SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> Nigella Yoga Bag (Nigella Yoga Bag (Freebie))

7 more reviews
Viewed 471 times 
Reviewed by:Yakityak
photo

 
 
About Yakityakstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/16/03
Reviews: 64 (patterns: 57)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/6/08 1:06 AM
Last Updated:5/6/08 1:06 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tbad said... (4/4/11 3:26 PM) Reply
Thanks for the tips, I am about to start the bag. Only my third sewing project and will be second Amy Butler bag. The first bag (birdie sling) went well so I thought I would give this one a try. Not sure of the fabric I plan to use at this point though I plan to add the extra inch.
xclu said... (1/19/10 7:46 PM) Reply
Thanks for the great review! I am getting ready to make this and the information is very helpful. Also, thanks for the laugh... I have had a very stressful day and now I don't have to relax via yoga as your review made me laugh out loud... I needed that!
Yakityak said... (5/9/08 1:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for the kudos everyone. As for the necessity of the lining... I guess it's not necessary as long as the material you use is sturdy enough. That said, I hate exposed seams so I'd use the lining for that purpose alone. But probably the more compelling reason to do a lining is that it frees you up to use whatever fabric you want - because you can interface if using a lighter weight. Without a lining you would probably be stuck using upholstery weight/canvas because the weight of the mat would wear too heavily on the single layer of lighter material at the strap junctions.
lilyofthevalley said... (5/8/08 11:54 AM) Reply
Great yoga-in' bag and great comment by your DH. Altogether a wonderful review, full of important information. It's a stinker that it's an inch too short but that shouldn't hold you back one bit. Lovely, Lily
MichelleJ said... (5/7/08 9:27 AM) Reply
Great review - thanks. (and I loved your story, too.) Question - do you think the lining is essential?
Deepika said... (5/6/08 3:29 PM) Reply
While this is a great yoga mat, take a look at SewingSkater's Yoga Mat Bag if you want to address the issues you had with this pattern. I've made a bag for my MIL using her pattern and it was really easy and very practical.
wvsher said... (5/6/08 11:57 AM) Reply
lol Nice yoga bag! Thanks for the informative review!
SewFar said... (5/6/08 11:56 AM) Reply
Thanks for the useful review and 'lead' on a downloadable yoga bag pattern. Love your version and your anecdote!
Speech girl said... (5/6/08 8:26 AM) Reply
Nice bag!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Pattern Details
Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: smixter

Review