SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 5268 (Du Barry 1941 Jacket and Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 731 times 
Reviewed by:mouthygrace
photo

 
 
About mouthygracestar
PA USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 1:18 AM
Last Updated:5/15/08 1:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Primatoidefutile said...
The jacket is really very cute, and the skirt was also nice.
6/8/08 4:45 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review, Grace, detailing how you turned an 'old lady' piece into a fashion forward blouse for a stylish young woman. I think it would look smashing, too, with the matching, drapey skirt you're considering. (Did you insert shoulder pads, even though you don't want them, to see whether the bust to shoulder wrinkle disappears?) I just love this blouse on you! Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:03 PM
AnneM said...
Great style. I just love the pattern styles from that time frame also.
6/4/08 5:07 PM
Em's Summer said...
I really like this top! It's not old ladyish at all! It's might be vintage, but it looks very current! You did a great job!
5/31/08 10:47 PM
Kat Holliday said...
I thinks the 40's is my favorite era. Such an hour glass sillhouette!
5/29/08 8:03 PM
MagpieJen said...
Really sweet! You tackled a vintage pattern and ended up with a polished looking jacket - I like it a lot!
5/25/08 1:44 AM
Heatherrique said...
You brought a refreshing take on a classic! Gorgeous!
5/17/08 11:27 AM
Kellie R. said...
Cute top and nicely done - yes, be sure to enter it in the Vintage contest!
5/15/08 4:59 PM
wvsher said...
Lovely! I hope you enter your items in the vintage contest!
5/15/08 4:48 PM
EveS said...
Very trendy-vintage. Love the look...you do very nice work.
5/15/08 1:31 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Great marriage of fabric & pattern. I agree, vintage in a good way.
5/15/08 11:20 AM
Re Becca said...
This looks very cute. I think that it does look very current, and you can't go wrong with a cinched waist. Very flattering.
5/15/08 11:03 AM
chemmom said...
I really like the pattern in the jacket. I agree, this vintage look is back again.
5/15/08 8:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It's funny how fashions come around again! Your short sleeve jacket is very NOW, even though it's vintage!
5/15/08 6:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now