Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Cadran de la Mode B-2002 (boxer shorts) - Type:Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 1408 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/03 11:44 PM
Last Updated:6/25/03 1:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
They look elegant! Let us know how shorts without elastic fit.
6/17/03 0:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lookin' good. They do look nicely finished and so crisp. Tell us what the mr. says.
6/17/03 1:16 AM
Pam Z said...
I think some OP (Ocean Pacific) swimsuits my DS wore in the 80's were this yoked style, however; the seat was fitted. Your boxers look great!
6/17/03 2:57 AM
gerri said...
good looking boxers. I thought they would be nice for girl use. Nice comfortable shorts to hang around the house, or in the yard. Or if brave in the street. I don't wear shorts.
6/17/03 11:15 AM
Gigi Louis said...
These are great, Georgene! I'm sure he will love them. How fun to be able to use a vintage pattern.
6/17/03 12:01 PM
Ann C said...
You take on such interesting projects. Neat.
6/17/03 2:13 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Tres Chic! Love the buttons and the elegant fabric. Bet hubby feels like a sophisticated European aristocrat in those fine knickers. Can't wait to hear his review.
6/17/03 2:46 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Good job Georgene. I noticed the pattern envelope refers to these as "Americain," which is kind of funny since they're so European to our eyes.
6/17/03 8:45 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Georgene, I've seen boxers like these in the Vermont Country Store catalog. Their version had adjustment at the back with tabs and buttons: http://www.vermontcountrystore.com/prdSell.asp?ProdGroupID=13300&flgCookiesEnabled=FALSE&mode=7
6/17/03 9:43 PM
Georgene said...
Yes the tabs and button back is the way the Simplicity #1960 is made. I didn't have the courage to figure that out, so just followed the pattern on these. Maybe the next pair!
6/17/03 10:42 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Glad your DH is so enthusiastic about them. The tabs in the VT Country Store picture look like they're constructed on the same principle as wrap skirts, with a "buttonhole slit" in the waistband to allow the under tab to come through. But don't you think that buttons at the waist back would be kind of uncomfortable when your DH is sitting back in a chair? I would think that they'd poke into his back and drive him crazy. And then there's the fold of extra fabric if the tabs are buttoned to their outer limits. Looks like wedgy material to me!
6/25/03 7:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Georgene, those are really handsome boxers. You were very wise to grab up that pattern when you found it in Paris. Somehow, I don't think I'll have the same good fortune at the local Goodwill store...
6/26/03 9:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 7942
photo
Review by lamstu on 9/2/09
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5144
photo
Review by mamakooz on 7/15/04
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us