SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3059 (polo shirts)

16 more reviews
Viewed 2254 times 
Reviewed by:Carol Wisman
photo

 
 
About Carol Wismanstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/9/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/03 8:25 PM
Last Updated:4/19/06 4:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Both the shirts look great! Hmm I dont remember the binding being short, but I do know that there was something wrong in that area. Can't remember what exactly. Love this pattern!
7/2/03 11:37 PM
cindyann said...
That's a great looking top. Nice job.
7/3/03 11:11 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your shirts look great! I've been admiring these in the stores---time to make one instead. I love Kwik Sew, and I'll be getting this pattern!
7/3/03 11:18 AM
CarrieA said...
Carol, well done! I have tried this pattern in the cap sleeve version and agree that it is a surprisingly easy pattern. I also had a too-short neck binding. I thought that I hadn't cut it on the cross grain or something. Also, I haven't put buttons/buttonholes in mine and the facings are a problem as they don't lay flat. I think I"ll stitch them down like you did. Thanks for the review!
7/3/03 1:39 PM
KarenP said...
I love your shirts! This pattern is going on my wish list!
7/3/03 5:56 PM
Irene said...
Nice shirts! It's helpful to see them in different knits, as I prepare to sew this pattern up. I'm wondering if the smallish binding is supposed to cure the tendency to gaposis by pulling the armhole in.
7/4/03 0:45 AM
jnamcd said...
These look great too--just like your t-shirts!
4/19/06 4:50 PM
Hilary said...
Great looking shirts- I love the rtw details you added! Thanks for the review!
4/19/06 6:03 PM
Lori V said...
Great job, looks better than the Tommy.
4/19/06 6:25 PM
Em's Summer said...
You picked great colors! That is a very pretty top!
4/19/06 6:48 PM
wvsher said...
Great polo; thanks for the review! I just got an older Kwik Sew men's polo shirt pattern and hope to make one for dh in the near future.
4/19/06 9:42 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I have an older KS polo with raglan sleeves that does not have the binding at the neckline ... I may have to get this one to see how it is done and then add the detail to the older pattern. Have you entered this in the RTW knock off contest? You should ...
4/20/06 12:39 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Thanks for you knid comments...LCN, this pattern does not give directions for binding, just covering. I just fiddled w/it until ifigured it out. I'm sure there is an easier way to learn...perhaps in/on the boards?
4/20/06 1:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 5613

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now