Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1050 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 12:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
You're not the first to complain of difficulties putting this bag together. You did a great job, and I love your choices of fabrics!
5/15/08 12:56 PM
lcavagnolo said...
I've owned this pattern for about 2 years now, and still am afraid to sew it! Yours looks fantastic, and I think you have the first review to suggest sliding the Timtex in after sewing, which makes so much more sense. Great job!
5/15/08 1:25 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a wonderful bag, I have made this one and did not use Timtex. Easier to sew but my dd's bag is not very stiff.
5/15/08 1:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful bag! My bag made me almost cry too while making it, but I love it now that it's done (well except for the crappy zipper I got - note to self, definitely splurge for the zipper on this one). Enjoy your bag!
5/15/08 2:38 PM
Sigrid. said...
This pattern is in my stash. And everytime I see it made up so beautiful like yours is too, I want to make it. But still keeping it till later because of the difficulties everyone describes. The combination of fabric and piping is very special, I like that.
5/15/08 4:04 PM
Gold said...
Very cute bag!I love the fabric.
5/15/08 4:19 PM
jtrl4 said...
Your bag looks great-worth all your effort. I would like to make this bag, too, but I'm not quite ready for the "workout"!
5/15/08 9:57 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Thanks for the great review. I tried to make this bag and I gave up...I am a beginner. Your bag is super cute!
5/16/08 0:19 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Love your bag. I've seen several people make this for their knitting bag. I still NEED this pattern, but will want it for quick overnight getaways. great review - love your fabric combo and the pink piping
5/16/08 0:39 AM
Darla in PA said...
Cute bag! I agree about sewing lining and zippers - there should be an easier way.
5/16/08 6:37 AM
F and L said...
That is absolutely and completely beautiful. It looks perfect, and I love the fabrics you used.
5/16/08 6:58 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Beautiful! I agree with your review, too. I am one who has made this bag. I wondered about sliding the timtex inbetween but couldn't come up with a way to do it. I am working on my second bag with some changes to the pattern. It's slow going though. I got to the sewing with the timetex and got scared!
5/16/08 7:08 AM
angie.a said...
This is a beautiful bag! I would love to attempt it, thanks for the review!
5/16/08 7:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, wow! Yes, your bag is definitely worth the effort you put forth!
5/16/08 10:34 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Great picture with the size of the bag...you look like you could fit into it. I too am afraid to tackle it , but yours is pushing me
5/16/08 12:07 PM
Larkin said...
You don't need to cry anymore! You've got a beautiful bag! Thanks for all the details...
5/16/08 4:52 PM
madhatter said...
ladies, thank you for all your encouragement and lovely comments! ^-^ think I will try this again with a different interfacing someday, and then I'll update here to tell you how it ended up!
5/17/08 4:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely bag!! It looks like a lot of work.
5/20/08 1:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 6838 6838
photo
Review by Kayseri on 9/9/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )
McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us