SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4987 (Fashion Express 2 hr top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 929 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 418 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/08 8:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ocotillo said...
Beautiful top--very elegant! I never would have looked twice at the pattern if not for your review. And paired with the Vogue skirt (in your blog photo), it looks wonderful and very close to the original inspiration dress.
5/31/08 1:25 PM
Charlene McGill said...
OWESOME WORKMANSHIP AS USUAL!
5/27/08 10:18 PM
cathy45 said...
What a cute and versatile pattern--lovely top! I had overlooked this--thanks for the review.
5/27/08 9:02 AM
Mahler said...
That color is a hit on you... oh well what color or clothes you sew is not a hit on you. This is so feminine !
5/26/08 9:15 PM
loohoo44 said...
I agree Erica, you win the prize for finding the pattern 'diamonds in the rough'. Looks amazing!
5/26/08 5:46 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Lovely, How did you finish the edges of the ruffle? Narrow hem? Oh, and where did you find the fabric. And did you cut thru two layers (the fashion and "muslin" fabric) at the same time?
5/26/08 12:08 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks Lauri Jean, no it doesn't have a zipper. It's a pullover camisole.
5/26/08 11:02 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Does this have a zipper? You look fabulous!
5/26/08 10:32 AM
Darla in PA said...
Very cute top!
5/26/08 7:33 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I see you've managed to whip up (albeit in a little more than two hours :o) another fabulous top. They should use your picture for the pattern, takes it to a whole new level. Such a dreamy fabric, too.
5/26/08 0:55 AM
CynthiaSue said...
looking GOOD! love the drape.
5/26/08 0:53 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Miss Erica, I swear, every time you make something new I have to give that pattern another look. :) This is no exception!
5/26/08 0:37 AM
Maychi said...
Beautiful!
5/26/08 0:34 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful top.
5/26/08 0:22 AM
Gold said...
Very cute top!!
5/26/08 0:03 AM
Erica B. said...
@ Lucinda, I didn't shorten it, I just didn't bother lengthening it since it is going to be tucked in.
5/25/08 11:00 PM
Erica B. said...
@ Lucinda, I didn't shorten it, I just didn't bother lengthening it since it is going to be tucked in.
5/25/08 10:56 PM
Lucinda said...
Wonderful top, now I want to make one! Did you end up shortening the ruffle? It looks longer on the envelope design.
5/25/08 10:53 PM
Peacock Chic said...
Very nice!! I am glad I am not the only one that takes longer than the super speedy pattern description.
5/25/08 10:35 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Great choice on the top and fabric Georgeous. Good Luck to you.
5/25/08 10:30 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Very fashiony! Way to go for seeing the potential in this pattern.
5/25/08 10:18 PM
KrystalL said...
What a pretty top!
5/25/08 9:25 PM
Leora said...
Thank you for the idea to use old fabric as a stabilizer for cutting. Beautiful outfit!
5/25/08 9:05 PM
VtMartha said...
Wow! That is gorgeous, Erica.
5/25/08 8:56 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is just beautiful Erica. Simple and elegant, the silk is perfect for the design.
5/25/08 8:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

More Info