Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
KnipMode Magazine: 04-2008-13 (Twist top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 731 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/08 8:26 AM
Last Updated:12/17/08 6:34 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said...
Verry nice!!!!!
5/6/08 8:48 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I love how the rib knit adds dimension to the gathers and twist - stunning.
5/6/08 9:01 AM
sewing for fun said...
Great review and great looking top! Just got the magazine by mail and looking forward to sewing it. I will probably start with a sz 42 - that's my usual Burda WOF size... is that the same for you?
5/6/08 9:26 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great looking top - the color is beautiful on you! I love the style and the different take on the twist!
5/6/08 9:36 AM
LindsayT said...
Ooh, I like this on you very much! Love the scenic background.
5/6/08 9:43 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I like this twist better than "the original" - and it only took 2 hrs? Wow.
5/6/08 10:17 AM
squirrellypoo said...
sewing for fun - yes, I'm a 42 in BWOF and also in KnipMode. And Christina - yes, I actually looked at my watch for once! I started at 2pm and I was bugging my boy for a photoshoot just as it turned 4!
5/6/08 11:33 AM
Nancy K said...
I actually have this issue, and this is on my list to make! However, I swear that I am spatially challenged when it comes to twist tops and need help, which you have so kindly provided! I loved this top in the magazine and even more on you.
5/6/08 1:06 PM
Sew Confused said...
Great top and excellent review. I happen to be spatially challenged, so if I were to make this top (if I had the magazine, etc., etc.) your directions would be sooo helpful.
5/6/08 2:00 PM
Geordie Girl said...
Lovely top.
5/6/08 2:15 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely top squirrellypoo! It looks really nice on you.
5/6/08 10:35 PM
SusiM said...
Thanks so much for bringing this style to attention. It's looks great and it's refreshingly different. Nice review and details.
5/7/08 10:14 AM
nicegirl said...
Wow, I really love that one. I wonder if I will be able to find this Knipmode still in stores in Paris next week....
5/7/08 10:45 AM
Speech girl said...
I love your top. Thank you, thank you, thank you for the info on your site--I loved this in the magazine but wasn't sure I could figure it out.
5/7/08 5:42 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
How wonderful that you provided such excellent instructions on your site for this very beautiful twist top. I too like the uniqueness of the neckline and the graceful placement of the fabric folds. This is an altogether smashing knit top, and you look beautiful in it. Lovely, Lily
5/8/08 12:08 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful twist top. The blue looks really nice on you
5/8/08 7:00 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Just found your review and I love this top! Will have to try and chase down this issue.
11/17/08 0:34 AM
amy in mpls said...
very cute, and Im obsessed with purple lately, i cant seem to find JUST the Right hue! Love your top....so cute!
12/17/08 10:47 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I really like this version you've made - I think I might need to get the October edition of that magazine now.....
12/17/08 11:44 AM
Winifred said...
Wow ! This is stunning and the colour is gorgeous for you. I decided it would make my "girls" look like headlamps and then I saw about the plus size ! And I think your mum looks great in it too. I am heading in the direction of Naaipatronen.nl !! You are a total inspiration Melissa - I look forward to the wedding dress next year. Happy Xmas to you both Winifred x
12/18/08 6:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Lovely style and color on you! Thanks for a very nice review!
12/20/08 12:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Advance Pattern Company 6922
photo
Review by reethi on 5/31/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by carolynw on 7/17/06
Read Review

McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1683 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1683 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us