SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3239 (Misses Swimsuits)

5 more reviews
Viewed 731 times 
Reviewed by:Teeavilnor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Teeavilnorstar
CT USA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/08 11:12 AM
Last Updated:5/21/08 11:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cactus jack said...
Could anyone tell me whether to follow the pattern instructions with respect to making the elastic in bands them sewing them to the fabric, or sewing one long strip of elastic around the openings, then attaching the ends together. Which method would eliminate any puckering.
7/26/08 6:12 PM
cactus jack said...
I would agree with this review, as I made view B top, and View D bottom for my wife, and found it fairly easy, since it was the first time I have tried making a bathing suit. I even altered the boyshorts to make them fit a little lower on the legs. Turned out OK. She is very pleased with the fit and the sewing.
7/26/08 6:05 PM
MargotG said...
Extremely impressive. I need to overcome my fear of spandex!!!!
5/28/08 8:38 PM
Patti B said...
Making a swimsuit does sound intimidating but they are so much fun! Yours turned out very nicely.
5/22/08 11:41 AM
mewiththree said...
Well that sounds easy enough! Okay, I think I might have to try a swimsuit! Thanks for the review!
5/21/08 4:52 PM
squilts said...
Your suits turned out great. I know once I figured out how easy it was to make them fit well, I haven't bought any RTW ones. I'm sure you will enjoy your new suit.
5/21/08 3:57 PM
Teeavilnor said...
Reply to mewiththree: No I only have a regular sewing machine(Janome Sew Precise) I stretched it out overlaped the ends sewed them together then sewed it right on the fabric. Then folded the elastic over and used an elastic stitch as topstitching, but sewed from the inside.
5/21/08 3:16 PM
mewiththree said...
I've been fearful of tackling a swimsuit due to the elastic too. Can you tell us how you handled it? Did you make a casing or did you sew the elastic right to the suit with a serger or coverstitch machine. Thanks!
5/21/08 3:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
This turned out great! I've thought about making a swimsuit before, but admittedly have been intimidated. Your beautiful results make me want to try. Great job!
5/21/08 11:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-105

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Stretch & Sew 1276

photo
by: dakotasews

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

More Info
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

More Info