SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8499 (Marcy Tilton pants)

32 more reviews
Viewed 1413 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 272
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 228
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/08 10:57 AM
Last Updated:5/27/08 10:03 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
Cute pants Nancy. I agree that the topstitching gives the pants a nice touch of style. They look like great summer pants. Thanks for the review.
5/26/08 11:09 AM
2BSewing said...
Your pants turned out great. They look really comfy. Thanks for the warning about the loose fit and for suggesting to go by the waist size. Thanks for the review.
5/26/08 11:23 AM
Michelle L said...
Great tip about the edge stitching foot. I inherited a machine from my grandmother and am still learning what all the feet in the case are for....now I know at least one more!
5/26/08 11:42 AM
Peggy L said...
I'm glad you reviewed this because this pattern is in my stash. I like them for cool summer pants. Nice job and review.
5/26/08 11:48 AM
Beek said...
I agree with you. Your a slim woman and these pants certainly don't do you justice. I like full pants, but this pattern I've had questions about. Your review certainly answered my questions. Thanks!
5/26/08 11:54 AM
Dynamo said...
Thanks for mentioning the edge sitch foot. For all I know one came with my machine and now I can't wait to go home and check! Your pants do look like they would be perfect for going to the beach in ... maybe with a nautical type swimsuit!
5/26/08 12:19 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Cute pants , they look cool and comfy. I really must get an edge foot too.
5/26/08 12:23 PM
Kay Y said...
I like these too! Very comfy looking, but in a stylish sort of way, not sloppy.
5/26/08 1:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your pants lookso much nicer than Vogey's!
5/26/08 3:54 PM
Annette1 said...
I really like these, and I think they look just the way they're supposed to look. :o) I'm getting the pattern.
5/26/08 5:13 PM
Second Avenue said...
I really like this pattern and you look great in the pants. Perfect top-stitching!
5/26/08 8:06 PM
linda 75142 said...
I just bought this pattern. This review is so timely for me! I think you look great in them.
5/27/08 8:55 AM
bananaoil said...
I'll be trying these, thanks for the review.
5/27/08 11:48 AM
Izzie said...
Those pants are so fun! Thanks for the review.
5/27/08 9:53 PM
moushka said...
Nobody said the obvious: they do NOT make you look fat! They are very cute and you did a beautiful job. Enjoy wearing them this summer. They look very comfy and cool. Thanks for all the great tips. Sue
5/28/08 5:28 PM
Noile said...
These pants look great on you! The topstitching is much less hassle if you don't do the contrast color; in my case, I set my needle so that it entered at the farthest point from the seam edge, and simply ran my zigzag foot along the seam. Perfect topstitching without a special foot . . .
5/30/08 4:55 PM
SewTwin said...
I agree with DH..But, then everyone should have "Chinese Farmer Pants!"Style & Practicality..I also have this pattern, and am grateful for all the reviews before I sew them..Maybe she is using the High Fashion Designers trick of making sizes big for a smaller size?..
6/4/08 2:43 PM
ryansmumAria said...
They are great looking pants but the backside adds alot of weight on every picture I have seen of them. I was so excited to make them but now am not so sure. My behind is big enough and I don't need help making it bigger. You are much slimmer than the pants make you look. Thanks so much for the great review
7/8/08 9:22 PM
Beech FiveEight said...
Nancy, Your review really helped me out. thanks for all of your comments on sizing, and stitching. I put tabs on for fun, too. Looks good. And NO they don't make you look fat! mwz.
8/8/08 0:34 AM
mmemagpie said...
Thank you for the hint on pressing before sewing--brilliant! The pattern companies aren't the only ones who haven't heard of this :) Also, the Steam-a-Seam hint is helpful.
12/16/08 4:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now