Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5223 (Misses' Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1415 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/08 5:19 PM
Last Updated:8/15/08 8:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
I'm so glad you wrote a review for this!!! I love everything about this - the color, the fabric and pleated detailing. You did a great job; thanks for all of the photos and the great review! Enjoy wearing it - you look great!
5/19/08 5:27 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Very flattering!!
5/19/08 5:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Great jacket!! You like jackets lots, too, eh!! Do you USUALLY sew a size 10? (Should I stick to my "usual" size for this jacket?) You look fab in blue & black--that's why you have lots. Although the "fad" is HUGE buttons, I find we have our limits as Petites, eh!! Tell me, WHY did you trace your pattern? Do you usually? GREAT JOB!!
5/19/08 5:41 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for this review, I noticed this pattern yesterday when browsing on a pattern web site. I love it and after your review I am convinced I MUST have it too! Your jacket looks lovely.
5/19/08 5:48 PM
2BSewing said...
Kellie, Judy, & Sue...thank you for the wonderful complements. I get such a "sewing high" when a pattern and fabric produces a comfy & wearable garment. Rhonda...I've been sewing a size 10 in some garments that have quite a bit of ease. If the garment is fitted, I've have to go up to a size 12. That's my personal findings so far. I started tracing Kwik Sew patterns and now it has become a natural habit for me. Plus, I am not too fond of the Big 4 pattern tissue. Thanks again for the complements.
5/19/08 7:00 PM
merry-one said...
Looks great and very stylish.
5/19/08 7:13 PM
mochalover said...
Nice job. I picked this pattern up at the last sale you have inspired me to give it try.
5/19/08 7:28 PM
fabeins said...
I love that jacket! Nice job.
5/19/08 8:33 PM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket looks wonderful on you! Your fabric choice and color is perfect for the style. A wearable muslin -- lucky you! I'm glad that you were able to repair your buttonhole - no one (except your FoPR) will ever know. : )
5/19/08 9:50 PM
Aunt Gail said...
You just look TOO CUTE in this outfit! And how wonderful that other gals on here were able to help with a mini-disaster ( e.g. button holes=my worst fear)! With anything linen-nee ( made up word) I try to just do old fashioned stay stiching around every piece @ the beginning. A pro sewer told me so much "linen" now days has heavy duty amts of RAYON which is great to stretch out! great job. My jo-anns has buttericks on sale this week for a buck 99 - so this pattern just hit my list!
5/19/08 10:18 PM
Aunt Gail said...
You just look TOO CUTE in this outfit! And how wonderful that other gals on here were able to help with a mini-disaster ( e.g. button holes=my worst fear)! With anything linen-nee ( made up word) I try to just do old fashioned stay stiching around every piece @ the beginning. A pro sewer told me so much "linen" now days has heavy duty amts of RAYON which is great to stretch out! great job. My jo-anns has buttericks on sale this week for a buck 99 - so this pattern just hit my list!
5/19/08 10:25 PM
Athene said...
I love your jacket - you look great in it. Nice to know about the sizing running fairly large. I think I will have to add this one to my list at the next Butterick sale.
5/19/08 10:52 PM
BillieJean said...
I just love this!!!
5/20/08 6:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I keep eyeing this pattern as I like the way it looks on the envelope. Glad to read your review, looks good on you.
5/20/08 6:52 AM
ryan's mom said...
VERY cute! I love this!! Beautiful color, clean lines, and it looks great on you :) .
5/20/08 7:16 AM
carolynw said...
I love your jacket - as usual you look as cute as a button and the color is for you!! Am adding this pattern to must get list. Thanks for such a helpful review
5/20/08 8:15 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, your jacket looks wonderful, lovely color and very stylish silouette. Thanks for sewing and reviewing it so quickly; I just bought this one and was curious as to what people thought of those pleats. Great buttonhole save, also.
5/20/08 8:40 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I really like that jacket on you - it has a very contemporary look to it! It fits you well and the color is fabulous on you!
5/20/08 10:32 AM
JDpenelope said...
It is so you! It's good to know that an intermediate sew-ist can get such good results from a jacket pattern. With your excellent descriptions and cautions, I just might get up the nerve to try it.
5/21/08 8:35 AM
LorrieAnn said...
Both jackets(tops) look great - you did a very neat sewing and fitting job. Thanks for these reviews - am going to get the pattern.
5/26/08 9:53 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your versions are more enticing than what's picture don the envelope! You look marvelous!
5/26/08 10:07 PM
Annette1 said...
This little jacket is just as cute as it can be! I love the flowered print for summer. :o)
5/27/08 2:06 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your new floral version - just perfect for summer!
5/27/08 2:35 PM
Athene said...
Love your new version also. Very helpful review - I could not resist - I bought the pattern today.
6/4/08 8:12 PM
Dee2 said...
Another beautiful top! Now I really have to have this pattern. Thanks for all the details on the changes you made.
6/4/08 10:31 PM
JDpenelope said...
OK. Now I simply must get this pattern, whether it is on sale or not. Talk about turning lemons into lemonade: Your faux buttons demonstrate your genius for overcoming obstacles. I really like this pattern.
6/4/08 11:41 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
What a great jacket! You did a wonderful job and it's so lovely.
6/5/08 0:01 AM
Nancywin said...
so so cute! This is just the ticket when you just need a little something to cover up - or for a shirt. Very nice.
6/5/08 0:50 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking jackets and great review!
6/5/08 10:37 AM
ryan's mom said...
All your versions of this are absolutely perfect!!! They look stylish, comfortable, and very RTW!
6/5/08 1:44 PM
Annette1 said...
This is MY favorite, too! That fabric suits this pattern and your sunny personality perfectly. :o)
6/5/08 2:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
All 3 versions are really wonderful. I just bought this pattern so I'm catching up on the reviews for it. I love that last print ... very cute on you.
6/30/08 11:46 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
Super cute! I love you jacket and by all the comments here, so does everyone else. I gotta get this pattern. Thanks for the review.
8/15/08 10:02 PM
KG2 said...
You did a great job! AGAIN! I too, love this jacket. I have not done buttonholes yet.... I keep thinking I will go back on do button holes on mine though....Thanks for the review!
8/16/08 0:33 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
This jacket design is a wonderful style on you! All your jackets/tops from this pattern are beautiful and you did a fantastic job with your fabric choices. Based on your earlier reviews, I purchased this pattern, now just gotta get to it...
8/16/08 6:29 AM
Winifred said...
They are all - GORGEOUS !!!
8/18/08 6:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5510 pjs for girls
photo
Review by chunter on 7/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Kitchen curtains
photo
Review by sewsunny37 on 9/20/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us