Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3787 (Summer hats) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1377 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/03 9:50 PM
Last Updated:6/26/03 9:52 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
This is so great! I love your hat. I keep looking at the different hat patterns and have bought a few thinking it would be so much fun to create a wardrobe of hats. Think of it, matching hats to all your outfits. But I haven't done it yet. Maybe next week....
6/26/03 10:08 PM
Pam Z said...
Very cute hat Nikki, thanks for the review.
6/26/03 10:40 PM
els said...
Nice summerhat,you suggested to be able to wash the hat because of damage by sweat and oil.Sweat will stain silk permanently so I would suggest to apply a cotton ribbon inside your hat to act as a sweatband.
6/26/03 10:53 PM
AnneM said...
What fun; another item to consider making!!!
6/26/03 11:53 PM
Susan Dryer said...
I have this pattern and have toyed with the notion of making it. I hadn't considered using such fine fabric: I love your choices. Els is right about the insertion of a hatband/sweatband. (Living in Tampa, aski me how I know she's right). Thanks for the great review.
6/27/03 10:15 AM
Ann C said...
A distinctive hat because of the fabric color. Thanks for the helpful review. I like hats too.
6/27/03 6:55 PM
monahan said...
Thanks for the tip about the extra center panel. Thought I was losing it for a minute...
9/16/03 12:53 PM
sewing up a storm said...
I just purchased this pattern last week and am also going to make view A. After reading your review I think I am going to go with a really stiff interfacing as I do not really want a droopy brim as I like the stiffer version better. Some droop will be ok I just do not want floppy. I also suspect that the heavier the fashion fabric the droopier the brim will be as the weight of the fabric will cause it to droop more. I love your hat..................what do you wear it with?
2/23/05 5:50 PM
littlebigteeth said...
Great review!! I saw this pattern last week, and now I think I will go buy it. Thanks for including the error and information about the brim.
7/14/07 11:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Hibiscus Shirt Hibiscus Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 6971 Pattern
Burda 6971 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Brussels Skirt
Brussels Skirt

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by norie crea... on 4/21/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us