Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4856 (Fast & Easy Tunics) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1379 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/08 11:11 PM
Last Updated:5/7/08 11:05 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful transformation using well thought out changes. It's always inspiring to see someone make a beautiful garment out of a seldom worn piece taking up space in the closet.
5/7/08 5:53 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful job on the tunic, it is beautiful and the band adds so much.
5/7/08 7:08 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Your reviews are always well-written, very helpful & FUN to read!! Bravo for the "transformation"!!
5/7/08 7:29 AM
carolynw said...
If anyone coould make a truly beautiful top out of a not so good pattern and re-cycled but totally beautiful material it would be you - I just love your tunic and you make me feel I should go get this pattern - but am I a "Mahler" - hmmm??
5/7/08 8:51 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty tunic, and it's nice that you were able to convert a dress you had a grudge against into a tunic that you like. Thanks for the informative review!
5/7/08 9:02 AM
SusiM said...
haha-funny story!! I love your top. It looks beautiful, and there's just something special about it now I feel..a..a je ne sais quoi. Thanks for the fun review.
5/7/08 10:26 AM
Twinset said...
Wow! Great idea to take a dress and transform it into a tunic, it's very 'earth-friendly'! Your tunic looks very well executed and you definitely have style and wit as a review writer, you are always fun to read!
5/7/08 11:37 AM
Em's Summer said...
The trim on the tunic really pops! It's a wonderful design element that kicks this up a notch for sure! Great work!
5/7/08 12:49 PM
Dei said...
What a lovely transformation. Wispy fabric that is now truly urban chic. Your detailing was worth the effort and your revenge complete. Next time you'll be ready for a "fete champetre". Well written review and well done.
5/7/08 1:41 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful recycling work, this flower pattern reminds me of my dress which belonged to my mother ( I love it so much so no plan for recycling it though ), this flower pattern looks very nostalgic but working very well with simple sharp line of tunic, lovely transformation.
5/7/08 3:26 PM
Puppy said...
Nice review. How fun to turn something you didn't care for, into something so pretty. I really like every detail of it. Tres bon travail!
5/7/08 4:14 PM
LindsayT said...
I like what you did with the band—much more RTW that way. BTW, I was just in Montreal and loved it. Great city. Go Habs!
5/7/08 4:51 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY PRETTY! It looks downright ethereal in that veil of a fabric. SO pretty and so nicely done!
5/7/08 4:54 PM
papago said...
Beautiful
5/7/08 5:40 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your rescued that fabric beautifully. I really like the fabric for your tunic. Nice choice and good work getting a less than stellar pattern working and the trim will be very nice when it plucks out.
5/7/08 5:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a delectable and delightful top! Great print and details! Very nice!
5/7/08 6:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Being a kid of an ex-beatnik, myself, I can appreciate the exact look you were working toward, and you have attained your goal absolutely beautifully! Your tunic, its fit and its details are just heavenly. Your design eye, as usual, is performing flawlessly. I can't wait to see your black linen w/geisha fabric version, too. Truly gorgeous, Lily
5/8/08 1:25 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
This is such a lovely top. Very elegant
7/13/08 1:33 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful top! I love it!
12/3/08 1:33 PM
Vintage Joan said...
SO, SO beautiful!! :)
3/10/09 5:58 PM
Laura Jean said...
This is a really helpful review, thanks! I'm going to make this tunic this weekend so I'll be sure to use your tips!
5/20/09 0:21 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely top. Well done. The floral fabric is an unusual choice but the result is a triumph.
4/28/13 6:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2006-115 Wrap Dress
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 6/28/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver   S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2934
photo
Review by Deepika on 1/25/02
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3883 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3883 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us