SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3926 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1374 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/03 1:52 AM
Last Updated:6/27/03 9:39 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda Noah said...
Wonderful review! It's very helpful. The dress looks really nice and from the photo it certainly looks wearable.
6/27/03 5:59 AM
els said...
What a great review,this is certainly a big help for others who want to make the same dress.The dress looks nice. About the facing you can help them stay inside by sewing them at your shoulderseams.It is a good idea to staystitch the wide neckline.The shoulderback seam is always nearly 1 /2 inch longer than the front shoulderseam when you draft patterns ,because of the better fit.So that is not old fashioned.Your "problem "with finnishing the tie pieces , you can solve the next time by using fussible transfer web ( the kind you can fuse hems ),with a pair of tweezers grap the fabric and tuck it inside the tie ,put a small piece of web tuck it in and press.It is a pitty that your links HERE and BETTER does not works.
6/27/03 8:33 AM
Pam Z said...
Thanks for the thorough review Margaret. Lots of helpful information. Your dress is pretty.
6/27/03 11:32 AM
cindyann said...
What an excellent review. The dress is very nice. Really pretty.
6/27/03 12:16 PM
Ann C said...
Congratulations on another well-written review, very informative and you certainly forewarned us about the kinks in this nevertheless interesting pattern. For all the headaches, enjoy your dress!
6/27/03 7:02 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks for all the compliments! Sorry about the links; I fixed them this morning but didn't have time to say anything about that. About the facing, it comes out in back even though it has been sewn at the shoulder seams, because the neckline is so wide... so something else does need to be done to prevent that on this pattern. Thanks for the fusible web tip. I think part of the problem with the ties was that I was trying to use Fasturn and they were not the right size for any of the tubes. Cutting them on the bias or in a different width would have helped too, with the Fasturn, but the fusible web idea would help anyone whether they had this tool or not. :)
6/27/03 11:00 PM
Margaret said...
Hm... it looks like the links fix this morning maybe wouldn't have worked from every computer... there was something funny about resolving the hostname, so I just changed it again. Hopefully it works now.
6/27/03 11:06 PM
JenniferBee said...
Thank you for an excellent review Margaret. I've had this pattern in the stash for a couple of years and found it this morning along with the fabric I had purchased. I will now give it ago as I can follow your review and hopefully fix the problems with it. Jennifer PS Love your fabric
9/24/05 4:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Burda 7866

photo
by: biink

Review
Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: SamF

Review
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now