SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> Cadran de la Mode B-2002 (boxer shorts)

Viewed 1408 times 
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/03 11:44 PM
Last Updated:6/25/03 1:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
They look elegant! Let us know how shorts without elastic fit.
6/17/03 0:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lookin' good. They do look nicely finished and so crisp. Tell us what the mr. says.
6/17/03 1:16 AM
Pam Z said...
I think some OP (Ocean Pacific) swimsuits my DS wore in the 80's were this yoked style, however; the seat was fitted. Your boxers look great!
6/17/03 2:57 AM
gerri said...
good looking boxers. I thought they would be nice for girl use. Nice comfortable shorts to hang around the house, or in the yard. Or if brave in the street. I don't wear shorts.
6/17/03 11:15 AM
Gigi Louis said...
These are great, Georgene! I'm sure he will love them. How fun to be able to use a vintage pattern.
6/17/03 12:01 PM
Ann C said...
You take on such interesting projects. Neat.
6/17/03 2:13 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Tres Chic! Love the buttons and the elegant fabric. Bet hubby feels like a sophisticated European aristocrat in those fine knickers. Can't wait to hear his review.
6/17/03 2:46 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Good job Georgene. I noticed the pattern envelope refers to these as "Americain," which is kind of funny since they're so European to our eyes.
6/17/03 8:45 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Georgene, I've seen boxers like these in the Vermont Country Store catalog. Their version had adjustment at the back with tabs and buttons: http://www.vermontcountrystore.com/prdSell.asp?ProdGroupID=13300&flgCookiesEnabled=FALSE&mode=7
6/17/03 9:43 PM
Georgene said...
Yes the tabs and button back is the way the Simplicity #1960 is made. I didn't have the courage to figure that out, so just followed the pattern on these. Maybe the next pair!
6/17/03 10:42 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Glad your DH is so enthusiastic about them. The tabs in the VT Country Store picture look like they're constructed on the same principle as wrap skirts, with a "buttonhole slit" in the waistband to allow the under tab to come through. But don't you think that buttons at the waist back would be kind of uncomfortable when your DH is sitting back in a chair? I would think that they'd poke into his back and drive him crazy. And then there's the fold of extra fabric if the tabs are buttoned to their outer limits. Looks like wedgy material to me!
6/25/03 7:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Georgene, those are really handsome boxers. You were very wise to grab up that pattern when you found it in Paris. Somehow, I don't think I'll have the same good fortune at the local Goodwill store...
6/26/03 9:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6115

photo
by: Vonnevo

Review
McCall's 6361

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now