Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Studio Kat Designs: 01300 (The Odyssey) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 454 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:quathy
photo
Friend of PR
About quathystar
CA USA
Member since: 6/3/06
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/08 3:01 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kellymailinglist said...
I'm a backpack purse fan, too, but since I'm a vegetarian, I prefer not to have leather, and as you point out, that's what almost all backpack purses are made from! That's why I'm particularly interested in this pattern. I'm glad you got results you're happy with, even if it was a trial, and I doubt your difficulty with the instructions was due to any inadequacy on your part. Clear, simple instructions are obviously few and far between, if you are to go by the huge number of comments we folks on PR have on them! I'd love to see a pic when you get a chance. Thanks for reviewing this!
7/6/08 8:14 AM
maryfrana said...
This is just outstanding. Thank you for powering through it and reviewing it. I would be giddy too if I had made it. Kudos.
7/7/08 3:05 PM
SewLil said...
What a great bag!
7/7/08 4:37 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Love the bag. Well done on the quilting. I am in the middle of making my first handbag and I can see that there will be more in the future. Thanks for the review.
7/7/08 5:56 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Such beautiful quilting on the purse and it's a great style and size.
7/7/08 6:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very cute and nifty!
7/7/08 8:26 PM
Clareew said...
Brilliant. I have the pattern for the Gadabout bag but have been put off making it because to the copious instructions. Maybe if I try I will get a bag half as good as yours.
7/8/08 2:51 AM
marthamyers said...
Another great pattern from Studio Kat! Thanks for the review. Your result is lovely. I hope you'll email it to the folks at Studio Kat so they can post it on their site. The quilting is wonderful. Did you do that with a long-arm or with an ordinary sewing machine? BTW, I've made several Studio Kat designs and find them all to be a bit confusing, mostly because the designs are so great and different. My approach is always to just do what she says and it generally works great. I also have had to apply binding by hand with her patterns due to the thick layers. Nice work!
7/8/08 9:46 AM
Patti B said...
What a gorgeous backpack bag! It was worth the puzzling and reworking. Your choice of fabrics and the quilting makes this quite spectacular in a chic way. Congrats on a job very well done!
7/8/08 11:00 AM
quathy said...
thanks kellymailinglist for reminding me to post the photos... i'd forgotten about this work in progress - i guess i'm just too distractable! marthamyers - i did the quilting using my Bernina 630 BSR, a free-motion quilting foot that regulates the stitching. i didn't use batting, just stabilized with interfacing and away i went. it was FUN... and yes i did find the instructions a little overwhelming, but mostly that is because my brain just doesn't think in '3D' so i have a hard time understanding pattern instructions in general ;) thanks everyone for your kind words - i'm sure if you try this pattern you will be just as pleasantly surprised as me. i can't wait to make another!!
7/8/08 11:39 AM
kineret said...
I'm struggling with the GadAbout pattern right now and find this review spot on, almost identical with my experience, excluding mistakes - which I have not yet made (but am in imminent danger of making any moment..) Thank you for an accurate and honest review.
10/7/08 2:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by mochimo on 3/17/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6085 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Sew it sea... on 5/3/04
Read Review

McCalls 6849 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6849 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )
Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us