SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> Nigella Yoga Bag (Nigella Yoga Bag (Freebie))

7 more reviews
Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:Yakityak
photo

 
 
About Yakityakstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/16/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/6/08 1:06 AM
Last Updated:5/6/08 1:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tbad said...
Thanks for the tips, I am about to start the bag. Only my third sewing project and will be second Amy Butler bag. The first bag (birdie sling) went well so I thought I would give this one a try. Not sure of the fabric I plan to use at this point though I plan to add the extra inch.
4/4/11 3:26 PM
xclu said...
Thanks for the great review! I am getting ready to make this and the information is very helpful. Also, thanks for the laugh... I have had a very stressful day and now I don't have to relax via yoga as your review made me laugh out loud... I needed that!
1/19/10 7:46 PM
Yakityak said...
Thanks for the kudos everyone. As for the necessity of the lining... I guess it's not necessary as long as the material you use is sturdy enough. That said, I hate exposed seams so I'd use the lining for that purpose alone. But probably the more compelling reason to do a lining is that it frees you up to use whatever fabric you want - because you can interface if using a lighter weight. Without a lining you would probably be stuck using upholstery weight/canvas because the weight of the mat would wear too heavily on the single layer of lighter material at the strap junctions.
5/9/08 1:20 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Great yoga-in' bag and great comment by your DH. Altogether a wonderful review, full of important information. It's a stinker that it's an inch too short but that shouldn't hold you back one bit. Lovely, Lily
5/8/08 11:54 AM
MichelleJ said...
Great review - thanks. (and I loved your story, too.) Question - do you think the lining is essential?
5/7/08 9:27 AM
Deepika said...
While this is a great yoga mat, take a look at SewingSkater's Yoga Mat Bag if you want to address the issues you had with this pattern. I've made a bag for my MIL using her pattern and it was really easy and very practical.
5/6/08 3:29 PM
wvsher said...
lol Nice yoga bag! Thanks for the informative review!
5/6/08 11:57 AM
SewFar said...
Thanks for the useful review and 'lead' on a downloadable yoga bag pattern. Love your version and your anecdote!
5/6/08 11:56 AM
Speech girl said...
Nice bag!
5/6/08 8:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Oliver + S No-Tie Scarf

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
Other 2653

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

More Info
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

More Info