SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-104 (dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 985 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 160 people
patterns reviewed: 184
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/08 6:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, great review and I have the same problem with buckles at Joann's
6/1/08 9:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Dress is so flattering on you.
5/31/08 8:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Of course a tab is fine - that's what they do for the top! I like yours contrasting, and I don't think you should worry about the busyness of the fabric, because it still looks totally fabulous :-). But sure, make it again, this one looks like a real winner.
5/30/08 1:46 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful review - second the energizer bunny vote- and yes, you probably do need to do a swayback adjustment, which is really a misnomer in your case. It's not really swayback, but 'fuller' or curvier tush - have to do this for DD all the time. In her case, due to over-developed muscles from skating and gymnastics.
5/30/08 12:42 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is a great looking dress on you!
5/30/08 11:35 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wow, this style is wonderful on you! Love that fabric too (I have some in my stash, LOL). Also like the tab detail versus buckle. Thanks for the facing tip as I had decided to use binding. Good review!
5/30/08 10:24 AM
EveS said...
That is a seriously flattering dress on you! Dontcha just love it? Thanks for the great review! :)
5/30/08 10:06 AM
Elke said...
This is gorgeous...it looks great on you!
5/30/08 8:19 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love this! Thanks for such a great review and the tip to keep the facings!
5/30/08 6:41 AM
MagpieJen said...
I love the fabric!! I see what you mean about how sweet the belt draping is and how it's a bit lost in the print. But the print is just so fantastic, so I guess this just means you'll have to make another with the dark contrast band :-)
5/30/08 1:24 AM
Karen6790 said...
Melissa's right - you are the energizer bunny with a serger. And I'm glad you are, because you get to so many of these patterns ahead of me and do half the work. Once again, thanks - love the dress, great review.
5/29/08 9:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love the dress! Do you have a battery pack or something??? You get more sewing done than anyone I know, I swear you must never sleep! And you even have a job away from home, you go girl! :-)
5/29/08 7:50 PM
michellep74 said...
Another great version of this dress! Congrats--it looks great on you!
5/29/08 6:46 PM
Ladyslipper said...
Very pretty dress. I like your solution to the buckle. I have this dress on my to do list but couldn't find a nice buckle at JoAnn's or Hancock Fabrics.
5/29/08 6:40 PM
Twinset said...
Congrats for this cute dress! Thanks for the very informative review (with pictures, etc)!
5/29/08 6:39 PM
Gold said...
Love that dress!!JIt looks great on you.
5/29/08 6:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-21

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

More Info
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: Graca

Review