Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5876 thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1024 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:petra
photo
Friend of PR
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/08 8:10 PM
Last Updated:5/4/08 8:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Lovely! I adore the fabric down the back.
5/4/08 8:41 PM
cindy-lou said...
Petra, it's beautiful!
5/4/08 8:57 PM
Gelbean said...
WOW! Fabulous dress.
5/4/08 10:06 PM
Peacock Chic said...
you don't have to even tell us what others will say because we already know. "OMG that dress is gorgeous. Are you a celebrity!!!" Be prepared to sign some autographs :O)
5/4/08 10:51 PM
Annette1 said...
This is REALLY, REALLY pretty. First of all, the style is so perfectly suited for your slim figure. The color combination is lovely, so pretty and not over the top. I was HOPING it was brown with the teal, and sure enough, it was! Your BEADING is just exquisite. You'll be the best-looking peacock at the ball, I can tell you that!
5/4/08 11:54 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is breathtaking, love the ruffled gore and color combination, "the peacock dress"! that's exactly what I think of this ( I love peacock and its colors), gorgeous!
5/5/08 5:28 AM
bananaoil said...
This is so flattering on you and it looks as though it's comfortable, something I don't usually associate with formal wear. Have a nice time at the event.
5/5/08 6:21 AM
bananaoil said...
This is so flattering on you and it looks as though it's comfortable, something I don't usually associate with formal wear. Have a nice time at the event.
5/5/08 6:21 AM
cindyann said...
That is really beautiful.
5/5/08 7:45 AM
carolynw said...
If they don't give you a ton of compliments I would be mighty surprised - it is beautiful
5/5/08 9:05 AM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful! I love the back!
5/5/08 12:25 PM
meli88a said...
I love the peacock, and the flounces in the back!
5/5/08 12:35 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Really, really gorgeous - you'll be the belle of the ball. The color choices are fantastic, and the bead embroidery turns this into something truly special. Excellent work!
5/5/08 12:43 PM
Beek said...
Exquisite dress. The color and design are so flattering on you.
5/5/08 1:10 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I'm amazed that your kids call it your 'peacock' gown b/c that was exactly my first instinct - and I mean that in only the most flattering of analogies! You are a virtual VISION in this elegant little masterpiece. Any real peacocks in the area will be hiding in shame for being outshone by you, Petra. Stunning, Lily
5/5/08 2:36 PM
EveS said...
Very, very pretty! I just love a dress that gets their attention as you're walking away!
5/6/08 1:02 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow this is gorgeous!! I love your colour and fabric choice and that embroidery is just lovely. You're going to be the star of the ball in this!
5/6/08 3:25 AM
kellyz said...
I need this pattern for my wedding dress...where did you find or could you give me some tips on how it was made. My seamstress was wanting to know how much yardage it took to make the ruffles and whether they were cut in straight strips or curved strips...any insight? Desperately, Kellyz
5/21/08 1:02 PM
petra said...
Kelly, I think that the flounce took about 2 yds, they are curved not straight. I bought the pattern off Ebay, so try searching there. It would make a great basis for a wedding dress.
5/22/08 5:23 AM
thimbledore said...
This is SO beautiful. I can't stop admiring it!
4/27/11 9:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Kwik Sew 2852 girl's unitard
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 2/27/11
Read Review

McCalls 6049 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6049 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse New York Dress
Loes Hinse New York Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

EvaDress SE30-6690
photo
Review by DoggyGirl on 12/22/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us