SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Material Things> 108 (Fearless Fitted Jacket & Vest)

3 more reviews
Viewed 624 times 
Reviewed by:TrixieD
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About TrixieDstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 9/22/06
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/08 12:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
So, so pretty. I just LOVE your jacket. Your workmanship is impeccable. I have this pattern too, and have always admired its lines. I like it made up even better!
5/21/08 2:55 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket. Two years ago when I was just starting to sew, I made a muslin using this pattern but never actually got around to sewing the real thing. Your review makes me think I should give this flattering pattern another try.
5/20/08 8:30 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Gorgeous red jacket - you are going to look and feel so nice this fall! You did a marvellous job on the construction.
5/20/08 10:38 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done
5/20/08 10:23 AM
ryansmumAria said...
testing out with the lining is a brilliant idea! will use that in the future. Thanks. JAcket is fabulouS
5/20/08 8:38 AM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful jacket - you will enjoy wearing this when summer comes to an end. Cecelia does give a lot of detailed instructions in her patterns
5/20/08 8:24 AM
Jane S said...
Your jacket is stunning, bravo. The boiled wool is beautiful and the lines of the jacket look so feminine and flattering. Cecelia Podolak was one of the first sewing instructors I heard at a sewing expo about 12 years ago and I was inspired by her encouraging manner and careful instructions.
5/20/08 8:22 AM
HeyJane said...
Trixie, thanks so much for your review. I have one in progress in light wool...didn't finish the sleeves yet, and I 'tested' with the lining, as you did. Yes, LOTS of cutting and pressing. It's going together faster than I expected, though. I hope mine turns out as well as yours, it's really beautiful. Cecelia gave me great advice via email when I ordered my supplies, and she mentioned that it was designed with leather in mind.
5/19/08 10:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket! You now have a jacket to wear (next) Easter. :)
5/19/08 7:56 PM
BeckyC said...
Thanks Trixie! I knew there was a reason I liked your jacket style so much, because I already have the pattern in my stash! As soon as you mentioned Cecelia Podolak I checked out my pattern laying next to my machine and sure enough it is the Fearless Jacket and Vest! I hope mine will turn out as nice as yours. Thanks again!
5/19/08 7:31 PM
blue mooney said...
nery, very nice! That is a very attractive pattern, You'll be so glad to have this ready to wear next fall!
5/19/08 5:18 PM
MarilynB said...
I love your jacket. This pattern is in my stash and I have been thinking about making it for quite a while. I have made other Material Things patterns before and have also been pleased with the results.
5/19/08 4:29 PM
crystalwoods said...
WHat a beautiful jacket! I love the lines and the colour. Thanks for the informative review.
5/19/08 4:23 PM
Athene said...
A beautiful jacket. It will be great for the Fall.
5/19/08 2:30 PM
Frozzy said...
Beautiful jacket - just think how nice it will be to pull this out of your closet to wear next fall!
5/19/08 1:58 PM
TrixieD said...
Thanks BeckyC. I purchased the pattern through Timmel Fabric. The designer is Cecelia Podolak and you can get more detail about her patterns and order right from her site at www.ceceliapodolak.com
5/19/08 1:41 PM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful in the boiled wool! Can your tell us more about pattern and where you purchased the pattern.? I love the style and would be interested in it.
5/19/08 1:28 PM
VtMartha said...
Very pretty jacket!
5/19/08 12:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

More Info