SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo

 
 
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 12:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
You're not the first to complain of difficulties putting this bag together. You did a great job, and I love your choices of fabrics!
5/15/08 12:56 PM
lcavagnolo said...
I've owned this pattern for about 2 years now, and still am afraid to sew it! Yours looks fantastic, and I think you have the first review to suggest sliding the Timtex in after sewing, which makes so much more sense. Great job!
5/15/08 1:25 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a wonderful bag, I have made this one and did not use Timtex. Easier to sew but my dd's bag is not very stiff.
5/15/08 1:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful bag! My bag made me almost cry too while making it, but I love it now that it's done (well except for the crappy zipper I got - note to self, definitely splurge for the zipper on this one). Enjoy your bag!
5/15/08 2:38 PM
Sigrid. said...
This pattern is in my stash. And everytime I see it made up so beautiful like yours is too, I want to make it. But still keeping it till later because of the difficulties everyone describes. The combination of fabric and piping is very special, I like that.
5/15/08 4:04 PM
Gold said...
Very cute bag!I love the fabric.
5/15/08 4:19 PM
jtrl4 said...
Your bag looks great-worth all your effort. I would like to make this bag, too, but I'm not quite ready for the "workout"!
5/15/08 9:57 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Thanks for the great review. I tried to make this bag and I gave up...I am a beginner. Your bag is super cute!
5/16/08 0:19 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Love your bag. I've seen several people make this for their knitting bag. I still NEED this pattern, but will want it for quick overnight getaways. great review - love your fabric combo and the pink piping
5/16/08 0:39 AM
Darla in PA said...
Cute bag! I agree about sewing lining and zippers - there should be an easier way.
5/16/08 6:37 AM
F and L said...
That is absolutely and completely beautiful. It looks perfect, and I love the fabrics you used.
5/16/08 6:58 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Beautiful! I agree with your review, too. I am one who has made this bag. I wondered about sliding the timtex inbetween but couldn't come up with a way to do it. I am working on my second bag with some changes to the pattern. It's slow going though. I got to the sewing with the timetex and got scared!
5/16/08 7:08 AM
angie.a said...
This is a beautiful bag! I would love to attempt it, thanks for the review!
5/16/08 7:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, wow! Yes, your bag is definitely worth the effort you put forth!
5/16/08 10:34 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Great picture with the size of the bag...you look like you could fit into it. I too am afraid to tackle it , but yours is pushing me
5/16/08 12:07 PM
Larkin said...
You don't need to cry anymore! You've got a beautiful bag! Thanks for all the details...
5/16/08 4:52 PM
madhatter said...
ladies, thank you for all your encouragement and lovely comments! ^-^ think I will try this again with a different interfacing someday, and then I'll update here to tell you how it ended up!
5/17/08 4:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely bag!! It looks like a lot of work.
5/20/08 1:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
McCall's 6241

photo
by: trumbelina

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now