SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1052 (Issey Miyake)

14 more reviews
Viewed 2100 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/08 6:35 PM
Last Updated:5/13/08 6:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
This looks great - I have to admit, when I saw the pattern I never thought it would look this good on a "real person." Great work!
5/13/08 6:45 PM
solosmocker said...
I love Miyake also and treasure my patterns from way back when. Your blouse is awesome. I like it open best of all. The fabric is perfect for the design.
5/13/08 7:19 PM
Athene said...
This looks lovely on you. I like the pattern envelope picture, but I like your version more.
5/13/08 7:40 PM
pterion said...
How lovely! It looks very chic and yet extremely wearable. You wear it well!
5/13/08 8:11 PM
Nancy K said...
This is just wonderful and I love how it looks on you. I think I may go and purchase this in the one day sale! I haven't made a Miyake in years. This one looks like a good choice.
5/13/08 8:48 PM
Terri K said...
Great review and so timely - thank you! I cut this jacket out right after the pattern sale at Vogue and roll hem serged the edges of my collar pieces but gave up after whacking a chunk out of the Liberty cotton one. So it waits until I muster the patience to cut out another. Would this work without the tie in the back?
5/13/08 9:02 PM
nadinec said...
Wow! Your jacket is awesome! I am also a Miyake fan and have made many of his styles (and have many MORE that are as yet unmade!). I've had my eye on this, but am waiting for $3.99 sale at Joann Fabrics, cheapskate that I am, LOL. This looks great on you, and you did a fabulous job, and thanks for the tips about eliminating the lining and interfacing - I'll do the same.
5/13/08 9:20 PM
papago said...
I love this pattern. It looks great on you. It has been in my to do list, but I, too, am waiting for the sale. Beautiful job. Laura
5/13/08 9:31 PM
Mahler said...
Ann, I am so happy to read your review. I am planning this pattern for fall 2008. Thank you for this very instructive review. The final result is stunning. Congratulations !
5/13/08 9:34 PM
Sew Confused said...
Ann, you look fabulous in this jacket. I'm going to have to give this pattern a second look. Well done!
5/13/08 9:40 PM
Ann Smith said...
Terri K: no problem leaving off the ties, they are just inserted in seams. You might want to curve in the side seams a bit to pull it in a little.
5/13/08 11:34 PM
lmg said...
I went and got this pattern too as soon as it came out. Looks every better than I imagined. Thanks for the tips on the collar.
5/13/08 11:46 PM
DorothyK said...
Ann, this is fabulous. It really looks great on you. Can't wait to make it.
5/13/08 11:54 PM
Caitycat said...
Wow, what a beautiful jacket on you - well done!
5/14/08 0:34 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a stunning jacket Anne, you look fabulous in it. Beautiful roses too !
5/14/08 0:53 AM
SueV said...
Really nice! Looks great. Great review.
5/14/08 1:02 AM
Twinset said...
Great jacket, and great choice of fabric too! Love the color and the drape of your silk/linen, it's just perfect!
5/14/08 2:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. You wear these styles so well.
5/14/08 5:15 AM
Cristina_TC said...
Great work, and hooray for Miyake!
5/14/08 6:04 AM
BillieJean said...
I have this pattern and you have just inspired me to get with it and make it. Beautiful jacket!
5/14/08 6:23 AM
Gold said...
Vey nice job!Beautiful blouse!
5/14/08 6:24 AM
inkstain said...
You've made it into a really wow look with the right haircut, jewellery and pants. Knowing that this combination could compete with any New York stylist should have you wearing this with confidence.
5/14/08 6:29 AM
ITAdmin said...
Thanks for a great, informative review. The collar info is especially useful. Your jacket is beautiful in the chosen fabric.
5/14/08 7:38 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I love your modifications. It makes it much more wearable for others. I love your version. As always it looks wonderful on you.
5/14/08 8:22 AM
Lalena said...
Ann: Beautiful jacket! I've had my eye on this pattern, and yesterday when Vogues were on sale online, I bought it, so I was delighted to see your review today. I think that your choice of color is perfect--the sophisiticated brown eliminates any "too cute" factor that the ruffles of the collar might suggest. I think that I will line mine because I want it to be more jacket-like. Any further suggestions from you as to the appropriate fabric type would be very kind!
5/14/08 8:22 AM
SherryD said...
