SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8333 (Claire Shaeffer Couture Jacket)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2795 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/08 7:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 66 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
62 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EmmieG said...
Lovely jacket. Thanks for the detailed review.
5/7/14 11:19 PM
ak21 said...
Wow, just gorgeous. you have inspired me to take this project on! I love your idea of colour contrast at the pockets - think ladies tux in black with black satin pocket detail..love, love, love. thanks for the inspiration.
1/2/12 10:10 AM
4u2cme said...
I also have this pattern in my stash. You did a great job on the jacket.
1/7/10 5:01 PM
fiddlinglizzie said...
Stunning! Thanks for the hints about fabric amounts. I've found whenever I am tailoring anything, or doing couture work, that purchasing an extra eighth or quarter yard is necessary. If I don't use the extra, I've got something to make a little cosmetic bag, or other accessory for myself or friends, which are useful last minute gifts too.
8/10/09 7:49 PM
JamieLiz said...
This is a really nice looking jacket, and a beautiful job on fit! Thanks for a great review -- very helpful.
12/27/08 9:19 PM
sewbarbie said...
WOW! This jacket is gorgeous! I love the fit and the pocket contrast, you must be very proud of this. I am just starting one and this has served as inspiration...thanks for the review.
11/24/08 2:46 AM
velvetandlace said...
Wow, that is incredible and very professional! What a lot of work! I have wanted to make this pattern for some time myself and would have made it for my own tailoring class if I hadn't been allergic to the wool they insisted we use. I still want to make it and this has inspired me even more! Congratulations on making this one!
8/26/08 9:30 AM
kellyt said...
Beautiful! You did a fabulous job!
7/11/08 1:56 PM
EveS said...
This is one of the patterns that really inspired me to get serious about sewing a couple of years ago. You have certainly done it justice...it's simply beautiful. And a very, very helpful review. Thank you for your attention to detail both in your sewing and your synopsis of the journey! Oh, and Ruthless? That may be the best dressform name I've heard yet (for a multitude of reasons). :)
6/28/08 0:40 AM
pinkli said...
This is one of the best pieces I have stumbled upon during my trawls through this site so far. Great attention to detail and craftmanship. It looks great on you, and I'm sure you'll wear the blazer for many years to come. Thanks for a great review and for inspiring me to take more effort. Couture techniques amaze and yet frighten me - but looking at the end result makes me think I should try it out. Thanks very much!
6/24/08 8:18 AM
Charlene McGill said...
AWESOME!!!!!
6/19/08 5:09 PM
Beve said...
What beautiful tailoring! This is a wonder...
6/18/08 7:44 PM
Fictionfan said...
You need to promote yourself to advanced now. That jacket is perfect! Minor details like what you chosse for the undercollar won't be noticed by anyone else, and the jacket fits you beautifully. Don't gain any weight! 8) Great job!
6/17/08 8:40 PM
Jane S said...
A spectacular jacket and such a helpfully detailed review. Thank you, I'm inspired!!
6/17/08 7:10 PM
jhansby said...
Gorgeous jacket! Well done!!
6/17/08 5:42 PM
quathy said...
Very nice! Thank you for the very detailed review :)
6/17/08 5:38 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Outstanding job--and I love the custom details.
6/17/08 4:58 PM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful jacket! I have this pattern also and plan to make this for the fall. Thanks for your review.
6/17/08 3:17 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful jacket and an excellent review. I love your Harris tweed. You will enjoy this one for a long time.
6/17/08 2:53 PM
frogs2 said...
Wow. Just wow.
6/17/08 1:23 PM
Annette1 said...
PERFECT in every way. Your workmanship is TOP NOTCH, and the jacket looks FABULOUS on you.
6/17/08 12:33 PM
moushka said...
You really aced this one! Fabulous jacket and terrific review. Glad you had such success with your fabric. I'm sure you'll wear the jacket with great pleasure for many years. Sue
6/17/08 10:55 AM
ITAdmin said...
Congratulations on finishing this great jacket. Everything looks perfect.
6/17/08 10:41 AM
Lisa Laree said...
That is a fabulous, classy jacket and you'll wear it for YEARS! Thanks for sharing it with us!
6/17/08 9:52 AM
jbrewer said...
This is spectacular! The jacket and the review are both very well done. (??Step 92??! Holy Cow!)
6/17/08 9:03 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully tailored with a superb fit. Congratulations on such a successful project. Your use of handsewing techniques is truly inspirational.
6/17/08 8:54 AM
Mahler said...
Superbe ! I have that pattern too. I admire your patience. I think there are 7 pages of instructions. Your version came out wonderfully. It seam freshly out of a tailor shop. The fit is perfect. Bravo !
6/17/08 8:18 AM
Dei said...
You outdid yourself. You've just given yourself a class in couture techniques and graduated with flying colors. The tweed is sharp, but the pink muslin isn't bad either. Well done.
6/17/08 8:03 AM
Beek said...
Great pattern and good job at it's execution. Timeless and gorgeous jacket.
6/17/08 7:46 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Stunning work. Thanks for a really helpful review. Enjoy wearing your wonderful jacket.
6/17/08 7:14 AM
halleyscomet said...
Wow....looks like it fits you perfectly! Great job!
6/17/08 7:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Excellent workmanship.
6/17/08 5:19 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful jacket, I do have a Claire Shaeffer couture pattern to try. Your review is very helpful.
