SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5478 (Portrait Collar Jacket)

6 more reviews
Viewed 879 times 
Reviewed by:Peacock Chic
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peacock Chicstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/08 8:23 PM
Last Updated:5/8/08 9:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Your jacket is beautiful.
5/8/08 8:42 PM
VtMartha said...
I've been following this on your blog. It's the most incredible creation!
5/8/08 8:46 PM
Gold said...
What a wonderful job!!Very nice !!
5/8/08 8:47 PM
Caitycat said...
Awesome choice of fabric and beautiful job! I keep looking at these and thinking "but my neck would FREEZE..." what do you wear under it?
5/8/08 9:28 PM
Peacock Chic said...
Thanks for the compliments!! Actually Caity I agree with you. I am pretty cold blooded so despite this jacket being made of wool, to me is a late spring or early fall jacket. I would where just a cami underneath and let the jacket do the rest. Also I have worn a lace shirt over the cami and it looks pretty good too.
5/8/08 9:51 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! Excellent work, and you look so chic wearing it. I love the buttons and those chevrons on the back--you look great going--and coming!
5/8/08 10:19 PM
mendospot said...
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! SOOOOOO PRETTY.
5/8/08 10:30 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice workmanship. Well done. Looks great on you.
5/8/08 10:58 PM
cabinbaby said...
I'm excited we finally get to see it. I looove all the different grainlines! It's perfect.
5/8/08 11:07 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket! The matching plaid (which I know is NOT easy) is exceptional, as is your tailoring. Beautiful jacket and great job all round. The six months of work really shows!
5/8/08 11:10 PM
goldesdottar said...
This is a knock-out.
5/9/08 0:57 AM
Sweetiebop said...
I have look at that pattern and look at the pattern and decided against it. But your creation makes me want to buy it after all. Terrific Job.
5/9/08 1:17 AM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is so fabulous! You are now ready to teach a class on laying and cutting plaid!
5/9/08 1:34 AM
Lori V said...
This is a beautiful jacket, the back is stunning and your matching plaid amazing. Great job.
5/9/08 3:07 AM
vespabelle said...
So gorgeous!
5/9/08 3:59 AM
Olivia Sews said...
Perfect buttons for that fabric! Luv it!! Perfect match on the plaid!
5/9/08 4:58 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is amazing, I love everything about this jacket, fabric pattern placement, big collar and the way it falls on your shoulder, and especially the back details.......certainly worth the effort you went through with plaid. I would love to take a tailoring lesson myself too, cause we can wear anything but jacket/coat have to be properly done in my opinion, just like your jacket, lovely!
5/9/08 7:34 AM
sewgreat said...
Oh my God, this jacket is fabulous! The way you worked that plaid is fierce, and you look great in it too.
5/9/08 8:09 AM
cathy45 said...
Your jacket is stunning!!! ps--loved your labels--just ordered some, too.
5/9/08 9:35 AM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous! Your tailoring looks wonderful. Isn't it fun to put in all that handwork? You can be very proud of this one.
5/9/08 10:01 AM
crisford said...
This looks so incredible! Congratulations--it is a work of art. You should wear it all the time!
5/9/08 11:18 AM
sew2little said...
This is so couture-looking. Just beautiful!
5/9/08 11:34 AM
Stitchcakes said...
The back is un.believ.able! You stir up my Scottish blood.
5/9/08 12:16 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a great success. Your tailoring teacher must be very proud of you.
5/9/08 12:41 PM
Lady_Mame said...
Gorgeous!
5/9/08 2:18 PM
LindsayT said...
Yay for you! Nice work, lovely jacket.
5/9/08 2:56 PM
PhyllisC said...
This is just BEAUTIFUL and it looks FAB-u-LOUS on you! ANd your teacher is a gem, you're really learning good technique.
5/9/08 4:51 PM
Barbara V said...
What a fantastic job...you did so much with the plaid and did it so well. The fit is wonderful and you look great in it!
5/9/08 6:10 PM
redcatbicycliste said...
You sewed a beautiful jacket!!!! I checked out your blog to see more photos of it, and all I can say is "Wow!" Your workmanship is excellent. Also, the jacket looks good on you.
5/9/08 7:06 PM
EnglishDaffodil said...
Oh, this is gorgeous! I bet it is super flattering to wear, too. It's reviews and photos like these that keep me motivated--thanks so much for sharing!
5/9/08 8:36 PM
Dei said...
Saw your blog and you look absolutely fabulous! All that hardwork and time was worth every single ounce of it. No pain, no gain and think of how much sewing knowledge you gained in one garment. Just working with that fabric and matching plaids was a feat in itself. But it's the awesome fit that separates the women from the girls. You are a big girl now!
5/9/08 8:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Well, your jacket and tailoring techniques are nothing short of breathtaking! Your plaid placement is superb and those buttons! Talk about enhancement. I looked at your blog and you look gorgeous. I hope you're as pleased with your accomplishment as we are thrilled with your little masterpiece! Lovely, Lily
5/9/08 8:58 PM
blue mooney said...
So stylish. Beautiful work!
5/10/08 7:44 AM
yummymummy38 said...
gorgeous, great workmanship and I'm in awe of the matching bias plaid. Bravo!
5/12/08 10:32 AM
sew4fun2 said...
I admire people who work with plaid and stripes (I have not mastered them yet). A job well done!
6/9/08 8:01 PM
nglalala said...
This is a really cool jacket~! I'm thinking about making this and I just love your version!
11/20/08 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 5590

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Vogue Patterns 8546

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now