Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5181 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1186 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:born2bead
photo
About born2beadstar
ID USA
Member since: 8/1/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/22/08 10:31 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
I really like the combination of the two fabrics. It would never have occurred to me to match those two, but I really like them together.
5/22/08 10:49 AM
Elona said...
I think the dress looks cute on you, and would be great for a summer party. Such a nice color combo. Your cat looks pleased as punch to be out there with you.
5/22/08 10:55 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Oh my gosh, this fabric combination is to die for! I didn't know Joann's carried the Robert Kaufman fabrics, but I'll definitely have my eye out for them now. This is the perfect summer dress.
5/22/08 11:13 AM
maryfrana said...
This dress just knocks me out! The color combo, the style, it's just dynamite. I am always surprised at how low cut regular day dresses are. I'm always adjusting and/or wearing a cami. This is just a wonderful, wonderful dress.
5/22/08 11:24 AM
Peacock Chic said...
WOW that came out FABULOUS!!! I am making that dress right now!! I will never make it again because of all the problems I am having too but just want to get it finished. I agree with everything you said. such a bummer because it looked like a good pattern ;o/ But all your changes made it look great on you. Congrats
5/22/08 11:24 AM
mewiththree said...
How funny, apparently your cat thought the photo would be much improved with his presence! Typical kitty attitude. Your dress looks lovely. I wonder if the issue with the empire waist would be resolved if the fabric were more drapery. I love the look of empire, but I've always shied away, because on me it does look maternity-ish.
5/22/08 12:01 PM
CShelley said...
I think the dress looks awesome on you and I really love the fabrics you chose. Too bad you're not liking it because it really is striking. And what's up with Tango's tail? It looks chopped off...or did it get cropped off in the picture? He's very handsome by the way but I think he knows that.
5/22/08 12:13 PM
mimi g. said...
those two fabric are fabu! great job with the dress it looks so pretty on you.
5/22/08 12:21 PM
vespabelle said...
I think it looks fab! The patterns and colors are really great. One solution might be to add a "modesty panel"/cleavage cover out of the black fabric. That would make it look less like an afterthought!
5/22/08 12:37 PM
fabeins said...
That's really cute on you!
5/22/08 2:10 PM
LindsayT said...
I think this looks really fantastic on you. It is very similar to dresses by Hawaiian designer Malia, who was ultra-popular in California during the 70s. I'm loving this dress.
5/22/08 2:38 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I really love your dress and knock out fabric combo.Wear it with a cami to work and as is for a hot summer party dress !
5/22/08 2:52 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is a great basic. I really like the style and I'll think I'll pick it up this weekend. You look really stylish. That cat is AMAZING. He looks like a bobcat with those markings.
5/22/08 4:01 PM
Gold said...
Great job! I love the fabric colors.
5/22/08 4:32 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I LOVE the fabric and colors...great job coordinating them!
5/22/08 5:44 PM
born2bead said...
Thanks for the nice comments everyone. Yes, I think in a more drapey fabric could work with this style. Tango is a Pixie Bob (a supposed cross between a bob cat and a domestic cat) so he is spotted with a short tail. He has to be wherever I am so I guess he figured he'd be in the picture too! Interesting about the Hawaiian designer of the 70s :-) Peacock Chic - I'll be looking to see how yours turns out.
5/22/08 6:03 PM
Lori V said...
The dress looks fabulous on you, I really like the two prints. Greatjob.
5/22/08 6:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great combination of fabrics!! What a shame the pattern let you down. I hope you find a way to wear the dress anyway. The fabrics are too nice for it to sit in the wardrobe.
5/22/08 7:15 PM
indianajoni said...
Oh fun, I have a chunk of that same fabric in my stash! Haven't decided what to do yet but I love your dress. (I think it's Alexander Henry if anyone else is looking for the same print...)
5/22/08 8:01 PM
mochalover said...
Very cute dress and I love your fabric combination.
5/22/08 8:32 PM
solosmocker said...
Wonderful dress! Your fabric combo shows great style.
5/22/08 9:18 PM
Berniejh said...
It looks really good on you, stick a scooped neck singlet top underneath it & wear it! No it not too "puffy" for you.
5/22/08 9:53 PM
JMarie1962 said...
I really love your fabric choices; especially the large floral. I smiled too when I saw your cat... mine always shows up too when I'm trying to photograph these projects. Very cute dress, despite your challenges
5/22/08 10:37 PM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous dress! I love the fabric choices!
5/22/08 11:17 PM
cathy45 said...
Amazing dress! I was so surprised after seeing the dress that the pattern didn't work for you. Great save on your part.
5/23/08 7:45 AM
MissCelie said...
Still, very pretty!
6/10/08 10:44 AM
gorgonian said...
I hadn't looked the neckline myself, glad you mentioned it.
6/19/08 5:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

No Pattern Used story board
photo
Review by bananaoil on 3/19/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW 0001
photo
Review by Mosews2 on 6/7/13
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9780 Pattern
Burda 9780 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us