SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4856 (Fast & Easy Tunics)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1384 times 
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/08 11:11 PM
Last Updated:5/7/08 11:05 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful transformation using well thought out changes. It's always inspiring to see someone make a beautiful garment out of a seldom worn piece taking up space in the closet.
5/7/08 5:53 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful job on the tunic, it is beautiful and the band adds so much.
5/7/08 7:08 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Your reviews are always well-written, very helpful & FUN to read!! Bravo for the "transformation"!!
5/7/08 7:29 AM
carolynw said...
If anyone coould make a truly beautiful top out of a not so good pattern and re-cycled but totally beautiful material it would be you - I just love your tunic and you make me feel I should go get this pattern - but am I a "Mahler" - hmmm??
5/7/08 8:51 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty tunic, and it's nice that you were able to convert a dress you had a grudge against into a tunic that you like. Thanks for the informative review!
5/7/08 9:02 AM
SusiM said...
haha-funny story!! I love your top. It looks beautiful, and there's just something special about it now I feel..a..a je ne sais quoi. Thanks for the fun review.
5/7/08 10:26 AM
Twinset said...
Wow! Great idea to take a dress and transform it into a tunic, it's very 'earth-friendly'! Your tunic looks very well executed and you definitely have style and wit as a review writer, you are always fun to read!
5/7/08 11:37 AM
Em's Summer said...
The trim on the tunic really pops! It's a wonderful design element that kicks this up a notch for sure! Great work!
5/7/08 12:49 PM
Dei said...
What a lovely transformation. Wispy fabric that is now truly urban chic. Your detailing was worth the effort and your revenge complete. Next time you'll be ready for a "fete champetre". Well written review and well done.
5/7/08 1:41 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful recycling work, this flower pattern reminds me of my dress which belonged to my mother ( I love it so much so no plan for recycling it though ), this flower pattern looks very nostalgic but working very well with simple sharp line of tunic, lovely transformation.
5/7/08 3:26 PM
Puppy said...
Nice review. How fun to turn something you didn't care for, into something so pretty. I really like every detail of it. Tres bon travail!
5/7/08 4:14 PM
LindsayT said...
I like what you did with the band—much more RTW that way. BTW, I was just in Montreal and loved it. Great city. Go Habs!
5/7/08 4:51 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY PRETTY! It looks downright ethereal in that veil of a fabric. SO pretty and so nicely done!
5/7/08 4:54 PM
papago said...
Beautiful
5/7/08 5:40 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your rescued that fabric beautifully. I really like the fabric for your tunic. Nice choice and good work getting a less than stellar pattern working and the trim will be very nice when it plucks out.
5/7/08 5:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a delectable and delightful top! Great print and details! Very nice!
5/7/08 6:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Being a kid of an ex-beatnik, myself, I can appreciate the exact look you were working toward, and you have attained your goal absolutely beautifully! Your tunic, its fit and its details are just heavenly. Your design eye, as usual, is performing flawlessly. I can't wait to see your black linen w/geisha fabric version, too. Truly gorgeous, Lily
5/8/08 1:25 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
This is such a lovely top. Very elegant
7/13/08 1:33 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful top! I love it!
12/3/08 1:33 PM
Vintage Joan said...
SO, SO beautiful!! :)
3/10/09 5:58 PM
Laura Jean said...
This is a really helpful review, thanks! I'm going to make this tunic this weekend so I'll be sure to use your tips!
5/20/09 0:21 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely top. Well done. The floral fabric is an unusual choice but the result is a triumph.
4/28/13 6:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 6505

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Kilt

photo
by: craigrama

Review