SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Other> Cadran de la Mode B-2002 (boxer shorts)

Viewed 1408 times 
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/03 11:44 PM
Last Updated:6/25/03 1:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said... (6/26/03 9:25 AM) Reply
Georgene, those are really handsome boxers. You were very wise to grab up that pattern when you found it in Paris. Somehow, I don't think I'll have the same good fortune at the local Goodwill store...
Debbie Lancaster said... (6/25/03 7:33 PM) Reply
Glad your DH is so enthusiastic about them. The tabs in the VT Country Store picture look like they're constructed on the same principle as wrap skirts, with a "buttonhole slit" in the waistband to allow the under tab to come through. But don't you think that buttons at the waist back would be kind of uncomfortable when your DH is sitting back in a chair? I would think that they'd poke into his back and drive him crazy. And then there's the fold of extra fabric if the tabs are buttoned to their outer limits. Looks like wedgy material to me!
Georgene said... (6/17/03 10:42 PM) Reply
Yes the tabs and button back is the way the Simplicity #1960 is made. I didn't have the courage to figure that out, so just followed the pattern on these. Maybe the next pair!
Debbie Lancaster said... (6/17/03 9:43 PM) Reply
Georgene, I've seen boxers like these in the Vermont Country Store catalog. Their version had adjustment at the back with tabs and buttons: http://www.vermontcountrystore.com/prdSell.asp?ProdGroupID=13300&flgCookiesEnabled=FALSE&mode=7
NancyDaQ said... (6/17/03 8:45 PM) Reply
Good job Georgene. I noticed the pattern envelope refers to these as "Americain," which is kind of funny since they're so European to our eyes.
Leslie in Austin said... (6/17/03 2:46 PM) Reply
Tres Chic! Love the buttons and the elegant fabric. Bet hubby feels like a sophisticated European aristocrat in those fine knickers. Can't wait to hear his review.
Ann C said... (6/17/03 2:13 PM) Reply
You take on such interesting projects. Neat.
Gigi Louis said... (6/17/03 12:01 PM) Reply
These are great, Georgene! I'm sure he will love them. How fun to be able to use a vintage pattern.
gerri said... (6/17/03 11:15 AM) Reply
good looking boxers. I thought they would be nice for girl use. Nice comfortable shorts to hang around the house, or in the yard. Or if brave in the street. I don't wear shorts.
Pam Z said... (6/17/03 2:57 AM) Reply
I think some OP (Ocean Pacific) swimsuits my DS wore in the 80's were this yoked style, however; the seat was fitted. Your boxers look great!
MaryBeth said... (6/17/03 1:16 AM) Reply
Lookin' good. They do look nicely finished and so crisp. Tell us what the mr. says.
CatherineN said... (6/17/03 0:15 AM) Reply
They look elegant! Let us know how shorts without elastic fit.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern Haltertop Hussy

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Serendipity Studio 94

photo
by: amandajewl...

Review