SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 1051 times 
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo

 
 
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 12:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
You're not the first to complain of difficulties putting this bag together. You did a great job, and I love your choices of fabrics!
5/15/08 12:56 PM
lcavagnolo said...
I've owned this pattern for about 2 years now, and still am afraid to sew it! Yours looks fantastic, and I think you have the first review to suggest sliding the Timtex in after sewing, which makes so much more sense. Great job!
5/15/08 1:25 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a wonderful bag, I have made this one and did not use Timtex. Easier to sew but my dd's bag is not very stiff.
5/15/08 1:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful bag! My bag made me almost cry too while making it, but I love it now that it's done (well except for the crappy zipper I got - note to self, definitely splurge for the zipper on this one). Enjoy your bag!
5/15/08 2:38 PM
Sigrid. said...
This pattern is in my stash. And everytime I see it made up so beautiful like yours is too, I want to make it. But still keeping it till later because of the difficulties everyone describes. The combination of fabric and piping is very special, I like that.
5/15/08 4:04 PM
Gold said...
Very cute bag!I love the fabric.
5/15/08 4:19 PM
jtrl4 said...
Your bag looks great-worth all your effort. I would like to make this bag, too, but I'm not quite ready for the "workout"!
5/15/08 9:57 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Thanks for the great review. I tried to make this bag and I gave up...I am a beginner. Your bag is super cute!
5/16/08 0:19 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Love your bag. I've seen several people make this for their knitting bag. I still NEED this pattern, but will want it for quick overnight getaways. great review - love your fabric combo and the pink piping
5/16/08 0:39 AM
Darla in PA said...
Cute bag! I agree about sewing lining and zippers - there should be an easier way.
5/16/08 6:37 AM
F and L said...
That is absolutely and completely beautiful. It looks perfect, and I love the fabrics you used.
5/16/08 6:58 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Beautiful! I agree with your review, too. I am one who has made this bag. I wondered about sliding the timtex inbetween but couldn't come up with a way to do it. I am working on my second bag with some changes to the pattern. It's slow going though. I got to the sewing with the timetex and got scared!
5/16/08 7:08 AM
angie.a said...
This is a beautiful bag! I would love to attempt it, thanks for the review!
5/16/08 7:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, wow! Yes, your bag is definitely worth the effort you put forth!
5/16/08 10:34 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Great picture with the size of the bag...you look like you could fit into it. I too am afraid to tackle it , but yours is pushing me
5/16/08 12:07 PM
Larkin said...
You don't need to cry anymore! You've got a beautiful bag! Thanks for all the details...
5/16/08 4:52 PM
madhatter said...
ladies, thank you for all your encouragement and lovely comments! ^-^ think I will try this again with a different interfacing someday, and then I'll update here to tell you how it ended up!
5/17/08 4:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely bag!! It looks like a lot of work.
5/20/08 1:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Butterick 6955

photo
by: morzel

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now