Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3239 (Misses Swimsuits) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 722 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Teeavilnor
photo
Friend of PR
About Teeavilnorstar
CT USA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/08 11:12 AM
Last Updated:5/21/08 11:57 AM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
This turned out great! I've thought about making a swimsuit before, but admittedly have been intimidated. Your beautiful results make me want to try. Great job!
5/21/08 11:16 AM
mewiththree said...
I've been fearful of tackling a swimsuit due to the elastic too. Can you tell us how you handled it? Did you make a casing or did you sew the elastic right to the suit with a serger or coverstitch machine. Thanks!
5/21/08 3:05 PM
Teeavilnor said...
Reply to mewiththree: No I only have a regular sewing machine(Janome Sew Precise) I stretched it out overlaped the ends sewed them together then sewed it right on the fabric. Then folded the elastic over and used an elastic stitch as topstitching, but sewed from the inside.
5/21/08 3:16 PM
squilts said...
Your suits turned out great. I know once I figured out how easy it was to make them fit well, I haven't bought any RTW ones. I'm sure you will enjoy your new suit.
5/21/08 3:57 PM
mewiththree said...
Well that sounds easy enough! Okay, I think I might have to try a swimsuit! Thanks for the review!
5/21/08 4:52 PM
Patti B said...
Making a swimsuit does sound intimidating but they are so much fun! Yours turned out very nicely.
5/22/08 11:41 AM
MargotG said...
Extremely impressive. I need to overcome my fear of spandex!!!!
5/28/08 8:38 PM
cactus jack said...
I would agree with this review, as I made view B top, and View D bottom for my wife, and found it fairly easy, since it was the first time I have tried making a bathing suit. I even altered the boyshorts to make them fit a little lower on the legs. Turned out OK. She is very pleased with the fit and the sewing.
7/26/08 6:05 PM
cactus jack said...
Could anyone tell me whether to follow the pattern instructions with respect to making the elastic in bands them sewing them to the fabric, or sewing one long strip of elastic around the openings, then attaching the ends together. Which method would eliminate any puckering.
7/26/08 6:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-112B Trousers
photo
Review by Squeezylem... on 8/31/08
Read Review

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Blossom Digital Pattern
In-House Blossom Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3535
photo
Review by born2bead on 4/2/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2153 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2153 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3879 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3879 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us