SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5181 (Misses Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1201 times 
Reviewed by:born2bead
photo

 
 
About born2beadstar
Member since: 8/1/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/22/08 10:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
I really like the combination of the two fabrics. It would never have occurred to me to match those two, but I really like them together.
5/22/08 10:49 AM
Elona said...
I think the dress looks cute on you, and would be great for a summer party. Such a nice color combo. Your cat looks pleased as punch to be out there with you.
5/22/08 10:55 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Oh my gosh, this fabric combination is to die for! I didn't know Joann's carried the Robert Kaufman fabrics, but I'll definitely have my eye out for them now. This is the perfect summer dress.
5/22/08 11:13 AM
maryfrana said...
This dress just knocks me out! The color combo, the style, it's just dynamite. I am always surprised at how low cut regular day dresses are. I'm always adjusting and/or wearing a cami. This is just a wonderful, wonderful dress.
5/22/08 11:24 AM
Peacock Chic said...
WOW that came out FABULOUS!!! I am making that dress right now!! I will never make it again because of all the problems I am having too but just want to get it finished. I agree with everything you said. such a bummer because it looked like a good pattern ;o/ But all your changes made it look great on you. Congrats
5/22/08 11:24 AM
mewiththree said...
How funny, apparently your cat thought the photo would be much improved with his presence! Typical kitty attitude. Your dress looks lovely. I wonder if the issue with the empire waist would be resolved if the fabric were more drapery. I love the look of empire, but I've always shied away, because on me it does look maternity-ish.
5/22/08 12:01 PM
CShelley said...
I think the dress looks awesome on you and I really love the fabrics you chose. Too bad you're not liking it because it really is striking. And what's up with Tango's tail? It looks chopped off...or did it get cropped off in the picture? He's very handsome by the way but I think he knows that.
5/22/08 12:13 PM
mimi g. said...
those two fabric are fabu! great job with the dress it looks so pretty on you.
5/22/08 12:21 PM
vespabelle said...
I think it looks fab! The patterns and colors are really great. One solution might be to add a "modesty panel"/cleavage cover out of the black fabric. That would make it look less like an afterthought!
5/22/08 12:37 PM
fabeins said...
That's really cute on you!
5/22/08 2:10 PM
LindsayT said...
I think this looks really fantastic on you. It is very similar to dresses by Hawaiian designer Malia, who was ultra-popular in California during the 70s. I'm loving this dress.
5/22/08 2:38 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I really love your dress and knock out fabric combo.Wear it with a cami to work and as is for a hot summer party dress !
5/22/08 2:52 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is a great basic. I really like the style and I'll think I'll pick it up this weekend. You look really stylish. That cat is AMAZING. He looks like a bobcat with those markings.
5/22/08 4:01 PM
Gold said...
Great job! I love the fabric colors.
5/22/08 4:32 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I LOVE the fabric and colors...great job coordinating them!
5/22/08 5:44 PM
born2bead said...
Thanks for the nice comments everyone. Yes, I think in a more drapey fabric could work with this style. Tango is a Pixie Bob (a supposed cross between a bob cat and a domestic cat) so he is spotted with a short tail. He has to be wherever I am so I guess he figured he'd be in the picture too! Interesting about the Hawaiian designer of the 70s :-) Peacock Chic - I'll be looking to see how yours turns out.
5/22/08 6:03 PM
Lori V said...
The dress looks fabulous on you, I really like the two prints. Greatjob.
5/22/08 6:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great combination of fabrics!! What a shame the pattern let you down. I hope you find a way to wear the dress anyway. The fabrics are too nice for it to sit in the wardrobe.
5/22/08 7:15 PM
indianajoni said...
Oh fun, I have a chunk of that same fabric in my stash! Haven't decided what to do yet but I love your dress. (I think it's Alexander Henry if anyone else is looking for the same print...)
5/22/08 8:01 PM
mochalover said...
Very cute dress and I love your fabric combination.
5/22/08 8:32 PM
solosmocker said...
Wonderful dress! Your fabric combo shows great style.
5/22/08 9:18 PM
Berniejh said...
It looks really good on you, stick a scooped neck singlet top underneath it & wear it! No it not too "puffy" for you.
5/22/08 9:53 PM
JMarie1962 said...
I really love your fabric choices; especially the large floral. I smiled too when I saw your cat... mine always shows up too when I'm trying to photograph these projects. Very cute dress, despite your challenges
5/22/08 10:37 PM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous dress! I love the fabric choices!
5/22/08 11:17 PM
cathy45 said...
Amazing dress! I was so surprised after seeing the dress that the pattern didn't work for you. Great save on your part.
5/23/08 7:45 AM
MissCelie said...
Still, very pretty!
6/10/08 10:44 AM
gorgonian said...
I hadn't looked the neckline myself, glad you mentioned it.
6/19/08 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Butterick 5474

photo
by: LizJaneB

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
New Look 6936

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review

Pattern