6/17/08 4:25 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a beautifully made jacket.
6/17/08 3:25 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Thank you for sharing your jacket and review with us.
6/17/08 0:22 AM
dbsewer said...
You did an outstanding job on this jacket. Very classy.
6/16/08 11:31 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful, classic jacket, great workmanship. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it for many years.
6/16/08 11:28 PM
Puppy said...
Very impressive and handsome piece of clothing!
6/16/08 10:13 PM
Lori V said...
Stunning jacket.
6/16/08 10:11 PM
carolynw said...
I love your jacket - I always get "happy" when I see somthing made by a PR member that looks so professional - I know how much work goes into getting this result. Bravo!!
6/16/08 9:57 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ruth, this is certainly a beautiful and a timeless piece!
6/16/08 8:56 PM
MagpieJen said...
My word! Smashing! Good for you for using the tweed - it looks fantastic. This is just gorgeously made.
6/16/08 8:51 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Wow! That is one beautiful jacket. Anyone that can produce that kind of garment is Not an intermediate sewer. Time to grade yourself up!
6/16/08 8:43 PM
Karen8320 said...
Ruth, what a magnificent piece of work this is!!! I am so impressed. You really have done a fabulous job. The fit looks wonderful and this jacket is such a stylish and classic look that you will get heaps of wear from it. Your review is most definitely helpful and I have learned a lot from it. Thank you. Wear this with pride!
6/16/08 8:42 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fantastic tailoring work and a very informative review too.
6/16/08 8:29 PM
Athene said...
Wow, this jacket is really special. The fit is great and I love the look. Thank you for such a thorough review.
6/16/08 8:26 PM
Gelbean said...
This jacket looks like it was made for you. Oh wait, it was. :) Excellent job and very detailed and informative review.
6/16/08 8:03 PM
hongkongshopper said...
You have done a fabulous job. And the fabric and style are very classic. You will get many years out of this jacket. Great review too.
6/16/08 7:58 PM
frame said...
Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the very thorough review.
6/16/08 7:21 PM
Olivia Sews said...
It looks great!! Luv the tweed. It's a great time to get started on fall projects.
5/28/08 1:07 PM
Kay Y said...
It's looking good! The tweed seems to be taking a liking to this jacket pattern, which I have and hope to make someday.
5/28/08 1:03 PM
Second Avenue said...
Fabulous work, Ruth! I have been wanting to make this jacket every since I saw the pattern. The lines of the design are really flattering. Keep sewing! Second Avenue
5/28/08 1:02 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I love your fabric, it's gorgeous, this far it looks very good:-) I also got this pattern when it was issued but it's still waiting for the right moment. Go girl!!!
5/28/08 11:26 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. I guess I was completely wrong. It looks like the Harris tweed is an excellent choice for your jacket.
5/28/08 11:15 AM
MarilynB said...
Love the way your jacket looks. I have had this pattern in my stash since it first came out and have been wanting to make this for the longest time. I think the Harris Tweed may be too heavy for this jacket. Also, you would have to treat the herringbone tweed like a stripe and make sure everything lines up exactly. Maybe if it wasn't so fitted it would be a good choice. I look forward to seeing your final results.
5/19/08 4:47 PM
moushka said...
Stunning jacket! If your husband likes the colour on you, then I'd try to find some lightweight wool in colour close to it, and make it up. It would be beautiful. I think V8007 (also Claire Shaeffer's) would be more suitable for your Harris tweed, although I agree it's not as spectacular as this jacket. V8007 doesn't require the tight corners that this one does that I think would be difficult to execute cleanly in a tweed, but it still has very flattering lines. Good luck, whatever you decide. Sue
5/19/08 2:44 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for posting this. I have the pattern but have not made it. After seeing your muslin, I like the pattern even more! I love the lines, especially on the back. Very slimming - makes it look like you have a 24" waist! Personally, I'd be afraid to use the Harris Tweed on such a fitted jacket. I always equate Harris Tweed with classic style, comfortable, understated. I wonder if this jacket has too much pizazz? I'll be interested in your final garment!
5/19/08 9:05 AM
jent said...
I have this pattern sitting in my stash. It's such a beautiful jacket. I just haven't found the right fabric yet.
5/19/08 7:22 AM
CynthiaSue said...
I just made a very similar jacket in tailoring class. I did use wool crepe and was both thankful and not thankful. The crepe is better for very fitted jacket but the tweed would have been much more user friendly. Crepe shows everything and you have to be an expert at all your tailoring skills, notched collars, roll lines, pressing, darts etc because crepe hides NOTHING! Tweed hides much. I think the tweed would work as long as it is not coating weight. Your muslin certainly looks like you know what you are doing!
5/19/08 1:35 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, this is one great looking muslin! I may have to take the plunge and get this pattern. I am excited to read about your progress with the fitting and when you start with your beautiful fabric..
5/19/08 0:29 AM
Athene said...
Thanks for the review - I have the pattern so I will follow your WIP with great interest. So far the muslin looks very good. Also helpful knowing that you had to raise the armhole a bit and take a bit off the shoulder.
5/18/08 10:46 PM
goldenthreads said...
You're right. This pattern has very good "bones". I've looked at it a dozen times without really seeing it. You've inspired me to go and buy this one. Good luck proceeding on the real thing. This looks like a great start.
5/18/08 8:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 300445-1000

photo
by: cowgirlcre...

Review
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now