SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> 5268 (Du Barry 1941 Jacket and Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 729 times 
Reviewed by:mouthygrace
photo

 
 
About mouthygracestar
PA USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 1:18 AM
Last Updated:5/15/08 1:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
It's funny how fashions come around again! Your short sleeve jacket is very NOW, even though it's vintage!
5/15/08 6:15 AM
chemmom said...
I really like the pattern in the jacket. I agree, this vintage look is back again.
5/15/08 8:32 AM
Re Becca said...
This looks very cute. I think that it does look very current, and you can't go wrong with a cinched waist. Very flattering.
5/15/08 11:03 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great marriage of fabric & pattern. I agree, vintage in a good way.
5/15/08 11:20 AM
EveS said...
Very trendy-vintage. Love the look...you do very nice work.
5/15/08 1:31 PM
wvsher said...
Lovely! I hope you enter your items in the vintage contest!
5/15/08 4:48 PM
Kellie R. said...
Cute top and nicely done - yes, be sure to enter it in the Vintage contest!
5/15/08 4:59 PM
Heatherrique said...
You brought a refreshing take on a classic! Gorgeous!
5/17/08 11:27 AM
MagpieJen said...
Really sweet! You tackled a vintage pattern and ended up with a polished looking jacket - I like it a lot!
5/25/08 1:44 AM
Kat Holliday said...
I thinks the 40's is my favorite era. Such an hour glass sillhouette!
5/29/08 8:03 PM
Em's Summer said...
I really like this top! It's not old ladyish at all! It's might be vintage, but it looks very current! You did a great job!
5/31/08 10:47 PM
AnneM said...
Great style. I just love the pattern styles from that time frame also.
6/4/08 5:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review, Grace, detailing how you turned an 'old lady' piece into a fashion forward blouse for a stylish young woman. I think it would look smashing, too, with the matching, drapey skirt you're considering. (Did you insert shoulder pads, even though you don't want them, to see whether the bust to shoulder wrinkle disappears?) I just love this blouse on you! Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:03 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
The jacket is really very cute, and the skirt was also nice.
6/8/08 4:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 5049

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Young Image Magazine Y1258 Coat

photo
by: velosewer

Review