SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1029 (Michael Kors)

3 more reviews
Viewed 929 times 
Reviewed by:Marita Kinnula
photo

 
 
About Marita Kinnulastar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 16
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/08 8:52 AM
Last Updated:5/3/08 11:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maychi said...
Wonderful dress, Marita! It's nice (and, unfortunately, rare) when garments fit straight out of the envelope.
5/3/08 11:05 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Gorgeous dress Marita, fits her beautifully, tres chic !
5/3/08 11:31 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Adorable!! And to think we all turned up our noses at that pattern! We were wrong, your daughter looks terrific!
5/3/08 11:50 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
I'm with ConnieBJ - I thought this would look awful on a real person, but it looks fabulous on your DD! Just gorgeous!
5/3/08 11:57 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Connie, I have to admit that I had my reservations about it too, but DD kept talkin' of it all the time so I thought, why not, let's see how it comes out. Thank you ladies for the lovely comments.
5/3/08 12:00 PM
Kay Y said...
Wow! Your DD is the perfect model for this incredible dress.
5/3/08 12:03 PM
Irene said...
Stunning! Your DD has lovely taste and a great sense of what she can wear with pizzaz!
5/3/08 12:06 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Oh wow! this turned out wonderfully! The picture on the cover of the envelope is not flattering, but your daughter looks great! Great job! i'm glad that you made this up.
5/3/08 12:13 PM
Twinset said...
Va va voom! This is a hot red dress! Fantastic! Wonderful on your DD.
5/3/08 12:51 PM
cabinbaby said...
It's the butt-runch dress!! I've been waiting for this to be reviewed! It looks perfect on her. Thank you for tackling this dress and showing us how beautiful it can be!
5/3/08 1:26 PM
Karen6790 said...
This looks SO much better than I expected from the pattern envelope. I'm still not giving Michael Kors points on this one - I think it's the combination of sewist and model here that make it such a great dress. Love the color.
5/3/08 9:02 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Talk about a perfect fit! Beautiful job!
5/4/08 0:13 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Absolutely to die for!!! This is one spectacular dress.
5/4/08 0:21 AM
Athene said...
The dress is beautiful. I have the pattern and was hoping someone would review it soon. Thank you so much for the review - it gives me encouragement.
5/4/08 4:01 AM
Clareew said...
Fabulous
5/4/08 5:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful red dress. You look stunning.
5/4/08 7:54 AM
mollyshark said...
I'm in the process of making this dress. Doing a mockup first with the real one to follow shortly. Definitely will be a wearable muslin, but not a formal a fabric. I'm a 36DD so my hesitation is on the top. About to try on muslin top before I deal with the skirt. If all goes well (meaning looks as good as yours) I'll post it. Yours is magnificent.
5/7/08 1:36 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
First of all, Ladies, thank you very much for all the lovely comments<3 Mollyshark, DD's measurements would've required a size 10, but since I well know how much ease there usually is in Vogue patterns I had no hesitation whatsoever in cutting the size six for her, she's a b-cup and the top part is a little loose, but not in a bad way, not a bad idea to make a mock-up. Marita
5/7/08 5:06 PM
mollyshark said...
I just tried on the 12 in my mockup with no type of FBA at all (how could I?). Fit perfectly. Stretchy material anyway and it doesn't look, well you know, in the slightest. May narrow the neck a tiny bit in the real thing since I have narrow shoulders, but it went together in a breeze. Will finish the skirt and start on the real thing.
5/7/08 7:05 PM
LizzM26 said...
Wow! Stunning!
10/20/08 5:15 PM
SouzanA said...
Wow! Gorgeous! I think the longer length actually makes it look better -- more elegant. Thank you for the review.
2/24/09 5:57 PM
AnneM said...
I loved this dress from when I 1st saw the pattern & I regret not getting getting it! Love your version.
2/10/11 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 2980

photo
by: moonshae

Review
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Jean Hardy 875

photo
by: SewRuth

Review