SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6203 (Misses Evening Tops, Tunics, S)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1137 times 
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/08 0:24 AM
Last Updated:5/25/08 10:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Muria said...
Thanks for the tip on the facings/neckline. I made a mock up using some corduroy, and had the same problem with the facings, but then, it was a muslin, so I didn't bother to fix it. I'll be more careful with the actual fabric. I'm kind of surprised that you had to lower the darts, as they were too low for both me and my daughter. Since it's for my daughter and she's small in the chest, I'm intending on just removing them. Maybe they're lower in the larger sizes?
10/30/09 12:02 PM
Christas said...
Wow! This top is FABULOUS!
12/3/08 1:31 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Congrats on being the featured member of the day today - I'm glad to have found you!
7/13/08 1:33 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL!
6/4/08 12:48 PM
crazygrad said...
tres jolie et bon travail! Cette tissue est formidable! Et pardonnez mon francais- je ne parliais pas francais au 10 ans!
5/26/08 6:21 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Absolutely gorgeous. The picture of you in this top looks like it belongs in a magazine. Great job.
5/26/08 3:32 PM
Kay Y said...
Magnifique Mahler! (Comme d'habitude...)
5/26/08 2:03 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful! I've made the pants from this pattern but never the top...I see I need to pull it out! Thanks for the tip on fitting the neck; collars tend to be tight on me so I'll definitley size up there!
5/26/08 10:10 AM
SusiM said...
Thank you for the most wonderful review and all the links! You have created a beautiful garment.
5/26/08 3:14 AM
Dmd4106 said...
What a beautiful tunic! Love the colors and the styling details.
5/25/08 10:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Tres jolie, Mahler! Beautifully crafted top! You and the top should definitely grace the cover of my current issue of Bazaar!
5/25/08 1:46 PM
Mahler said...
Merci pour vos commentaires tellement encourageants en fran´┐Żais and thank you all for your comments that are so encouraging. This site is at the same time a great source of inspiration and motivation in sewing more and more.
5/25/08 12:53 PM
lcavagnolo said...
C'est magnifique! J'adore les couleurs du tissu, and comment vous avez la combine avec ceux-ci pantalons blancs. Parfaite! (J'espere que ma traduction ici est comprehensible...)
5/25/08 12:20 PM
Second Avenue said...
Bonjour Mahler, C'est une plaisir de lire votre critique de ce patron. Vous etes tres belle dans cette robe. Bon travail! J'ai visite chez Madelaine a Montreal. C'est le meilleur magasin de tissus que j'ai trouve. Carole etait fantastique. Merci de m'aider de trouver cette endroit. S'il vous plait excuser mon francais. A Bientot, Gaylene
5/25/08 12:02 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I too like to make the Chinese dress, yours came out beautiful, love the contrast of color here, I may consider to get this pattern when I finally start to sew, thanks for the review!
5/25/08 11:23 AM
Dei said...
I love your fashion sense. It makes the rest of us look so pedestrian. What an exquisite top and your style and confidence shine with it.
5/25/08 11:17 AM
MissCelie said...
OMG. This is stunning. Stunning!
5/25/08 10:36 AM
Kellie R. said...
Just superb - what a great piece. I love how it looks with nice dress pants. It's very classy and you did a great job. Love it!
5/25/08 10:21 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very well-written review!! Gorgeous!! And the tunic is very pretty, too!!
5/25/08 9:01 AM
carolynw said...
The usual Mahler haute couture - absolutely lovely - not sure how I missed this pattern as I too like Asian inspired clothes and often use 100% cotton from a quilting store that carries a ton of designs. Thanks for such a helpful review - will definitely check the neck measurement
5/25/08 8:56 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this is beautiful and classy. Amazing job
5/25/08 1:42 AM
Mahler said...
Annette, believe me that hair cut did not look good to start with. I cried for days before my hair grew back and I found one way to style it. If you want my tip, write me a message and I will give you my secret. ;-)
5/25/08 0:43 AM
Twinset said...
Bonjour Mahler! (It happens I just ran across your review while having a break from sewing:)) You are so beautiful and elegant in this wonderful Asian tunic and these colors were made for you! As usual, outstanding work and beautiful finish; I'm very interested in seeing your sewing tip if you ever take pictures of it! I'm a fan of asian looks too!
5/25/08 0:35 AM
Annette1 said...
I can't think of ANY way this could be made any better! It's absolutely PERFECT, and you're just BEAUTIFUL in it. Not only that, when I opened your first picture, you gave me the idea to link the project photo to the "large" size picture on Flickr instead of the smaller size. When I want to see the project photo, I really want to SEE it. :o) I don't know why I never thought of this before. (On another note, I may take your photo to my hair stylist and ask her if my hair would behave as well as yours if I copied your style. I suspect the answer will be, "ON WHAT PLANET?") Great review!
5/25/08 0:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
McCall's 6793

photo
by: ChicagoCal...

Review