SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3059 (polo shirts)

16 more reviews
Viewed 2254 times 
Reviewed by:Carol Wisman
photo

 
 
About Carol Wismanstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/9/02
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/03 8:25 PM
Last Updated:4/19/06 4:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carol Wisman said...
Thanks for you knid comments...LCN, this pattern does not give directions for binding, just covering. I just fiddled w/it until ifigured it out. I'm sure there is an easier way to learn...perhaps in/on the boards?
4/20/06 1:06 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I have an older KS polo with raglan sleeves that does not have the binding at the neckline ... I may have to get this one to see how it is done and then add the detail to the older pattern. Have you entered this in the RTW knock off contest? You should ...
4/20/06 12:39 PM
wvsher said...
Great polo; thanks for the review! I just got an older Kwik Sew men's polo shirt pattern and hope to make one for dh in the near future.
4/19/06 9:42 PM
Em's Summer said...
You picked great colors! That is a very pretty top!
4/19/06 6:48 PM
Lori V said...
Great job, looks better than the Tommy.
4/19/06 6:25 PM
Hilary said...
Great looking shirts- I love the rtw details you added! Thanks for the review!
4/19/06 6:03 PM
jnamcd said...
These look great too--just like your t-shirts!
4/19/06 4:50 PM
Irene said...
Nice shirts! It's helpful to see them in different knits, as I prepare to sew this pattern up. I'm wondering if the smallish binding is supposed to cure the tendency to gaposis by pulling the armhole in.
7/4/03 0:45 AM
KarenP said...
I love your shirts! This pattern is going on my wish list!
7/3/03 5:56 PM
CarrieA said...
Carol, well done! I have tried this pattern in the cap sleeve version and agree that it is a surprisingly easy pattern. I also had a too-short neck binding. I thought that I hadn't cut it on the cross grain or something. Also, I haven't put buttons/buttonholes in mine and the facings are a problem as they don't lay flat. I think I"ll stitch them down like you did. Thanks for the review!
7/3/03 1:39 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your shirts look great! I've been admiring these in the stores---time to make one instead. I love Kwik Sew, and I'll be getting this pattern!
7/3/03 11:18 AM
cindyann said...
That's a great looking top. Nice job.
7/3/03 11:11 AM
Deepika said...
Both the shirts look great! Hmm I dont remember the binding being short, but I do know that there was something wrong in that area. Can't remember what exactly. Love this pattern!
7/2/03 11:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2006-104

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now