SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-104 (dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1184 times 
Reviewed by:mahalosu
photo

 
 
About mahalosustar
CA USA
Member since: 9/8/03
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/08 4:34 PM
Last Updated:5/6/08 4:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Needs More Info by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Fabulous dress - just got my BWOF yesterday and think I will try to make this one very soon.
5/21/08 9:19 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful dress, what a winner with that terrific striped fabric, gorgeous lines...aaah perfection :)
5/14/08 1:32 AM
Maychi said...
What a fantastic dress! I need to make this one. It's simply perfect!
5/11/08 10:21 AM
blue mooney said...
Fantastic results!! That really is the perfect fabric for this dress. Good for you for getting busy with this issue right away. I am disappointed that this style only goes up to a 42.....maybe this will be my first experiment grading up.
5/10/08 8:08 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
You are a woman of action; see the pattern; own the fabric; sew the dress. Just like that! Your fabric could not be more perfect for this dress, and I love what the design lines do to your stripes. Your dress is utterly slimming and deadly attractive. Lovely, Lily
5/8/08 12:26 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks SO much better than in the magazine. Great job.
5/8/08 11:43 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress! I just love this pattern.
5/8/08 8:24 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome dress, you're so darn quick!!
5/8/08 0:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
Actually, your dress is more enticing than Burdee's! That's it, you persuaded me to add this to my growing list of projects!
5/7/08 6:39 PM
mahalosu said...
Ann, obviously I didn't really read the instructions because I didn't even know a zipper was involved! No, because I used a knit I skipped the zipper. It doesn't seem necessary. Plus the one time I tried to put a zipper on a knit I ended up ripping it out 3 times. That lesson was enough for me.
5/7/08 5:26 PM
mahalosu said...
Ann, obviously I didn't really read the instructions because I didn't even know a zipper was involved! No, because I used a knit I skipped the zipper. It doesn't seem necessary. Plus the one time I tried to put a zipper on a knit I ended up ripping it out 3 times. That lesson was enough for me.
5/7/08 5:04 PM
Ann Smith said...

5/7/08 2:27 PM
Ann Smith said...
I no sooner look at this in the magazine but it appears on PR! How cool is that. Great dress. Question: did you use the invisible zip as instructed? or can you get away without it?
5/7/08 2:19 PM
mahalosu said...
Sorry I didn't mention the fabric I used. It is a knit, and I would only do this dress in a knit. Thanks for all the great comments!
5/7/08 1:21 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is beautiful!!! I got my BWOF a couple of days ago, and there are so many things I want to me---that dress being one.
5/7/08 12:35 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous dress - can't wait to see it on!
5/7/08 11:50 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful marriage of fabric and pattern - stars were indeed in alignment.
5/7/08 11:31 AM
SandraB said...
This dress is gorgeous! Now I can't wait to get my May issue so that I can make one of these for myself. Can you say what type of fabric you used? Knit or woven?
5/7/08 10:49 AM
nicegirl said...
You are a speed demon! I wasn't sure about this in the magazine but your version looks great. Can't wait to see it on you, and would love to see side and back views as well as I really can't work out what they look like.
5/7/08 10:40 AM
carolynw said...
How beautiful is this!!! WOW!!
5/7/08 8:57 AM
cindyann said...
Man, that was quick! The dress looks wonderful. There are so many great patterns in this issue, I had my eye on this dress. Thanks!
5/7/08 8:54 AM
Gold said...
wow !!I love it!Very very cute dress!!
5/7/08 7:21 AM
3kids1036 said...
I am so planning on sewing this as soon as I get my magazine! I LOVE this! You did a fantastic job!
5/7/08 7:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress and you were fast.
5/7/08 5:23 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fantastic dress! I haven't even got my copy by subscription yet, but I'll definitely have this at the top of my to do list! A wonderful project and choice of fabric, everything about it I love!
5/7/08 4:38 AM
Gelbean said...
I love this dress. I cut out the pattern for #103 last night (the shirt that is similar to this dress). I am hoping my top sews up as quickly as your dress. I think I'll also put this dress on my list of things to make. Thanks for the review.
5/7/08 3:06 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wow that was quick and Fabulous!!! I like the print with the belt buckle. Very nice.
5/7/08 1:39 AM
Sew Confused said...
Wow! Wow! Wow! You are fast! Your dress looks amazing, a perfect match of pattern and fabric. Well done! I can hardly wait to see you in it!
5/6/08 10:37 PM
Barbara V said...
I have been admiring this dress in the magazine for a couple of days. It's fun to see it suddently appear as a successful and beautiful project! Good Job!
5/6/08 9:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
PErfect dress to show off a stripe!
5/6/08 9:46 PM
EveS said...
DOH! You are speedy!!! And I am jealous. This is my fav out of this issue. I just can't wait to make this one! Thanks for confirming that it's a good one. Lovely choice of fabrics for the pattern, too!
5/6/08 9:39 PM
trinicity said...
OMG, okay, this is HOT
5/6/08 9:30 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Where oh where is my May magazine, your dress looks more fab than theirs, good to know it's easy too.
5/6/08 8:48 PM
AmyABQ said...
Very nice - I'm super impressed that you finished that in an afternoon
5/6/08 8:43 PM
Karen6790 said...
You are fast! I got my issue on Monday and I'm almost done #103, the top that's similar to this dress. I love the wrap and buckle on this one, and your fabric is fabulous.
5/6/08 8:22 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOO CUTE!!!! Great job!!! What a cool design!!!!!
5/6/08 8:21 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Gorgeous fabric, gorgeous dress, wish I had a waist .....!
5/6/08 8:17 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Now that was quick! Very nice!!
5/6/08 7:48 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oh, thank you! Beautiful dress in beautiful fabric! I have this fantastic black stretch with vertical gold stripe... I saw this dress and thought 'hmmmm..... ' but your review seals it. Beautifully done!
5/6/08 7:10 PM
mahalosu said...
I will post an updated picture on me when someone becomes available to take it!
5/6/08 7:00 PM
mahalosu said...
I will post an updated picture on me when someone becomes available to take it!
5/6/08 6:23 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thank you for reviewing this dres!!! This is one I really want to make. When do we get to see it on you?
5/6/08 6:19 PM
Izzie said...
Awesome dress! The fabric is perfect.
5/6/08 6:10 PM
Puppy said...
That's a "hot" dress"!
5/6/08 6:01 PM
So So said...
Wow , You have just possiably solved my dilemma- to sew or not to sew for my son's wedding- only thing stil waiting for my copy of this issue to reachmy newsagent. any day now and i will be making a muslin of this.Infact I think I might have the very fabric for a wearable muslin, how flattering using the stripes.Thanks I will now sleep tonight. Edit- Your version makes this dress BWOF version looks absolutley nothing. thanks again
5/6/08 5:58 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow! I can't believe you've finished this already--I just got my issue yesterday. Great choice of fabric--I like your version better than the one in the magazine!
5/6/08 5:37 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, you are quick. That is the perfect fabric and I like your buckle. Great job.
5/6/08 5:28 PM
squirrellypoo said...
It's lovely to see this made up already, wow! This one was the one that really stuck out for me in this issue, but mine hasn't even arrived yet!
5/6/08 5:07 PM
SueV said...
wow! perfect fabric and wonderful dress! I got my BWOF yesterday too, now to check out that pattern further! s
5/6/08 4:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Lekala Patterns 5788

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Tiffany Blouse

photo
by: clothingen...

Review