Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-116 (Ruffled Waistcoat / Vest) thumbsup - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 794 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/08 11:46 AM
Last Updated:5/13/08 11:48 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christina Sonja said...
LOVE this! A perfect mix of tailored elements and feminine ruffles. You own it, Cidell!
5/13/08 12:24 PM
Terri K said...
What a great look Cidell! You definitely OWN this vest.
5/13/08 12:37 PM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely on you. Will be a stunning suit.
5/13/08 12:45 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow! What a gorgeous vest!
5/13/08 12:52 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
If anyone can own this vest - it is YOU! Love that black on black seersucker and can't wait to see the matching pants!
5/13/08 1:26 PM
goldesdottar said...
The vest is terrific, and i love your idea of a vest & trousers for a summer suit-look.
5/13/08 3:41 PM
Athene said...
The vest is fantastic, I particularly like how well the ruffles stand up.
5/13/08 3:51 PM
LindsayT said...
Really charming vest, Cidell. Nice work.
5/13/08 4:46 PM
Miz Lolly said...
It's adorable! It will be so cute with matching pants! This one is on my short list to sew. Thanks for the review.
5/13/08 5:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very chic with a nice shape. Your ruffles are awesome -- great idea to underline them with organza.
5/13/08 5:19 PM
Lori V said...
Very nice vest, the ruffles add such a nice touch.
5/13/08 6:43 PM
Hilary said...
That is a *gorgeous* vest~I LOVE it!! So perfectly fit, too! Great job!
5/13/08 6:52 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great vest Cidell. I hope your date likes it. :)
5/13/08 7:38 PM
corinne kelly said...
Love it! Very becoming as is, but I think it will be very- very cute sexy without the shirt under!
5/13/08 8:19 PM
Elke said...
Love it! Can't wait to see it worn with the matching pants.
5/13/08 8:44 PM
Sew Confused said...
Great vest, great review. I want to make this vest for my daughter.
5/13/08 10:00 PM
lmg said...
Just gorgeous.
5/13/08 11:49 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is downright adorable. so glad you stuck with those welts. they look really nice. welts are HARD and YOU did them! Wear you stylish vest often.
5/14/08 0:40 AM
Markie1 said...
You did it! And I haven't yet! I know I said I was going to make this, but other things began to take precedence, and now here you are with this beautiful thing that I only imagined making. I know! Why don't you give it to me? Hmmmm? I REALLY like it! :)
5/14/08 5:24 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Wonderful vest, and you are definitely owning it!!
5/14/08 6:52 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, cool vest! Cidell, it's perfect for you.
5/14/08 8:04 AM
Maychi said...
Stunning vest!
5/14/08 2:15 PM
Gold said...
How did I miss this review!!Fantastic vest!Great job!!
5/14/08 4:01 PM
Betsybobbin said...
You look fantastic! Great choice of fabric.
5/14/08 6:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
I don't think I could carry off those ruffles, but they look fabulous on you. Can't wait to see this with matching pants.
5/14/08 6:37 PM
madhatter said...
*sigh* LOVELY. i just have to repeat that over and over again!
5/15/08 12:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I don't know how I missed this one Cidell, other than the fact that I seem to be missing a LOT lately, but this is the cutest vest I've ever seen, REALLY. I LOVE those little ruffled sleeves. :o)) You just wear it so well, too!
5/26/08 0:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick 5348
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 8/14/09
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4634 year 1958
photo
Review by Kellie R. on 1/31/10
Read Review

Butterick 5883 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5883 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6029 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 6029 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us