SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2899 (Plus Size Jacket Proj Runway)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1296 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 391 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/08 3:33 PM
Last Updated:5/24/08 11:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
This is really very nice - I'm envious because it doesn't come in my size. Thank you for the informative review. I too dislike how Simplicity indicates fabric requirements for Project Runway patterns.
5/8/08 3:47 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Simplicity is on sale TODAY at JoAnn - I bought this pattern on my lunch break. Your jacket turned out so very nice and the sleeve detail is great.
5/8/08 4:22 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks a ton for a timely review! I just picked this pattern up at lunch at JoAnn's. (I figure the 18 will be a bit wide in the upper back/shoulders, but hey, I can wear it over a sweater then, right?) I love how your version of this came out!
5/8/08 5:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great jacket. The pattern gives lots of places to alter and that makes it nice since I have to alter in lots of places. Thanks for getting it done so fast. It's on my list for fall. Full disclosure, LOL.
5/8/08 9:05 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review, Debbie. The jacket is a winner and the color is great. I'm glad to see that you honored the full disclosure rule and confessed to the misplaced seam.
5/8/08 10:32 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic jacket and as I keep saying, not fair that it doesn't come in smaller sizes! Yours is lovely and I want one for myself.
5/8/08 10:48 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Really nice looking jacket. You did a beautiful job and have written a great review too! Hopefully, Simplicity will release this in the smaller sizes soon - it's a winner!
5/9/08 0:55 AM
Annette1 said...
What a great review, Debbie, chock full of useful tips and info. How did you know I wouldn't notice the small print in the instructions (or even the insructions, period)? :o) Your jacket is so CLASSY in that beautiful taupe color (one of my favorites), and I REALLY like it with that skirt!
5/9/08 3:09 AM
Roxxygrl said...
I really need a jacket like that, it's beautiful and stylish. Thanks for the DVD and book mentions, I have them both on order because I really need help with constructing a jacket that fits nicely.
5/9/08 5:34 AM
DivaQ said...
I had not seen this pattern but I really like it! You did a great job!
5/9/08 9:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket. We are all looking for something like this and you found it, fitted it and made it all yours.
5/9/08 10:22 AM
Irene Q said...
Congratulations on your first lined jacket! Wonderful job, and very helpful review, as always. I shy away from linings, too - the book and DVD sound like just what I need.
5/9/08 10:51 AM
JudyP said...
Debbie, I can't believe that this is your first lined jacket! You are such a knowledgeable sewer, I always look to your reviews for advice. Do you not sew jackets very often? This jacket came out beautifully! I have been considering this pattern and now I must have it!
5/9/08 3:25 PM
cindyann said...
Another geat review. I've been looking forward to your reviews of your business attire, and this one doesn't disappoint. Love the lining.
5/9/08 5:25 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Perfectly designed jacket, Debbie, both professional and stylish. Love your fabric choice, such a flattering color for you. Your review is a minefield of invaluable information and representative of your mindful, architectural approach to garment construction. Your superior result speaks for itself. Elegant, Lily
5/9/08 8:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sizzling jacket, Debbie! Another fun piece to add to your enviable and fabulous wardrobe!
5/9/08 9:21 PM
moushka said...
Gorgeous jacket, Debbie. All the views are worth making. Yours looks wonderful, can't wait to see a picture of it on you. Thanks for a great review, especially the head's up about the lining pleat. How could Simplicity leave it out when it's so essential to wearing comfort? Sue
5/9/08 11:07 PM
michellep74 said...
It looks great on you! As always, the fit is perfect. I think this will be my next jacket.
5/24/08 11:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Man, this jacket looks even BETTER "on" than on the dressform. The fabric has such a nice drape to it, yet it's substantial at the same time. Of course, the perfect FIT doesn't hurt things any!
5/25/08 0:18 AM
CynthiaSue said...
truly fashionable. looks great!!
5/25/08 1:53 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I KNEW I loved this design. Great jacket - a combination of classic and new. I think I'll pick up the pattern and see if I can reduce the neck/shoulder area enough to make it work.
5/25/08 8:11 AM
Kellie R. said...
THis is a great jacket Debbie. I love the sleeves and styling through the back. Thanks for the info and heads up about the lining.
5/25/08 10:29 AM
MissCelie said...
It's hard to believe this type of clothing is new for you! You look great!
5/25/08 10:37 AM
Rhoda K said...
I love the jacket - looks great on you. As always, a very informative review. I also like your fabric choice - it looks almost silky in the photo.
5/25/08 11:00 AM
Olivia Sews said...
Thanks for reviewing this! A while back, I was looking for a raglan sleeve jacket in plus like this one with no luck. Yaay!!! A great pattern in plus sizing!!!
6/13/08 3:20 PM
Deb0rah said...
Glad to see a favorable rating of a pattern I just bought! I'm plus-sized and it's wonderful to see how stylish and current this jacket is. Very polished and professional look with your scarf and skirt. Thanks for the inspiration!
7/15/08 8:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 5882

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now