:39 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oh, baby! You rocked that one. Seriously. I love both of them! Can't decide which I like better, either. You *needed* both of these!
5/2/08 5:12 PM
Twinset said...
What a great idea to turn this top into a dress! Looks really nice on you and your wedges complete the look! Congrats!
5/2/08 5:40 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I like both versions on you. The blue glasses are a nice touch. Keep a safety pin your bag when you wear these in case that hook gives out!
5/2/08 5:57 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fabulous work, Nicegirl! I love what you've done in making the top into a dress. Great idea! You look really good in both the top and the dress. It's definitely a very flattering design.
5/2/08 7:32 PM
KathleenS said...
I think it's already winter here. So cold! Thanks for remembering us. Anyway, I think the pattern's very successful in the print, and as a dress. I'm not sure about the plain, but that's just my opinion.
5/2/08 8:27 PM
Barbara V said...
Both top and dress/ solid and print look great on you. It is interesting how the asymmetrical style stands out so much more on the solid fabric. Great review!
5/2/08 11:20 PM
lynda828 said...
Thanks for the review I love all the pictures it really helps to actually see different ideas and techniques - you've done a beautiful job and yes it's one we Aussies could wear right now can't wait for summer.
5/2/08 11:25 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great, detailed review. I've always liked this pattern and while I love both your versions, turning it into a dress is fantastically creative - I love it!
5/3/08 0:22 AM
Athene said...
Very informative review. Both the dress and the top look fabulous on you, but I just love the look of the blue top and blue glasses.
5/3/08 0:24 AM
JenniferBee said...
Thank you for your review. I have made this pattern twice for my DD (33yrs) which she loves, I'll show her your dress version which I'm sure she will want me to make as well. Once again thank your for thinking outside the square!
5/3/08 0:42 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! Excellent job!!!! You are an excellent seamstress!!!!
5/3/08 10:17 AM
carnelian said...
I confess that my own unused copy is way older than yours was. Your blue version is great but your peacock version is astounding!
5/4/08 4:21 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I've got this pattern too! I just couldn't resist it. Such an interesting design. I love the dress too.
5/4/08 11:19 PM
Blooms said...
I love the dress version! This pattern has sat on my shelf for a few years now as well. Your dress version is definitely the way to go.
5/7/08 7:57 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I'm braving this pattern in a stripe pattern, so I read your review with interest, because its the only one done with a pattern. I love your version made into a dress too!
10/11/09 8:37 AM
cindyann said...
I just pulled this pattern out and I'm considering it for some at home wear. Your review was really helpful ,especially since I'm a shortie too.
2/5/10 1:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Folkwear 240

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now