Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2899 (Plus Size Jacket Proj Runway) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1291 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/08 3:33 PM
Last Updated:5/24/08 11:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
This is really very nice - I'm envious because it doesn't come in my size. Thank you for the informative review. I too dislike how Simplicity indicates fabric requirements for Project Runway patterns.
5/8/08 3:47 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Simplicity is on sale TODAY at JoAnn - I bought this pattern on my lunch break. Your jacket turned out so very nice and the sleeve detail is great.
5/8/08 4:22 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks a ton for a timely review! I just picked this pattern up at lunch at JoAnn's. (I figure the 18 will be a bit wide in the upper back/shoulders, but hey, I can wear it over a sweater then, right?) I love how your version of this came out!
5/8/08 5:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great jacket. The pattern gives lots of places to alter and that makes it nice since I have to alter in lots of places. Thanks for getting it done so fast. It's on my list for fall. Full disclosure, LOL.
5/8/08 9:05 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review, Debbie. The jacket is a winner and the color is great. I'm glad to see that you honored the full disclosure rule and confessed to the misplaced seam.
5/8/08 10:32 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic jacket and as I keep saying, not fair that it doesn't come in smaller sizes! Yours is lovely and I want one for myself.
5/8/08 10:48 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Really nice looking jacket. You did a beautiful job and have written a great review too! Hopefully, Simplicity will release this in the smaller sizes soon - it's a winner!
5/9/08 0:55 AM
Annette1 said...
What a great review, Debbie, chock full of useful tips and info. How did you know I wouldn't notice the small print in the instructions (or even the insructions, period)? :o) Your jacket is so CLASSY in that beautiful taupe color (one of my favorites), and I REALLY like it with that skirt!
5/9/08 3:09 AM
Roxxygrl said...
I really need a jacket like that, it's beautiful and stylish. Thanks for the DVD and book mentions, I have them both on order because I really need help with constructing a jacket that fits nicely.
5/9/08 5:34 AM
DivaQ said...
I had not seen this pattern but I really like it! You did a great job!
5/9/08 9:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket. We are all looking for something like this and you found it, fitted it and made it all yours.
5/9/08 10:22 AM
Irene Q said...
Congratulations on your first lined jacket! Wonderful job, and very helpful review, as always. I shy away from linings, too - the book and DVD sound like just what I need.
5/9/08 10:51 AM
JudyP said...
Debbie, I can't believe that this is your first lined jacket! You are such a knowledgeable sewer, I always look to your reviews for advice. Do you not sew jackets very often? This jacket came out beautifully! I have been considering this pattern and now I must have it!
5/9/08 3:25 PM
cindyann said...
Another geat review. I've been looking forward to your reviews of your business attire, and this one doesn't disappoint. Love the lining.
5/9/08 5:25 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Perfectly designed jacket, Debbie, both professional and stylish. Love your fabric choice, such a flattering color for you. Your review is a minefield of invaluable information and representative of your mindful, architectural approach to garment construction. Your superior result speaks for itself. Elegant, Lily
5/9/08 8:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sizzling jacket, Debbie! Another fun piece to add to your enviable and fabulous wardrobe!
5/9/08 9:21 PM
moushka said...
Gorgeous jacket, Debbie. All the views are worth making. Yours looks wonderful, can't wait to see a picture of it on you. Thanks for a great review, especially the head's up about the lining pleat. How could Simplicity leave it out when it's so essential to wearing comfort? Sue
5/9/08 11:07 PM
michellep74 said...
It looks great on you! As always, the fit is perfect. I think this will be my next jacket.
5/24/08 11:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Man, this jacket looks even BETTER "on" than on the dressform. The fabric has such a nice drape to it, yet it's substantial at the same time. Of course, the perfect FIT doesn't hurt things any!
5/25/08 0:18 AM
CynthiaSue said...
truly fashionable. looks great!!
5/25/08 1:53 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I KNEW I loved this design. Great jacket - a combination of classic and new. I think I'll pick up the pattern and see if I can reduce the neck/shoulder area enough to make it work.
5/25/08 8:11 AM
Kellie R. said...
THis is a great jacket Debbie. I love the sleeves and styling through the back. Thanks for the info and heads up about the lining.
5/25/08 10:29 AM
MissCelie said...
It's hard to believe this type of clothing is new for you! You look great!
5/25/08 10:37 AM
Rhoda K said...
I love the jacket - looks great on you. As always, a very informative review. I also like your fabric choice - it looks almost silky in the photo.
5/25/08 11:00 AM
Olivia Sews said...
Thanks for reviewing this! A while back, I was looking for a raglan sleeve jacket in plus like this one with no luck. Yaay!!! A great pattern in plus sizing!!!
6/13/08 3:20 PM
Deb0rah said...
Glad to see a favorable rating of a pattern I just bought! I'm plus-sized and it's wonderful to see how stylish and current this jacket is. Very polished and professional look with your scarf and skirt. Thanks for the inspiration!
7/15/08 8:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Self Drafted Pattern 226262-1006
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 1/17/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6607
photo
Review by JGillentin... on 11/9/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us