SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-104 (dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 985 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 158 people
patterns reviewed: 181
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/08 6:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gold said...
Love that dress!!JIt looks great on you.
5/29/08 6:37 PM
Twinset said...
Congrats for this cute dress! Thanks for the very informative review (with pictures, etc)!
5/29/08 6:39 PM
Ladyslipper said...
Very pretty dress. I like your solution to the buckle. I have this dress on my to do list but couldn't find a nice buckle at JoAnn's or Hancock Fabrics.
5/29/08 6:40 PM
michellep74 said...
Another great version of this dress! Congrats--it looks great on you!
5/29/08 6:46 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love the dress! Do you have a battery pack or something??? You get more sewing done than anyone I know, I swear you must never sleep! And you even have a job away from home, you go girl! :-)
5/29/08 7:50 PM
Karen6790 said...
Melissa's right - you are the energizer bunny with a serger. And I'm glad you are, because you get to so many of these patterns ahead of me and do half the work. Once again, thanks - love the dress, great review.
5/29/08 9:56 PM
MagpieJen said...
I love the fabric!! I see what you mean about how sweet the belt draping is and how it's a bit lost in the print. But the print is just so fantastic, so I guess this just means you'll have to make another with the dark contrast band :-)
5/30/08 1:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love this! Thanks for such a great review and the tip to keep the facings!
5/30/08 6:41 AM
Elke said...
This is gorgeous...it looks great on you!
5/30/08 8:19 AM
EveS said...
That is a seriously flattering dress on you! Dontcha just love it? Thanks for the great review! :)
5/30/08 10:06 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wow, this style is wonderful on you! Love that fabric too (I have some in my stash, LOL). Also like the tab detail versus buckle. Thanks for the facing tip as I had decided to use binding. Good review!
5/30/08 10:24 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is a great looking dress on you!
5/30/08 11:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful review - second the energizer bunny vote- and yes, you probably do need to do a swayback adjustment, which is really a misnomer in your case. It's not really swayback, but 'fuller' or curvier tush - have to do this for DD all the time. In her case, due to over-developed muscles from skating and gymnastics.
5/30/08 12:42 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Of course a tab is fine - that's what they do for the top! I like yours contrasting, and I don't think you should worry about the busyness of the fabric, because it still looks totally fabulous :-). But sure, make it again, this one looks like a real winner.
5/30/08 1:46 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Dress is so flattering on you.
5/31/08 8:25 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, great review and I have the same problem with buckles at Joann's
6/1/08 9:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1189

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2002-130

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now