Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5478 (Portrait Collar Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 878 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Peacock Chic
photo
Friend of PR
About Peacock Chicstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/08 8:23 PM
Last Updated:5/8/08 9:52 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Your jacket is beautiful.
5/8/08 8:42 PM
VtMartha said...
I've been following this on your blog. It's the most incredible creation!
5/8/08 8:46 PM
Gold said...
What a wonderful job!!Very nice !!
5/8/08 8:47 PM
Caitycat said...
Awesome choice of fabric and beautiful job! I keep looking at these and thinking "but my neck would FREEZE..." what do you wear under it?
5/8/08 9:28 PM
Peacock Chic said...
Thanks for the compliments!! Actually Caity I agree with you. I am pretty cold blooded so despite this jacket being made of wool, to me is a late spring or early fall jacket. I would where just a cami underneath and let the jacket do the rest. Also I have worn a lace shirt over the cami and it looks pretty good too.
5/8/08 9:51 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! Excellent work, and you look so chic wearing it. I love the buttons and those chevrons on the back--you look great going--and coming!
5/8/08 10:19 PM
mendospot said...
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! SOOOOOO PRETTY.
5/8/08 10:30 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice workmanship. Well done. Looks great on you.
5/8/08 10:58 PM
cabinbaby said...
I'm excited we finally get to see it. I looove all the different grainlines! It's perfect.
5/8/08 11:07 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket! The matching plaid (which I know is NOT easy) is exceptional, as is your tailoring. Beautiful jacket and great job all round. The six months of work really shows!
5/8/08 11:10 PM
goldesdottar said...
This is a knock-out.
5/9/08 0:57 AM
Sweetiebop said...
I have look at that pattern and look at the pattern and decided against it. But your creation makes me want to buy it after all. Terrific Job.
5/9/08 1:17 AM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is so fabulous! You are now ready to teach a class on laying and cutting plaid!
5/9/08 1:34 AM
Lori V said...
This is a beautiful jacket, the back is stunning and your matching plaid amazing. Great job.
5/9/08 3:07 AM
vespabelle said...
So gorgeous!
5/9/08 3:59 AM
Olivia Sews said...
Perfect buttons for that fabric! Luv it!! Perfect match on the plaid!
5/9/08 4:58 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is amazing, I love everything about this jacket, fabric pattern placement, big collar and the way it falls on your shoulder, and especially the back details.......certainly worth the effort you went through with plaid. I would love to take a tailoring lesson myself too, cause we can wear anything but jacket/coat have to be properly done in my opinion, just like your jacket, lovely!
5/9/08 7:34 AM
sewgreat said...
Oh my God, this jacket is fabulous! The way you worked that plaid is fierce, and you look great in it too.
5/9/08 8:09 AM
cathy45 said...
Your jacket is stunning!!! ps--loved your labels--just ordered some, too.
5/9/08 9:35 AM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous! Your tailoring looks wonderful. Isn't it fun to put in all that handwork? You can be very proud of this one.
5/9/08 10:01 AM
crisford said...
This looks so incredible! Congratulations--it is a work of art. You should wear it all the time!
5/9/08 11:18 AM
sew2little said...
This is so couture-looking. Just beautiful!
5/9/08 11:34 AM
Stitchcakes said...
The back is un.believ.able! You stir up my Scottish blood.
5/9/08 12:16 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a great success. Your tailoring teacher must be very proud of you.
5/9/08 12:41 PM
Lady_Mame said...
Gorgeous!
5/9/08 2:18 PM
LindsayT said...
Yay for you! Nice work, lovely jacket.
5/9/08 2:56 PM
PhyllisC said...
This is just BEAUTIFUL and it looks FAB-u-LOUS on you! ANd your teacher is a gem, you're really learning good technique.
5/9/08 4:51 PM
Barbara V said...
What a fantastic job...you did so much with the plaid and did it so well. The fit is wonderful and you look great in it!
5/9/08 6:10 PM
redcatbicycliste said...
You sewed a beautiful jacket!!!! I checked out your blog to see more photos of it, and all I can say is "Wow!" Your workmanship is excellent. Also, the jacket looks good on you.
5/9/08 7:06 PM
EnglishDaffodil said...
Oh, this is gorgeous! I bet it is super flattering to wear, too. It's reviews and photos like these that keep me motivated--thanks so much for sharing!
5/9/08 8:36 PM
Dei said...
Saw your blog and you look absolutely fabulous! All that hardwork and time was worth every single ounce of it. No pain, no gain and think of how much sewing knowledge you gained in one garment. Just working with that fabric and matching plaids was a feat in itself. But it's the awesome fit that separates the women from the girls. You are a big girl now!
5/9/08 8:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Well, your jacket and tailoring techniques are nothing short of breathtaking! Your plaid placement is superb and those buttons! Talk about enhancement. I looked at your blog and you look gorgeous. I hope you're as pleased with your accomplishment as we are thrilled with your little masterpiece! Lovely, Lily
5/9/08 8:58 PM
blue mooney said...
So stylish. Beautiful work!
5/10/08 7:44 AM
yummymummy38 said...
gorgeous, great workmanship and I'm in awe of the matching bias plaid. Bravo!
5/12/08 10:32 AM
sew4fun2 said...
I admire people who work with plaid and stripes (I have not mastered them yet). A job well done!
6/9/08 8:01 PM
nglalala said...
This is a really cool jacket~! I'm thinking about making this and I just love your version!
11/20/08 6:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

EvaDress E40-6111
photo
Review by lauramae on 3/17/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5714
photo
Review by Pinkhibisc... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us