SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1736 times 
Reviewed by:mudcat
photo

 
 
About mudcatstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/17/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/03 3:43 PM
Last Updated:3/15/04 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda L said...
I think this version is adorable and don't mind your wrinkles in the least. I've made friends with the V-neck version, but my attempt at the funnel neck came out too snug. You've inspired me and now I'm going to give it a whirl in slinky.
3/15/04 8:45 PM
mudcat said...
I was looking at all the pictures on PR last night, including Lisa'ss and noticed that everyone had the wrinkls. I think I was surprised at how much looser this version was over the first version though that could partially be the fabric. The rayon/lycra is drapy and thin while the cotton/lycra is a little thicker and firmer. Unfortunately, I am ultra-critical about my garments even though most of the time they are much better made and much better fitting than RTW.
3/15/04 6:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
Both your tops look great! I wonder if the fabric choice is the cause of wrinkles (although they are really not noticeable--only that you pointed them out.) I'm learning that a different fabric choice can make the same exact well-fitting garment look and fit completely different.
3/15/04 1:01 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I agree w/Elona about the funnel neck wrinkles; my funnel necks have them, too. That drapiness is just a function of the style, I do believe.
3/15/04 7:06 AM
Elona said...
Mudcat, about the wrinkles: Since the front of the human neckline is lower than the back, neckline wrinkles with a funnel neck are pretty much unavoidable. You realy need a neckline seam to get a smooth high collar effect there. Second, unless you're very tense in that photo, the other set of wrinkles suggest that you may have very square shoulders, and thus be in need of a square shoulder adjustment.
3/15/04 1:31 AM
mudcat said...
I think adding snaps or ribbon would cause the shoulders to pull in. But, that is a good idea and I may try it with some other sleeveless or wide necked tops.
6/23/03 8:24 PM
Dale C said...
Nice summery top mudcat. I like the cut of the neckline. Maybe you can make some lingerie strap guards to keep those straps in. Snaps and ribbon sewn into the shoulders should do it. Doesn't take very long to do, I've done it to several of my tops.
6/23/03 4:32 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Could you add those little straps with a snap on the end to the shoulder to keep straps in place, or is the neckline just too wide? I'm thinking I'll try this view one of these days...
6/23/03 4:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 3626

photo
by: PostMuse

Review
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

More Info