SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2899 (Plus Size Jacket Proj Runway)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1299 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 194
Favored by: 392 people
patterns reviewed: 181
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/08 3:33 PM
Last Updated:5/24/08 11:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deb0rah said...
Glad to see a favorable rating of a pattern I just bought! I'm plus-sized and it's wonderful to see how stylish and current this jacket is. Very polished and professional look with your scarf and skirt. Thanks for the inspiration!
7/15/08 8:32 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Thanks for reviewing this! A while back, I was looking for a raglan sleeve jacket in plus like this one with no luck. Yaay!!! A great pattern in plus sizing!!!
6/13/08 3:20 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love the jacket - looks great on you. As always, a very informative review. I also like your fabric choice - it looks almost silky in the photo.
5/25/08 11:00 AM
MissCelie said...
It's hard to believe this type of clothing is new for you! You look great!
5/25/08 10:37 AM
Kellie R. said...
THis is a great jacket Debbie. I love the sleeves and styling through the back. Thanks for the info and heads up about the lining.
5/25/08 10:29 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I KNEW I loved this design. Great jacket - a combination of classic and new. I think I'll pick up the pattern and see if I can reduce the neck/shoulder area enough to make it work.
5/25/08 8:11 AM
CynthiaSue said...
truly fashionable. looks great!!
5/25/08 1:53 AM
Annette1 said...
Man, this jacket looks even BETTER "on" than on the dressform. The fabric has such a nice drape to it, yet it's substantial at the same time. Of course, the perfect FIT doesn't hurt things any!
5/25/08 0:18 AM
michellep74 said...
It looks great on you! As always, the fit is perfect. I think this will be my next jacket.
5/24/08 11:11 PM
moushka said...
Gorgeous jacket, Debbie. All the views are worth making. Yours looks wonderful, can't wait to see a picture of it on you. Thanks for a great review, especially the head's up about the lining pleat. How could Simplicity leave it out when it's so essential to wearing comfort? Sue
5/9/08 11:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sizzling jacket, Debbie! Another fun piece to add to your enviable and fabulous wardrobe!
5/9/08 9:21 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Perfectly designed jacket, Debbie, both professional and stylish. Love your fabric choice, such a flattering color for you. Your review is a minefield of invaluable information and representative of your mindful, architectural approach to garment construction. Your superior result speaks for itself. Elegant, Lily
5/9/08 8:10 PM
cindyann said...
Another geat review. I've been looking forward to your reviews of your business attire, and this one doesn't disappoint. Love the lining.
5/9/08 5:25 PM
JudyP said...
Debbie, I can't believe that this is your first lined jacket! You are such a knowledgeable sewer, I always look to your reviews for advice. Do you not sew jackets very often? This jacket came out beautifully! I have been considering this pattern and now I must have it!
5/9/08 3:25 PM
Irene Q said...
Congratulations on your first lined jacket! Wonderful job, and very helpful review, as always. I shy away from linings, too - the book and DVD sound like just what I need.
5/9/08 10:51 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket. We are all looking for something like this and you found it, fitted it and made it all yours.
5/9/08 10:22 AM
DivaQ said...
I had not seen this pattern but I really like it! You did a great job!
5/9/08 9:16 AM
Roxxygrl said...
I really need a jacket like that, it's beautiful and stylish. Thanks for the DVD and book mentions, I have them both on order because I really need help with constructing a jacket that fits nicely.
5/9/08 5:34 AM
Annette1 said...
What a great review, Debbie, chock full of useful tips and info. How did you know I wouldn't notice the small print in the instructions (or even the insructions, period)? :o) Your jacket is so CLASSY in that beautiful taupe color (one of my favorites), and I REALLY like it with that skirt!
5/9/08 3:09 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Really nice looking jacket. You did a beautiful job and have written a great review too! Hopefully, Simplicity will release this in the smaller sizes soon - it's a winner!
5/9/08 0:55 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic jacket and as I keep saying, not fair that it doesn't come in smaller sizes! Yours is lovely and I want one for myself.
5/8/08 10:48 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review, Debbie. The jacket is a winner and the color is great. I'm glad to see that you honored the full disclosure rule and confessed to the misplaced seam.
5/8/08 10:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great jacket. The pattern gives lots of places to alter and that makes it nice since I have to alter in lots of places. Thanks for getting it done so fast. It's on my list for fall. Full disclosure, LOL.
5/8/08 9:05 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks a ton for a timely review! I just picked this pattern up at lunch at JoAnn's. (I figure the 18 will be a bit wide in the upper back/shoulders, but hey, I can wear it over a sweater then, right?) I love how your version of this came out!
5/8/08 5:43 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Simplicity is on sale TODAY at JoAnn - I bought this pattern on my lunch break. Your jacket turned out so very nice and the sleeve detail is great.
5/8/08 4:22 PM
Athene said...
This is really very nice - I'm envious because it doesn't come in my size. Thank you for the informative review. I too dislike how Simplicity indicates fabric requirements for Project Runway patterns.
5/8/08 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Burda 7739

photo
by: megumi

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1003

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

More Info