SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> Nigella Yoga Bag (Nigella Yoga Bag (Freebie))

7 more reviews
Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:Yakityak
photo

 
 
About Yakityakstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/16/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/6/08 1:06 AM
Last Updated:5/6/08 1:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Nice bag!
5/6/08 8:26 AM
SewFar said...
Thanks for the useful review and 'lead' on a downloadable yoga bag pattern. Love your version and your anecdote!
5/6/08 11:56 AM
wvsher said...
lol Nice yoga bag! Thanks for the informative review!
5/6/08 11:57 AM
Deepika said...
While this is a great yoga mat, take a look at SewingSkater's Yoga Mat Bag if you want to address the issues you had with this pattern. I've made a bag for my MIL using her pattern and it was really easy and very practical.
5/6/08 3:29 PM
MichelleJ said...
Great review - thanks. (and I loved your story, too.) Question - do you think the lining is essential?
5/7/08 9:27 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Great yoga-in' bag and great comment by your DH. Altogether a wonderful review, full of important information. It's a stinker that it's an inch too short but that shouldn't hold you back one bit. Lovely, Lily
5/8/08 11:54 AM
Yakityak said...
Thanks for the kudos everyone. As for the necessity of the lining... I guess it's not necessary as long as the material you use is sturdy enough. That said, I hate exposed seams so I'd use the lining for that purpose alone. But probably the more compelling reason to do a lining is that it frees you up to use whatever fabric you want - because you can interface if using a lighter weight. Without a lining you would probably be stuck using upholstery weight/canvas because the weight of the mat would wear too heavily on the single layer of lighter material at the strap junctions.
5/9/08 1:20 AM
xclu said...
Thanks for the great review! I am getting ready to make this and the information is very helpful. Also, thanks for the laugh... I have had a very stressful day and now I don't have to relax via yoga as your review made me laugh out loud... I needed that!
1/19/10 7:46 PM
tbad said...
Thanks for the tips, I am about to start the bag. Only my third sewing project and will be second Amy Butler bag. The first bag (birdie sling) went well so I thought I would give this one a try. Not sure of the fabric I plan to use at this point though I plan to add the extra inch.
4/4/11 3:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

brerrabbit.com Microcrafts - Mini-dog

photo
by: duckbucket

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

Buy Now