SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4440 (Fitted Bodice A-line Dresses)

15 more reviews
Viewed 763 times 
Reviewed by:JennyAnne
photo

 
 
About JennyAnnestar
FL USA
Member since: 1/5/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/08 2:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
born2bead said...
Very cute summer dress and I love the Amy Butler print you picked out for it!
5/28/08 5:12 PM
JennyAnne said...
Thanks so much to everyone for your nice comments! I really did just use one yard of fabric. It's a point of pride to fit as many pieces in as short yardage as possible! Really, though, I omitted the self-lining of the bodice by fully lining the dress with other material, so it already would require less fabric than the envelope calls for. I have a bit of fabric left over... I bet you could cut up to a size 14 with one yard.
5/27/08 2:39 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute summer dress. Luv the fabric.
5/26/08 10:15 PM
Mahler said...
What a lovely dress you made. Your choice of fabric is excellent and so is the color of the lining. In my opinion, your dress looks better the retail wear. Bravo !
5/26/08 8:35 PM
Tiner W said...
I love your dress! Did you really use only 1 yard of fabric?
5/26/08 6:40 PM
Kellie R. said...
I love summer dresses and this is so pretty on you! Thanks for the info on the sizing. Great job.
5/26/08 6:39 PM
Bonnie O said...
What a nice summer dress! Good save on the sizing!
5/26/08 6:25 PM
emo said...
This looks great! I made this last year, and I am with you on the sizing. It's ridiculous.
5/26/08 4:10 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute dress. Your fabric choice was perfect!
5/26/08 3:20 PM
Beek said...
Lovely dress. I agree, the pattern sizing is never consistent with any of the Pattern Companies. But you did a marvelous job!
5/26/08 2:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty summer dress!
5/26/08 2:35 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Your dress looks great! Perfect use of the Amy Butler fabric. I feel your pain on the pattern sizing - they certainly do go nuts with the ease! Why, oh why??
5/26/08 2:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2611

photo
by: Erinaceous

Review
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

More Info