Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5030 (Misses Dress, Belt and Sash) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1422 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:mochalover
photo
Friend of PR
About mochaloverstar
USA
Member since: 9/20/04
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 7:40 PM
Last Updated:5/15/08 8:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gold said...
I couldn't get your picture to come up.But I can see by the little picture that the dress looks great!Great job!
5/15/08 7:53 PM
mad4sewing said...
The big picture won't pop up, but the thumb pic looks great!
5/15/08 7:58 PM
rahayu said...
This is my kind of style...girl! Luv!luv!luv! your dress....That dress would cost about minimum S$250 back here in Singapore...Anyway, you did a great job..well done! BTW, how much did you spend on this dress?
5/15/08 8:18 PM
EveS said...
GREAT dress!! I just love the wider sash. The standard wrap ties are so...well...insignificant. I have the Vogue version of this wrap and will have to try it with a sash like this. Thanks for the inspiration!
5/15/08 8:28 PM
Lori V said...
Great dress, the wider sash is a nice change.
5/15/08 8:44 PM
mochalover said...
Rahayu I had to comment on the cost because I often wonder about that with other reviews. I purchased the pattern for $1.99 and the fabric was $3.00 a yard at Walmart, which leads to a grand total of $15.00 including the thread. The fabric is great (I don't know what it is) but even my husband said that it looks and feels expensive and coming from him that's saying something.
5/15/08 8:55 PM
SewingSusan said...
Lovely dress. The collar and cuffs are great. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it.
5/15/08 8:59 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this looks very high end and professionally sewn!
5/15/08 9:19 PM
rahayu said...
Hei! that is about S$20?!?!....what a huge amount of savings!!!...I really envy you mochalover...actually I bought a similar dress here for S$269....tell me why I shouldn't envy you?..sigh..I must sew one of this....
5/15/08 11:29 PM
Peacock Chic said...
wow you did a FANTASTIC job with that dress. I love it. One more pattern to pick up at JoAnn's :O)
5/16/08 1:06 AM
Caitycat said...
Looks like a very flattering and "on trend" dress - well done!
5/16/08 1:49 AM
blue mooney said...
Absolutely beautiful!
5/16/08 7:37 AM
carolynw said...
Love your dress - great work - looks far more expensive than what you paid
5/16/08 8:17 AM
LindsayT said...
Very RTW-looking. Well done.
5/16/08 9:32 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Very nice!
5/16/08 10:20 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
WOW!!! Looks great. Where does it hit on the legs?
5/16/08 12:11 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
This is my favorite style of dress. Yours is beautifully made.
5/16/08 2:06 PM
wvsher said...
That is a lovely dress. Great job on it!
5/16/08 3:30 PM
KathleenS said...
Looks great. I like the cuffs.
5/16/08 9:22 PM
Larkin said...
Really pretty. Enjoy the compliments!
5/17/08 1:10 AM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulous dress!!! and believe I have the pattern. I love Walmart.. I go there often and get great fabric.
6/6/08 9:40 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
such a classy dress! I'm enjoying looking at your reviews.
6/30/08 11:04 AM
anncie1 said...
Cute!!!
8/9/08 10:22 PM
RoeD said...
I'm almost finished with this dress but got frustrated after trying to get my sleeves right. Seeing your finished project has inspired me to go pick it back up and finish.
10/22/09 9:15 PM
VJ_Tex said...
Very nice and very clean...very professional look. Love it!
12/22/09 10:43 AM
Gendun said...
Very elegant in that fabric. Nice choice. May I ask what kind of feel it had? Was it like wool suiting, or something else? How heavy was it? Anything else you can tell us about it? I only ask because I really like the way it hangs and compliments the pattern. :)
8/26/12 9:20 PM
mochalover said...
Gendun I will be honest with you it may have been a heavy rayon, if I had to put a wager on it that's what I would say but don't quote me. It was easy an easy fabric to work with and it does look expensive but the fabric was a bargain. I have taken it to the dry cleaners and it still looks just as good after all this time. Thank you for the compliments and sorry for the delay I'm a teacher and am back to work and time is getting away from me.
8/29/12 7:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118 Blouses
photo
Review by dingyadi on 12/28/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used A Twinset Tweaks
photo
Review by Georgene on 8/20/05
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us