Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1209 (Monaco Shell) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1736 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:mudcat
photo
Friend of PR
About mudcatstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/17/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/03 3:43 PM
Last Updated:3/15/04 5:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Could you add those little straps with a snap on the end to the shoulder to keep straps in place, or is the neckline just too wide? I'm thinking I'll try this view one of these days...
6/23/03 4:24 PM
Dale C said...
Nice summery top mudcat. I like the cut of the neckline. Maybe you can make some lingerie strap guards to keep those straps in. Snaps and ribbon sewn into the shoulders should do it. Doesn't take very long to do, I've done it to several of my tops.
6/23/03 4:32 PM
mudcat said...
I think adding snaps or ribbon would cause the shoulders to pull in. But, that is a good idea and I may try it with some other sleeveless or wide necked tops.
6/23/03 8:24 PM
Elona said...
Mudcat, about the wrinkles: Since the front of the human neckline is lower than the back, neckline wrinkles with a funnel neck are pretty much unavoidable. You realy need a neckline seam to get a smooth high collar effect there. Second, unless you're very tense in that photo, the other set of wrinkles suggest that you may have very square shoulders, and thus be in need of a square shoulder adjustment.
3/15/04 1:31 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I agree w/Elona about the funnel neck wrinkles; my funnel necks have them, too. That drapiness is just a function of the style, I do believe.
3/15/04 7:06 AM
AuntieShel said...
Both your tops look great! I wonder if the fabric choice is the cause of wrinkles (although they are really not noticeable--only that you pointed them out.) I'm learning that a different fabric choice can make the same exact well-fitting garment look and fit completely different.
3/15/04 1:01 PM
mudcat said...
I was looking at all the pictures on PR last night, including Lisa'ss and noticed that everyone had the wrinkls. I think I was surprised at how much looser this version was over the first version though that could partially be the fabric. The rayon/lycra is drapy and thin while the cotton/lycra is a little thicker and firmer. Unfortunately, I am ultra-critical about my garments even though most of the time they are much better made and much better fitting than RTW.
3/15/04 6:01 PM
Amanda L said...
I think this version is adorable and don't mind your wrinkles in the least. I've made friends with the V-neck version, but my attempt at the funnel neck came out too snug. You've inspired me and now I'm going to give it a whirl in slinky.
3/15/04 8:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 4123 Neck Pillow
photo
Review by Rikki23 on 3/16/11
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used OCO001
photo
Review by Caitycat on 11/4/08
Read Review

McCalls 5824 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5824 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6762 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6762 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us