Ann, I love it! This pattern has move near the top of my project list. Now to decide on a fabric, linen, silk, solid....
5/14/08 8:59 AM
merteuil said...
Your jacket is beautiful and looks so much nicer than the Vogue picture. I was not sure about this pattern, but now I think I have to get it!
5/14/08 9:37 AM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket/blouse is gorgeous and looks fantastic on you! The alterations were clever and make it even more versatile and wearable year round. Great job!
5/14/08 10:11 AM
meli88a said...
i love this jacket, and am so glad you reviewed it!
5/14/08 11:12 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Gorgeous jacket - you wear it very well!
5/14/08 11:20 AM
sew2little said...
Oh, you clever woman! This is, as usual, a masterpiece. Marci
5/14/08 11:55 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful! I too never thought it would look good on a 'real' woman, boy did you prove me wrong. You look stunning in this blouse/jacket. Your modifications, as usual, spot on.
5/14/08 12:38 PM
Pat T said...
Ann - I love Miyake designs and bought this as soon as I saw it in case it disappeared! A couple of questions based on your experience: after I make it once as the pattern shows, to make it look different how would it look with just one of the collars? And you said a fabric with body AND drape -- it that because the bodice need the body but the collar needs to drape? And how would a rayon do?
5/14/08 1:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Pat T: You could do it with just one collar to look different. The construction would be the same. The drape is needed for the collar to fall nicely. If you use a very soft, drapey fabric like some rayons you would probably want to underline the jacket to have enough structure to support the collar.
5/14/08 1:14 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful blouse and your usual great work Ann - thanks for such a helpful review
5/14/08 4:44 PM
Winifred said...
I like this very much - it looks super. As I think we're much the same shape I may get the pattern and have a go myself !
5/14/08 6:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
Just gorgeous! The fabric works beautifully with this pattern. I'm currently working with linen/silk blend and have plenty left for another project.. hmmm
5/15/08 5:21 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Ann, you have done it once again! You gave me the inspiration to sew the IM twist top, and I have been a fan of the IM patterns ever since. I have fabric for it, and it was a tough search as I do it mostly on-line and drape is so very important forthis one. Your jacket is gorgeous! Thank you for a great review.
5/16/08 12:45 PM
layla said...
Very very nice .. you are the perfect PR lady to show us this one .. I am always amazed how you work the ones that look tricky. Perfect !!
5/16/08 3:38 PM
Beek said...
I have had my eye on this pattern. I, too, am a huge Issey fan. I have some real oldies in my stash. And they sell for big bucks on ebay! Anyway, your jacket is fabulous. You've inspired me to purchase yet another Issey pattern!
5/16/08 5:28 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I am a Miyake fan too. You look fantastic and your jacket is beautiful. Love, love.
5/16/08 6:22 PM
pinkli said...
What a lovely version you have made of this interesting pattern: stunning. I really wanted to make this for my entry too, but couldn't stick to my budget if I bought *another* pattern! Now that I've seen your results I'd like it even more. The fabric colour is spot on for you too: you look stunning. Enjoy wearing it, and sewing the rest of your entry
5/19/08 6:21 PM
Selina said...
Oooh, absolutely love it!! I think it looks better on you than the model in the pattern book! Fantastic job, I just might have to try this one.
5/19/08 11:11 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Ann, Another superb garment! What pants are you wearing with it? I like them better than the pattern pants.
6/7/08 12:01 PM
Ann Smith said...
Leslie, the pants are Marcy Tilton's pant pattern from Vogue. I've made and like all three pants included in the pattern.
6/8/08 12:23 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket! It really suits you. I bought this pattern today so thanks for the helpful review.
7/3/09 5:27 AM
ALF840 said...
I printed out your review and tucked it into my pattern envelope! Thank you for such amazing detail and great hints. Your lovely version motivates me to go for it.
6/27/11 5:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1252

photo
by: loti

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6475

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review