SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 8288 (Misses Evening Dress)

Viewed 1107 times 
Reviewed by:Kat Holliday
photo

 
 
About Kat Holliday
OK USA
Member since: 1/24/05
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/08 11:47 AM
Last Updated:5/31/08 4:26 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
Very nice - you've been busy! The stripes are very pretty! Great job!
5/20/08 12:55 PM
Twinset said...
Love, love the striped fabric you chose for this beautiful dress! It looks very clean. Would love to see a picture of the front too!
5/20/08 1:00 PM
bunz said...
Great idea to use striped cotton for this fancy dress -- it's a wow!
5/20/08 4:09 PM
SewingSusan said...
This is so lovely. I would love to see a picture of you wearing it! Great job and choice of fabrics.
5/20/08 7:12 PM
Kat Holliday said...
Thank you all so much!
5/20/08 10:13 PM
trinicity said...
very very nice, love the chervon effect
5/21/08 5:52 AM
Johanna Lu said...
The stripes and the bow on this dress really adds a great flair to the dress. This is the kind of evening dress I would love to wear. Your fabric choice for this dress is just perfect.
5/22/08 9:50 AM
Patti B said...
You have captured the vintage flair of the original -- love the stripes. Where will you wear it?
5/22/08 11:38 AM
Em's Summer said...
I love this! Looks tres chic!
5/22/08 12:03 PM
MagpieJen said...
Sweet dress! The bustle is adorable too. I love the stripes, and very nice chevrons. Your pattern link isn't working anymore I don't think (though the photobucket is now) - I'd love to see the original pattern you used.
5/29/08 8:15 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!!
5/31/08 7:50 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great work with stripes. Luv the chervon work.
6/3/08 1:39 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh no, Kat, your stripey bow bustle just took my breath away! I really did not expect that! And the elegant simplicity of the front neckline is like a flourescent arrow pointing to the 'pop' of the spectacular back. Your choice of stripes to showcase this balanced and beautiful design was positively inspired. Lovely, lovely, lovely, Lily
6/5/08 6:03 PM
jlucie said...
What a lovely interpretation! Unusual & creative fabric choice - I love it!!
6/7/08 8:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 5782

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5135

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review