Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1029 (Michael Kors) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 924 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Marita Kinnula
photo
About Marita Kinnulastar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 16
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/08 8:52 AM
Last Updated:5/3/08 11:34 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maychi said...
Wonderful dress, Marita! It's nice (and, unfortunately, rare) when garments fit straight out of the envelope.
5/3/08 11:05 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Gorgeous dress Marita, fits her beautifully, tres chic !
5/3/08 11:31 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Adorable!! And to think we all turned up our noses at that pattern! We were wrong, your daughter looks terrific!
5/3/08 11:50 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
I'm with ConnieBJ - I thought this would look awful on a real person, but it looks fabulous on your DD! Just gorgeous!
5/3/08 11:57 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Connie, I have to admit that I had my reservations about it too, but DD kept talkin' of it all the time so I thought, why not, let's see how it comes out. Thank you ladies for the lovely comments.
5/3/08 12:00 PM
Kay Y said...
Wow! Your DD is the perfect model for this incredible dress.
5/3/08 12:03 PM
Irene said...
Stunning! Your DD has lovely taste and a great sense of what she can wear with pizzaz!
5/3/08 12:06 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Oh wow! this turned out wonderfully! The picture on the cover of the envelope is not flattering, but your daughter looks great! Great job! i'm glad that you made this up.
5/3/08 12:13 PM
Twinset said...
Va va voom! This is a hot red dress! Fantastic! Wonderful on your DD.
5/3/08 12:51 PM
cabinbaby said...
It's the butt-runch dress!! I've been waiting for this to be reviewed! It looks perfect on her. Thank you for tackling this dress and showing us how beautiful it can be!
5/3/08 1:26 PM
Karen6790 said...
This looks SO much better than I expected from the pattern envelope. I'm still not giving Michael Kors points on this one - I think it's the combination of sewist and model here that make it such a great dress. Love the color.
5/3/08 9:02 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Talk about a perfect fit! Beautiful job!
5/4/08 0:13 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Absolutely to die for!!! This is one spectacular dress.
5/4/08 0:21 AM
Athene said...
The dress is beautiful. I have the pattern and was hoping someone would review it soon. Thank you so much for the review - it gives me encouragement.
5/4/08 4:01 AM
Clareew said...
Fabulous
5/4/08 5:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful red dress. You look stunning.
5/4/08 7:54 AM
mollyshark said...
I'm in the process of making this dress. Doing a mockup first with the real one to follow shortly. Definitely will be a wearable muslin, but not a formal a fabric. I'm a 36DD so my hesitation is on the top. About to try on muslin top before I deal with the skirt. If all goes well (meaning looks as good as yours) I'll post it. Yours is magnificent.
5/7/08 1:36 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
First of all, Ladies, thank you very much for all the lovely comments<3 Mollyshark, DD's measurements would've required a size 10, but since I well know how much ease there usually is in Vogue patterns I had no hesitation whatsoever in cutting the size six for her, she's a b-cup and the top part is a little loose, but not in a bad way, not a bad idea to make a mock-up. Marita
5/7/08 5:06 PM
mollyshark said...
I just tried on the 12 in my mockup with no type of FBA at all (how could I?). Fit perfectly. Stretchy material anyway and it doesn't look, well you know, in the slightest. May narrow the neck a tiny bit in the real thing since I have narrow shoulders, but it went together in a breeze. Will finish the skirt and start on the real thing.
5/7/08 7:05 PM
LizzM26 said...
Wow! Stunning!
10/20/08 5:15 PM
SouzanA said...
Wow! Gorgeous! I think the longer length actually makes it look better -- more elegant. Thank you for the review.
2/24/09 5:57 PM
AnneM said...
I loved this dress from when I 1st saw the pattern & I regret not getting getting it! Love your version.
2/10/11 5:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 4378
photo
Review by CypGrl on 7/18/08
Read Review

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Jenny Shirt Jenny Shirt
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 9/29/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6425 Pattern
New Look 6425 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us