Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Material Things: 108 (Fearless Fitted Jacket & Vest) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 616 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:TrixieD
photo
Friend of PR
About TrixieDstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 9/22/06
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/08 12:11 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
Very pretty jacket!
5/19/08 12:22 PM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful in the boiled wool! Can your tell us more about pattern and where you purchased the pattern.? I love the style and would be interested in it.
5/19/08 1:28 PM
TrixieD said...
Thanks BeckyC. I purchased the pattern through Timmel Fabric. The designer is Cecelia Podolak and you can get more detail about her patterns and order right from her site at www.ceceliapodolak.com
5/19/08 1:41 PM
Frozzy said...
Beautiful jacket - just think how nice it will be to pull this out of your closet to wear next fall!
5/19/08 1:58 PM
Athene said...
A beautiful jacket. It will be great for the Fall.
5/19/08 2:30 PM
crystalwoods said...
WHat a beautiful jacket! I love the lines and the colour. Thanks for the informative review.
5/19/08 4:23 PM
MarilynB said...
I love your jacket. This pattern is in my stash and I have been thinking about making it for quite a while. I have made other Material Things patterns before and have also been pleased with the results.
5/19/08 4:29 PM
blue mooney said...
nery, very nice! That is a very attractive pattern, You'll be so glad to have this ready to wear next fall!
5/19/08 5:18 PM
BeckyC said...
Thanks Trixie! I knew there was a reason I liked your jacket style so much, because I already have the pattern in my stash! As soon as you mentioned Cecelia Podolak I checked out my pattern laying next to my machine and sure enough it is the Fearless Jacket and Vest! I hope mine will turn out as nice as yours. Thanks again!
5/19/08 7:31 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket! You now have a jacket to wear (next) Easter. :)
5/19/08 7:56 PM
HeyJane said...
Trixie, thanks so much for your review. I have one in progress in light wool...didn't finish the sleeves yet, and I 'tested' with the lining, as you did. Yes, LOTS of cutting and pressing. It's going together faster than I expected, though. I hope mine turns out as well as yours, it's really beautiful. Cecelia gave me great advice via email when I ordered my supplies, and she mentioned that it was designed with leather in mind.
5/19/08 10:44 PM
Jane S said...
Your jacket is stunning, bravo. The boiled wool is beautiful and the lines of the jacket look so feminine and flattering. Cecelia Podolak was one of the first sewing instructors I heard at a sewing expo about 12 years ago and I was inspired by her encouraging manner and careful instructions.
5/20/08 8:22 AM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful jacket - you will enjoy wearing this when summer comes to an end. Cecelia does give a lot of detailed instructions in her patterns
5/20/08 8:24 AM
ryansmumAria said...
testing out with the lining is a brilliant idea! will use that in the future. Thanks. JAcket is fabulouS
5/20/08 8:38 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done
5/20/08 10:23 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Gorgeous red jacket - you are going to look and feel so nice this fall! You did a marvellous job on the construction.
5/20/08 10:38 AM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket. Two years ago when I was just starting to sew, I made a muslin using this pattern but never actually got around to sewing the real thing. Your review makes me think I should give this flattering pattern another try.
5/20/08 8:30 PM
Annette1 said...
So, so pretty. I just LOVE your jacket. Your workmanship is impeccable. I have this pattern too, and have always admired its lines. I like it made up even better!
5/21/08 2:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by jrbarham on 3/16/12
Read Review

New Look 6613 Pattern
New Look 6613 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other LL007 Padfolio
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 2/17/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us