SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Studio Kat Designs> 01300 (The Odyssey)

2 more reviews
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:quathy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About quathystar
CA USA
Member since: 6/3/06
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/08 3:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kellymailinglist said...
I'm a backpack purse fan, too, but since I'm a vegetarian, I prefer not to have leather, and as you point out, that's what almost all backpack purses are made from! That's why I'm particularly interested in this pattern. I'm glad you got results you're happy with, even if it was a trial, and I doubt your difficulty with the instructions was due to any inadequacy on your part. Clear, simple instructions are obviously few and far between, if you are to go by the huge number of comments we folks on PR have on them! I'd love to see a pic when you get a chance. Thanks for reviewing this!
7/6/08 8:14 AM
maryfrana said...
This is just outstanding. Thank you for powering through it and reviewing it. I would be giddy too if I had made it. Kudos.
7/7/08 3:05 PM
SewLil said...
What a great bag!
7/7/08 4:37 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Love the bag. Well done on the quilting. I am in the middle of making my first handbag and I can see that there will be more in the future. Thanks for the review.
7/7/08 5:56 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Such beautiful quilting on the purse and it's a great style and size.
7/7/08 6:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very cute and nifty!
7/7/08 8:26 PM
Clareew said...
Brilliant. I have the pattern for the Gadabout bag but have been put off making it because to the copious instructions. Maybe if I try I will get a bag half as good as yours.
7/8/08 2:51 AM
marthamyers said...
Another great pattern from Studio Kat! Thanks for the review. Your result is lovely. I hope you'll email it to the folks at Studio Kat so they can post it on their site. The quilting is wonderful. Did you do that with a long-arm or with an ordinary sewing machine? BTW, I've made several Studio Kat designs and find them all to be a bit confusing, mostly because the designs are so great and different. My approach is always to just do what she says and it generally works great. I also have had to apply binding by hand with her patterns due to the thick layers. Nice work!
7/8/08 9:46 AM
Patti B said...
What a gorgeous backpack bag! It was worth the puzzling and reworking. Your choice of fabrics and the quilting makes this quite spectacular in a chic way. Congrats on a job very well done!
7/8/08 11:00 AM
quathy said...
thanks kellymailinglist for reminding me to post the photos... i'd forgotten about this work in progress - i guess i'm just too distractable! marthamyers - i did the quilting using my Bernina 630 BSR, a free-motion quilting foot that regulates the stitching. i didn't use batting, just stabilized with interfacing and away i went. it was FUN... and yes i did find the instructions a little overwhelming, but mostly that is because my brain just doesn't think in '3D' so i have a hard time understanding pattern instructions in general ;) thanks everyone for your kind words - i'm sure if you try this pattern you will be just as pleasantly surprised as me. i can't wait to make another!!
7/8/08 11:39 AM
kineret said...
I'm struggling with the GadAbout pattern right now and find this review spot on, almost identical with my experience, excluding mistakes - which I have not yet made (but am in imminent danger of making any moment..) Thank you for an accurate and honest review.
10/7/08 2:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2004-147

photo
by: chebre

Review
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now