Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2008-105 (Blouse/jacket) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1005 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 11:20 AM
Last Updated:6/3/08 1:36 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewFar said...
This top looks great on you, cabinbaby! We seem to have very similar tastes in BWOF -- I have this cut out, waiting to be sewn! Thanks for the helpful review.
5/31/08 11:25 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This is so perfect on you! What a great blouse.
5/31/08 11:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really cute blouse. It will be wonderful in the wool too I think.
5/31/08 11:37 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
This is a great top. I can see how, in a different fabric, it would make a great jacket, too.
5/31/08 12:00 PM
SewFar said...
Edited to remove moot point. :)
5/31/08 12:03 PM
emo said...
This looks so great! I see you finally got the May issue... :) I had overlooked this, but now it's on the to sew list.
5/31/08 12:10 PM
Elke said...
Very cute and stylish!
5/31/08 12:54 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I didn't really like the leastic on their pink, but I really like your version! And you're right it'd be a perfect summer jacket, and I'd love some Japanese seersucker.. mm. Thanks for the inspiration :-).
5/31/08 1:20 PM
michellep74 said...
Great looking top. I liked this in the magazine, but I like your version even better.
5/31/08 4:44 PM
morzel said...
Very cute!
5/31/08 4:55 PM
Ronda Rae said...
That shirt is definitely on my sew list. I'm glad you reviewed it. I cut my first muslin out last weekend of that shirt and forgot to add seam allowances!!! It would have been my first BWOF so tomorrow I'm going to try again with tracing it and cutting out the pieces WITH seam allowances. The fit of yours is perfect!
5/31/08 5:09 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow...I think your top is beautiful. The fabric is perfect. I adore tops with pleats.
6/1/08 4:36 PM
cathy45 said...
This is so on my to do list--I never thought of it as a jacket---hmmm.
6/1/08 6:36 PM
EveS said...
I couldn't decide if I liked this blouse or not in the magazine, but I really, REALLY like your version! I may need to reconsider it.
6/2/08 0:57 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Like Eve, I thought this blouse was not shown to its best effect in the magazine, but your interpretation brings new life to the design. I love the plaid on you, too; you have the perfect body type for this glen plaid. So flattering. Will you ever wear it with the skirt you made from the same plaid? Lovely, Lily
6/2/08 11:22 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice! I love what you've done with the stripes in your tweed fabric. :o)
6/3/08 2:12 AM
Lori V said...
Great looking jacket, I want to make this one, so thanks for the informative review.
6/3/08 7:06 AM
MissCelie said...
I like it! This is one of the patterns from that month that really stood out to me!
6/3/08 7:35 AM
Ronda Rae said...
This one is great, too. Mine is almost finished and I really like it! Plus- for my first BWOF, it actually fits well! I won't be able to finish it for a another week - vacation starts today. I wanted to finish it last night but had to stay late at work to finish *it*. (I'd use the appropriate smiley if I could) Good to know it can be made almost exclusively on the serger, too. I thought it could.
6/3/08 7:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very flattering style, both the top and the jacket.
6/3/08 8:41 AM
Elke said...
This jacket is so versatile depending on fabric choice...love what you did with it!
6/3/08 9:42 AM
Winifred said...
So So lovely. Must make it now - have been dithering!
6/3/08 5:15 PM
EveS said...
Dang your speedy! Another great version. I, too, LOVE covered buttons! And I used the exact same cheater-snap closure last time I used them, too. Lovely! :)
6/3/08 9:03 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! I love your latest version in the wool tweed. I like your idea of using snaps and then using the covered buttons. Great job!
6/3/08 9:08 PM
Karen6790 said...
Said it on your blog and I'll say it again, I didn't give this a second glance in the magazine but now I have to have one. Isn't it funny there are certain BWOF patterns we all fix on and others that only the most observant notice and pass on to us. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention.
6/3/08 10:52 PM
Athene said...
Both your versions look so nice. This was one of my favorite pieces in that issue of BWOF so its nice to see it made up as a jacket. You sure are speedy - I wish I could be as fast. Always enjoy your reviews.
6/4/08 12:55 PM
sb1280 said...
Love this! When I saw it in BWOF, I liked the technical drawing but the picture was not inspiring - this is! And I had the same thought when I saw your picture - it looks like the jacket from the Sew Stylish article! I like this one better though - and I have it! Good work with the plaid as well, it looks terrific!
6/7/08 10:37 AM
Dilly Deli said...
Looks good, can't wait to try it!
7/3/08 4:46 PM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the great review. I chose this pattern to make a top with some cotton I received from Gorgeous Fabrics, and your review was most helpful. Can't wait to cut it out. Off to trace now. Hope your wedding turned out great. I'm sure you were the best dressed there!
7/4/08 12:14 PM
Athene said...
Such a great top - got to make this one for myself and my daughter.
7/10/08 4:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2812
photo
Review by Melanne on 6/12/12
Read Review

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8017
photo
Review by Zaneta on 3/16/07
Read Review

Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5766 Pattern ( Size One Size )
Butterick 5766 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us