Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6203 (Misses Evening Tops, Tunics, S) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1080 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/08 0:24 AM
Last Updated:5/25/08 10:26 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
I can't think of ANY way this could be made any better! It's absolutely PERFECT, and you're just BEAUTIFUL in it. Not only that, when I opened your first picture, you gave me the idea to link the project photo to the "large" size picture on Flickr instead of the smaller size. When I want to see the project photo, I really want to SEE it. :o) I don't know why I never thought of this before. (On another note, I may take your photo to my hair stylist and ask her if my hair would behave as well as yours if I copied your style. I suspect the answer will be, "ON WHAT PLANET?") Great review!
5/25/08 0:35 AM
Twinset said...
Bonjour Mahler! (It happens I just ran across your review while having a break from sewing:)) You are so beautiful and elegant in this wonderful Asian tunic and these colors were made for you! As usual, outstanding work and beautiful finish; I'm very interested in seeing your sewing tip if you ever take pictures of it! I'm a fan of asian looks too!
5/25/08 0:35 AM
Mahler said...
Annette, believe me that hair cut did not look good to start with. I cried for days before my hair grew back and I found one way to style it. If you want my tip, write me a message and I will give you my secret. ;-)
5/25/08 0:43 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this is beautiful and classy. Amazing job
5/25/08 1:42 AM
carolynw said...
The usual Mahler haute couture - absolutely lovely - not sure how I missed this pattern as I too like Asian inspired clothes and often use 100% cotton from a quilting store that carries a ton of designs. Thanks for such a helpful review - will definitely check the neck measurement
5/25/08 8:56 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very well-written review!! Gorgeous!! And the tunic is very pretty, too!!
5/25/08 9:01 AM
Kellie R. said...
Just superb - what a great piece. I love how it looks with nice dress pants. It's very classy and you did a great job. Love it!
5/25/08 10:21 AM
MissCelie said...
OMG. This is stunning. Stunning!
5/25/08 10:36 AM
Dei said...
I love your fashion sense. It makes the rest of us look so pedestrian. What an exquisite top and your style and confidence shine with it.
5/25/08 11:17 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I too like to make the Chinese dress, yours came out beautiful, love the contrast of color here, I may consider to get this pattern when I finally start to sew, thanks for the review!
5/25/08 11:23 AM
Second Avenue said...
Bonjour Mahler, C'est une plaisir de lire votre critique de ce patron. Vous etes tres belle dans cette robe. Bon travail! J'ai visite chez Madelaine a Montreal. C'est le meilleur magasin de tissus que j'ai trouve. Carole etait fantastique. Merci de m'aider de trouver cette endroit. S'il vous plait excuser mon francais. A Bientot, Gaylene
5/25/08 12:02 PM
lcavagnolo said...
C'est magnifique! J'adore les couleurs du tissu, and comment vous avez la combine avec ceux-ci pantalons blancs. Parfaite! (J'espere que ma traduction ici est comprehensible...)
5/25/08 12:20 PM
Mahler said...
Merci pour vos commentaires tellement encourageants en fran´┐Żais and thank you all for your comments that are so encouraging. This site is at the same time a great source of inspiration and motivation in sewing more and more.
5/25/08 12:53 PM
Heatherrique said...
Tres jolie, Mahler! Beautifully crafted top! You and the top should definitely grace the cover of my current issue of Bazaar!
5/25/08 1:46 PM
Dmd4106 said...
What a beautiful tunic! Love the colors and the styling details.
5/25/08 10:40 PM
SusiM said...
Thank you for the most wonderful review and all the links! You have created a beautiful garment.
5/26/08 3:14 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful! I've made the pants from this pattern but never the top...I see I need to pull it out! Thanks for the tip on fitting the neck; collars tend to be tight on me so I'll definitley size up there!
5/26/08 10:10 AM
Kay Y said...
Magnifique Mahler! (Comme d'habitude...)
5/26/08 2:03 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Absolutely gorgeous. The picture of you in this top looks like it belongs in a magazine. Great job.
5/26/08 3:32 PM
crazygrad said...
tres jolie et bon travail! Cette tissue est formidable! Et pardonnez mon francais- je ne parliais pas francais au 10 ans!
5/26/08 6:21 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL!
6/4/08 12:48 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Congrats on being the featured member of the day today - I'm glad to have found you!
7/13/08 1:33 PM
Christas said...
Wow! This top is FABULOUS!
12/3/08 1:31 PM
Muria said...
Thanks for the tip on the facings/neckline. I made a mock up using some corduroy, and had the same problem with the facings, but then, it was a muslin, so I didn't bother to fix it. I'll be more careful with the actual fabric. I'm kind of surprised that you had to lower the darts, as they were too low for both me and my daughter. Since it's for my daughter and she's small in the chest, I'm intending on just removing them. Maybe they're lower in the larger sizes?
10/30/09 12:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 4123 Neck Pillow
photo
Review by Rikki23 on 3/16/11
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used OCO001
photo
Review by Caitycat on 11/4/08
Read Review

McCalls 5824 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5824 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6762 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6762 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us