SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5500 (Knight and prince costumes)

5 more reviews
Viewed 241 times 
Reviewed by:salruss
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About salrussstar
LA USA
Member since: 6/16/07
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 6:13 PM
Last Updated:5/31/08 6:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kbenco said...
Your project was obviously a success, as that is a look of great satisfaction on the knight in the photograph! I am sorry the construction was such a horrible experience for you, thanks for your review pointing out the difficulties.
5/31/08 7:06 PM
sew42mom said...
Great picture! Did you make this costume just for fun?
5/31/08 10:34 PM
salruss said...
It was actually a birthday present for a dear little friend. I made it to go along with a book called "I'd Be Your Hero."
6/1/08 8:19 AM
wvsher said...
That is so inspiring, the costume/book gift combination. The costume is simply adorable, and he looks so cute and happy in it. Thanks for the review and warning about the instructions.
6/1/08 10:20 PM
SuperJessie said...
I wish I had read this before I bought the pattern. I had such a difficult time turning the tunic after stitching the lining to the garment. I ended up doing something that made no sense at all - and it worked. My applique is now peeling off. More work to be done.
10/21/08 11:56 PM
shar5868 said...
i am so glad i read this review. i am making this pattern and for days i have frustrated over not being able to turn it right side out. i am now going to rip the bottom out and tun and hand stitch. i called mc calls...they neer called back. i emailed them too, still have not heard from them.
10/31/08 5:14 PM
ashlynsbowtique said...
Your costume is soo cute! I'm on here today looking at review for this pattern because I'm literally in the middle of making it for my son and just CAN'T figure out how to turn the thing!! I'm thinking I may serge the ends and hem under as well. Beats struggling with it and having to rip it out again....the instructions are horrible. I hope it's not as bad once I get to the armour. I'm nervous! lol
10/24/11 1:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Grey Lady Dress

photo
by: julliams

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now