Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Islander Sewing Systems: 207 (Irish Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 917 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo
Friend of PR
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/08 10:08 PM
Last Updated:1/1/11 6:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LouiseS said...
Thank you for reviewing this. I made it in a navy blue fleece and used velcro for the shoulder as I wasn't sure I could do buttonholes properly in the fleece. The fleece hem wanted to roll out, but now that I finally bought a serger, I'll just overcast the hem I think. A friend's mother has this done up in a poplin and it looks beautiful. If I try that, I'll try your lining technique also. Thanks so much, and enjoy!
5/12/08 10:26 PM
bell N said...
I think you are a little hard on yourself. I liked both versions, even the first one. Do you recall the name of the movie that inspired you?
5/13/08 8:12 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Well thank you Bell N for your kind words. I don't recall the movie...maybe "Babette's Feast"? Or some Irish movie.. The woman was standing in front of a window, facing her father, as she came in a door, and she took off this coat. I can't remember much else from the movie; the coat had that much of an impression on me....
5/13/08 3:30 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
This is a nice coat. Do you recommend for advanced beginners?
5/13/08 5:11 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Lucy, yes, I can recommend it, if they have done collars and cuffs before. There aren't a lot of instructions for these two items, just a couple of pictures. Also, I'd suggest, after reading another review, to make the pockets single welt, instead of double welt.
5/14/08 8:45 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great review, with lots of very sound advice. Very intriguing design - and it looks like it cam out great!
5/14/08 12:45 PM
appleton78 said...
OMGosh...You are too funny. Green Grape Goddess??? Loved this review...and I believe that I am off to try this pattern...with your revisions...Thanks a million!
5/27/08 3:32 PM
FreyaStark said...
An intriguing pattern for an interesting and distinctive garment. Thanks for a useful review.
1/1/11 9:39 PM
GlButterfly said...
That style is quite different and has been done well by you. I'm a little surprised by the lack of instructions but you managed because of experience.
1/2/11 2:36 AM
KathySews said...
What a great review. I have had my eye on this coat because it is so unusual. Still trying to decide if it will work on a DD chest. I am surprised that the instructions were not clear, hopefully Islander is listening.
12/8/11 7:55 AM
AnneM said...
Thank you for this review. I'm looking at various coat options, and this one is an interesting variation. Good to know the fabric width requirement, as well as the shaky instructions.
8/26/13 8:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-37 Frilly Blouse
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/2/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5804
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/4/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us